We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very luxurious and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed
Ranked #95 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very luxurious and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very comfortable rooms by Italy standards. Excellent service. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Air conditioning seems to decrease in strength in the middle of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank for having chosen the Hotel Eden for your stay and most importantly to have shared your views on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Eden.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    223
    57
    30
    24
See reviews for
203
479
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hi Barry,

Got back from Rome last night, what a beautiful city. History and landmarks every which way you turn.

For a top hotel in rome I was really disappointed, I complained on two occasions to the reception but nothing except "oh, ok sorry".

Our "room with a view" was awful, actually of drain pipes and offices which we were over looked. No nets so we had to just shut the curtains therefore blocking out light totally.

The room we had was noisy, the corridor noise and the noise from the other doors rooms slamming was constant.  Also whilst in the bathroom there was noises from other guests baths emptying.

The room did not include breakfast although we had it on our ticket? or even tea or coffee making facilities?

Air conditioning was antique and very loud. Even at full speed and at the coldest setting it was like have an asthmatic blowing on you and in 38C heat meant a nights sleep that was not ideal.

Staff entered our room twice without knocking.

Preparing the room for the night on one occasion consisted of shutting the curtains-then staff member waited for tip!

I gave the front desk my iphone to charge. Which they said they would, when I returned 4 hours later they had failed to charge the iPhone.

I phoned down for an adaptor and waited 40mins then phoned again 20mins later. It had still not arrived so went and asked at front desk-then they argued that I have already received it, they argued 4 times before they gave me a new one! Unfortunately by this point we could not charge our camera enough to take as many photos for the evening.

We went for a meal and the view from bar/restaurant whilst amazing from our seat, actually had the first hundred yards of waste land when we stood to take a closer look

The door staff didn't actually open the door for me until I had already opened it then stood by waiting for a tip!

Staff on the whole were more interested in serving the italian guests who they pointed out the views etc at the table. Where as we had to ask them, then they just said that's it there pointed and walked off to other guest.

When we  mentioned it was our honeymoon they said "congratulations, where are you off to next?" This was on check in.
When we said no this is our honeymoon, they said "oh that's a shame" that's a shame? Staying in Rome at a five star hotel a shame?

when I said is there any upgrade or anything they can do to make our trip extra special they said yes.
The upgrade was at the cost price and being "looked after" consisted of two glasses of preseco...that's it?!

I loved Rome, but the hotel was very poor.

We had an amazing wedding day then to be spoilt in the heathrow lounge, then again on board we were expecting the hotel to be brilliant.
Rome as a city was wonderful but we ended up trying not to come back to the hotel that much.
A five star hotel at €500 a night!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamieW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, rooms division manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.

We value every feedback, be it positive or negative, as it helps us improving every day.

We have reviewed all of the points you mentioned and we will be contacting you personally to address your concerns.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A special hotel,great service and wonderful location.

Room Tip: Request a suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwoltin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementEden, Manager at Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the short and sweet review on the Hotel Eden.

We thank you for having chosen the hotel Eden for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Eden at the end of a cruise vacation. The hotel is elegant with large, well appointed rooms, huge bathrooms, marble floors in the entry ways and bathrooms, comfortable beds and delightful soaps and lotions. With deluxe service from the doormen to the reception desk staff who checked us in and then took us up to our room, to the extremely helpful concierges, to the housekeeping staff, and to all the other employees who greeted us as we passed them in hallways or public rooms each making you feel welcome. Hotel Eden is a 10 minute walk to the Spanish Steps, a 10 minute walk to Galleria Borghese, two Metro stops. Our room overlooked a portion of the old city wall. Located off Via Veneto, it is in a quiet neighborhood with several other upscale hotels as well as several embassies nearby. The view of Rome from the restaurant and bar is magnificent. Hotel Eden is a member of Starwood under LaMeridien group of hotels. It is expensive but we would stay there again if we returned to Rome. It was a delightful way to wrap up our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Eden for my last night in Italy on this journey. On my travels I met with several people who had recently stayed in Rome and had hotels near the main attractions (Coliseum, etc) and they all remarked about the noise level in their rooms making it difficult to sleep at night. I was pleased when I arrived at The Hotel Eden as its conveniently located near the Spanish Steps, yet it backs to the Borghese gardens and the views from the rooftop bar and from my room were exquisite! The property is gorgeous and it feels like a luxurious hideaway in the middle of one of the most incredible cities in the world! The room was absolutely beautiful and I was so fortunate to be upgraded (as an SPG platinum member) to an incredible room with a balcony that overlooked the Borghese gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and I probably had the best nights sleep while in Italy on the 11 day journey.

I had a glass of prosecco at the rooftop bar before going out for dinner in the city of Rome - just as the sun was setting. The views were spectacular. In the morning I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at the rooftop restaurant - again luxuriating in the remarkable views of the city as the sun was rising. What a way to wake up in the city of Rome!!

If you're debating where to stay in Rome, for me the tiebreaker with The Hotel Eden and another property I was considering was the rooftop bar and restaurant. Its certainly worth the visit to get to enjoy the views whether for breakfast, dinner, happy hour or anytime. The hotel is gorgeous; the staff friendly and helpful; and the rooftop bar is a real gem!! I highly recommend a stay at The Hotel Eden!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelgirl22310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#33 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#59 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#82 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed

Property: Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed
Address: Via Ludovisi 49, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#59 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#66 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Business Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 47,439 - ₹ 94,736
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for major renovation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden - Dorchester Collection - Temporarily Closed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rome
Eden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing