We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed
Ranked #87 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and love the location of this elegant old hotel. Service is professional and the rooms are very well maintained. Definitely make use of the bar while here and enjoy a drink from the roof while looking out over Rome. Try to get a room on a high floor for some of those views.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

We love the fact that you Love this Hotel.

We could not agree with you more than enjoying a drink at our Terrace bar where our Bar staff can really take care of you and make you feel literally on top of the world.

We thank you for your positive and kind words regarding the Hotel Eden.

Grazie

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    223
    57
    30
    24
See reviews for
203
479
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is well positioned at the top of the famous Spanish steps in Via Ludvisi. The tastefully decorated room was on the small side but had walk in cupboard and small balcony with view.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the concierge booked and recommended great Italian restaurant.
The prices for items in the bar fridge were ridiculously high as were the drinks we had in the rooftop bar. This hotel is a great base from which to explore Rome as it is easy to walk to many landmarks and attractions and of course the stores. The underground( Metro) is a short walk and is very user friendly and easy to use but otherwise plenty of taxis available.
Would definately stay at the Eden again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank for the "Bellissimo" Heading to your review.

The hotel is situated in great location, Spanish Steps and the Trevy fountain that is considered the heart of Rome.

It is a great starting point for all that wish to visit the eternal City. Our sixth floor Restaurant and bar offer the best view of the city and is one of the best Hotel Restaurant in the world by comparison, and for this reason our prices are in accordance with all major luxury properties.

Our breakfast menu is truly fantastic and guest can enjoy the buffet every morning overlooking the great view of Rome. Guests are free to take the advice and recommendations of our Concierge team for where to have lunch, dinner, and drinks in the area, or what to see and do.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Eden.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our stay at the Eden Hotel was very pleasant. The room was small, but super luxurious. Loved the air conditioning, very comfortable bed and the fabulous marble bathroom with unbelievable water pressure! Staff were very professional. The prices for additional items such as the mini-bar or drinks on the terrace were outrageous. Also the location was not as central as we would have liked, but definitely beautiful views of Rome and a pleasant area of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoUrbanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay at the Hotel Eden. So glad to hear that it was enjoyable and that you found our staff and facilities to your satisfaction

We try to maintain our prices in accordance with other five star luxury properties and also make sure that this is displayed clearly.

Grazie and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I were very impressed by the elegant aesthetic of the traditional marble lobby and European styling of this hotel. Our deluxe suite was truly lovely, and it had a large bathroom and room with a small balcony overlooking all of the rooftops of Rome. The neighborhood and location were nice, though I must admit that everything required a walk. Via veneto was a short walk, the Spanish steps were at least 10 min, and nightlife of Trastevere and campo di Fiore were an expensive cab ride away. We stayed out quite late each night, and took lots of cab rides for 15-20 Euros which added up so the location wasn't ideal. The rooftop restaurant was amazing, and the breakfast included buffet was great. They also catered to celiacs with gluten free bread and pasta and other options.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room on a high floor with a balcony overlooking is ludovico... 5th floor is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are situated in the heart of Rome, close to the Spanish steps and the Trevy Fountain, it is true that to get to the other side of the river Trastevere you need to take a taxi, this is unfortunately the Eternal City that has wonderful locations spread out and not all concentrated in one area.

The Hotel Eden is close to the Metro Station Barberini and this can be a less expensive alternative to taxies.

What is important though is that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you soon at the Hotel Eden

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is in a splendid location about a five minute walk to the Spanish Steps and the roof top terrace has an beautiful view of the City. We booked with AMEX PLAT and one of the two rooms we booked was upgraded. As a previous review mentioned, twice staff entered into our room without knocking, the AC was inadequate, and the door staff was inconsistent. The front desk were not very friendly, although the Concierge desk was helpful and attentive. I did leave a pair of nice footwear behind and was not notified by the hotel. Upon my opening of my suitcase in my next destination i called the EDEN and was told that they had the footwear. I told them i was in Rome for an additional 3 hours in that morning and if someone would have contacted me by email or mobile i would have retrieved them. I asked them to send them to another location in Italy, but they seemed hesitant. They also said they tried to contact me at my next resort, although i received no message or email to the effect. This is not a true 5 star hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DEGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay on Tripadvisor and have acknowledged your concerns regarding your left behind shoes.

We do unfortunately have a great deal of left behind/lost property and make sure to register everything in our lost and found reference book, which at times when the Hotel at a high occupancy is very difficult to compile at the time the guest has left the room.

However we do make sure that all lost and found is returned to the rightful owner, once the guest has contacted the hotel.

We do thank you for having chosen the Hotel Eden for your stay and welcome you back.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#30 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#102 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed

Property: Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed
Address: Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 48,661 - ₹ 87,735
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for major renovation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rome
Eden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing