We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A perfect stay in eternal city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #30 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in eternal city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We came here for a long week-end in mid-April to celebrate friend's birthday and got a Deluxe Room with Winter Garden which was a real treat and grand saver for a rainy weather we've encounted.
It's one of the best hotels I've stayed at : great location, excellent service, perfect roof-top view over the eternal city. The Imago restaurant is very popular but this time the latest chef's menu was a bit peculiar to our taste, should have taken "a la carte" and selected more carefully :).

Room Tip: we loved our room with winter garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIPEPINEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    138
    52
    26
    26
See reviews for
202
482
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

If one can stomach the mind-boggling amount of hollering, i-phone-wielding, tracksuit-wearing tourists thronging the Spanish Steps the moment one exits the front door, then this hotel is an OK choice in the thick of things. Vastly overpriced and slightly tatty around the edges, the Hassler shuffles on as one of the world´s great Grand Hotels gone not exactly to seed but rather suffering from a lack of care towards its guests (possibly this has been going on for decades so why fix it now?). If the glass of 14 Euro fresh squeezed orange juice (we ordered it every morning from room service just to be sure) were indeed fresh, one would be willing to pay the exorbitant price, this, after all, is the Hassler, but rest assured, it is certainly not fresh but the cheapest kind of juice made from powder. And all the other food (including breakfast buffet & dining or lunching in the lobby restaurant) is quite the same; indifferent at best, digusting at worst. Penne alla Carbonara (28 Euros) ordered at lunch downstairs was just a mush of reheated noodles smothered in undefinable greasy sauce with fatty bits of gristle scattered throughout. Tuna Carpaccio (around 40 Euros) was absurd half frozen clumps of tuna bunched up together in an unpleasant mound, rather oversalted and just as vile as everything else we ordered.

Having harangued the truly inedible food, one must say in defence of the Hassler that the staff were quite friendly, helpful and truly charming, though we suspect this was because we stayed for 3 nights with our daughter and Romans do love children and make them feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hutuandtutsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for your review.
I was extremely sorry to learn that your experience at the Hassler was not what you were expecting and the cuisine not to your taste.
It was also disappointing to read that one of your issues were the tourists around the Spanish Steps, which is usually an attraction that makes our guest want to return time and time again.

On a closing note, I hope you will decide to reconsider your judgment to date and give us a future opportunity to demonstrate what the Hassler is famous for.

Sincerely,
Roberto E. Wirth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff at the Hassler will bend over backwards to help you. I'm so grateful to them! I didn't have a reservation for the Galleria Borghese and they were booked for the next few weeks. The concierge got me in the next day!
We never took the metro or bus because we didn't need to, we just walked everywhere. We took a couple of cabs and it was never more than 8 euros because we were so centrally located.
Our room looked out onto the Spanish Steps, so cool. Noise was never an issue. The room was on the smaller side but for Rome is was spacious, and everything was perfectly laid out and beautifully designed.
I turned 30 here, and they sent me a decadent chocolate cake on my birthday! I'm so happy we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constanthoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is a fabulous hotel right above the Spanish Steps there in Rome. A great place just to stop in for dinner or drinks, as well (if staying elsewhere)... then stroll down the Steps and see al the gorgeous men and women in their fabulous Italian attire. The young lovers are so sweet to see! I plan to stay here again for a few nights this summer while in Rome. Have to!!! I have such fond memories of this hotel. The staff is just superb! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selectivediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at the Hassler the last two nights we were in Rome. Excellent service - set us up with a fantastic guide for the Vatican, welcomed us like family in the lounge, made excellent recommendations for dinners and just generally ensured we were having a perfect time. The location was perfect. We won't stay anywhere else next time we are in Rome. The spa was good but not great. Everything else was absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_lank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your beautiful comments of praise.

It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to make their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible, so you can imagine how glad I am each time a client takes a moment to let me know how much they enjoyed their stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Sincerely,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#59 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#55 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Property: Hotel Hassler
Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#117 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,592 - ₹ 50,525
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing