We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel with a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #283 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were able to stay at the Albergo a few years ago and it was a wonderful hotel with a fabulous location. We loved getting up early and hanging out in the Pantheon before all the tourists arrived. The Piazza Nuevo and many other attractions are within walking distance. Not to mention many great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Likes2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    222
    62
    30
    29
See reviews for
177
300
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for six nights in February and had a really good experience. It is a 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum in one direction and the Vatican the other. Everything is very close by, it is located at Campo Di Fiori square which is great for food and a market. In terms of the hotel itself the rooms are big, comfortable and the staff are lovely. Only problem I had was on our first night it was very cold due to the snow and poor European weather but extra blankets were given and from that point on the heating wasn't turned off in the hotel. Great price too but be warned, Rome has a €2 per person/per night City Tax that nobody told me about so be prepared to pay that when you're checking out. I would highly recommend this hotel though.

Room Tip: It is under renovation at the moment (Feb 2012) and the first floor doesnt have ensuite toilets yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was able to make a last minute reservation at Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon via Expedia,,, at a great price.... January is off season in Rome, a bit chilly but none of the usual crowds.
Hotel is located in one of the great locations in Rome,, i.e steps from the Pantheon and within walking distance of all the main attractions.... Staff was helpful,,, an excellent breakfast ( included) each morning and a full , in room Jacuzzi bath with multiple shower heads was just what the doctor ordered to sooth tired feet after long days of walking around Rome.
There was an internet connection in room,, "free until Jan 31st" , operating through the Flat Screen TV,,, however this service did not work... Wireless was available in the Lobby for 5.00 E per hour... Not sure why hotels cannot provide wireless service, at least in the lobby for free.... it is a given in most hotels these days...
The hotel is advertised as " the first and oldest hotel in Rome"... Some of the decor including tiles in the Breakfast room are said to be original from early times. Wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: There are rooms that actually over look the Pantheon but think that these are premium priced AND mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strato57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Thanks to a TA user's tip, we booked this hotel for our 'Roman Holiday' ! And what a gem it is !!

Location, location, location !! Centrally located - on the Pantheon square !!

Great staff - friendly check-in lady, bellhop, concierge, breakfast-room staff........

The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and had quite a variety of breads, fruits, juices, etc.

Both check-in and check-out was handled pretty professionally and post check-out our ample luggage was stored securely (we had a late night flight)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wont2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We booked a junior suite for 3 people and pulling in the taxi the location certainly has the "Wow"" factor being based right in Pantheon Square - there is probably no better location in Rome.

The public areas of the hotel have been renovated to a high standard, in keeping with its statement as being the oldest hotel in Rome, however I am not able to comment on the rooms as, on arrival, we were re-located to one of several apartments the hotel owns a few minutes away just off the piazza.

The apartment we stayed in was located on the 5th floor and actually getting into it was our first challenge as the keys to the entrance grille and main door seemed happy to spin around for 5 minutes without opening the door; whilst at the same time the lights kept going off leaving us waving franticly to switch them back on.

The apartment itself was large by city standards. The living room, with sofa bed, acted as the second bedroom for our son during our stay. Off this was a dressing/closet area which led to the main bedroom and en-suite bathroom (which are the only facilities in the room and can only be accessed by walking through the bedroom).

The apartment was very dark and very dated - in terms of facilities offered there were two flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room, a coffee machine, room safe (with the same challenging key arrangements as the main doors) and a radio. There was no wi-fi (which is becoming increasingly expected) and whilst there was a tired jacuzzi bath the only shower arrangements were via a hand held attachment to the taps.

We did have problems during our stay with the bathroom - no hot water one evening (but which was remedied straight away when we pointed it out) but there was an unpleasent smell for the duration of our stay and we needed to keep the window open and door closed.

We found our bed to be very comfortable, mattress a little hard but we prefer it that way.

Based on other places we have stayed the apartment cannot be rated any higher than a 2* and was a real disappointment.

The one plus point, and for us it is a big one, is the view. Off the living room accessed through another grille and window/door is a very small balcony (three people standing front to back) however if faces straight out over the Piazza della Rotonda and the Pantheon itself. We were able to spend evenings people watching as the square is filled with activity and entertainment - just need to move the ariel mast as it prevents that perfect picture!

Breakfast is taken in the main hotel and consists of a cold buffett of meats, cheeses, breads/pastries and fruit juice/coffee. Whilst not extensive it is just right and sets you up for the day.

The hotel itself has no restaurant facilties however you are never short of places to eat in Rome though you certainly have to pay a premium if you choose to eat in one of the main Piazzas.

Service from the staff was excellent at all times.

In summary, as the review title suggests, a 5* location but only 2* accommodation. We would stay here again but only if travelling as a couple and able to stay in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HollinBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#54 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#145 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo Santa Chiara
Albergo Santa Chiara
#129 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Property: Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna , Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#153 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#172 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,445 - ₹ 26,677
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing