We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location in the Centro Storico Rome”
Review of Fraterna Domus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fraterna Domus
Ranked #1,418 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Our family of 4 (with two teenage boys) stayed here for 7 nights in January. The location is absolutely fantastic, within walking distance to Piazza Navona, Vatican Musuem, St Peter's Basilica, Pantheon - we even walked to the Colosseum! Throughout our trip to Italy we were looking for a different accommodation experience in each city and in Rome we decided to try staying in a convent (which I booked with Sister Milena over the internet and a couple of phone calls to confirm everything). Our room was small and basic (containing beds, small table and 1 chair and a tiny bathroom) but very clean. As we spent all day out sightseeing, this wasn't too much of a problem. Having no TV meant our boys played card games and read books to pass any time we had in the room. We found many wonderful local and inexpensive places to eat around this area and it always felt safe to be walking around at night with the kids. We ate in the dining room a few times and really enjoyed the meals. The nuns were always polite and accommodating. If you are looking for clean, inexpensive centrally located accommodation in Rome, Fraterna Domus ticks those boxes, staying here was a good experience for our family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Seasoned2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband and I were traveling on a budget and this was the perfect option for us. We made our reservations through email [--] and corresponded with Sister Milena. Our room was 84 euro per night for a room with two twin beds, this also included breakfast. The sisters also serve a nice dinner for 14 euro per person. The rooms were very clean, although quite small. The bathroom was very interesting, with the shower right in the middle of the bathroom next to the toilet. The location was great, within walking distance of many sights and close to bus stops. We were basically looking for a clean place to sleep and shower and that's what we got. I would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The only thing that is good about this place is the location...it is situated just a few minutes walk to the piazza navona...and 15 minutes walk to the Vatican city! And ok, it was clean and safe but basic. But the nuns that are managing this place are very rude, strict and unpleasant. The food was average, and we were served the same dish for 3 nights in a row. They lock the door at 11 PM so if you want to stay out at night....it is not gonna happen.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Basic, clean, safe no frills room. Easy to get there (Bus #70) with a stop right in front. Can not beat the location for the money (1 block off of Piazza Navone) and could walk to everything for there.

I did enjoy dinner there one night (7:30 PM)...was quite full with other travelers, staying there and not. Breakfast was simple but fullfilling.

Would go back again and would recommend to others.

I did not find the 11 PM curfew a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We have traveled many places in Europe, and in Rome. This was bar-none the least welcoming place ever. Granted, it is in a good location, but there are other similarly-priced options nearby.

To begin with, there are no signs in the "lobby" indicating where guests should check-in. There were a few locals sitting around when we arrived in the evening, but no one offered assistance, and we were with a friend who is fluent in Italian. When one of us went upstairs to the landing to see if that was where we were to check in, one of the lay-clothed sisters yelled at us, telling us we should not be there. She did not offer any assistance nor advise us where to check in, but remained where she was, ignoring the new guests. After waiting around in the lobby for awhile, finally Sr. Milena arrived, gave us our keys, and told us that the heater was not working but it wasn't too cold today anyway. When we laughingly told her about our unwelcoming experience with the sister yelling at us when we tried to discover where to check in, she said ,"She did what she should have done".

We entered the VERY narrow corridor, which has one wall that angles in oddly, and found the room to be the typical convent style, although this one was not up to the standards of cleanliness and maintenance of other convent rooms in Italy that we've been in.

The worst part is that we were overcharged, and she used our credit card number without our knowledge. DO NOT GIVE YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER! If you decide to stay here, send the deposit via Traveler's Checks. We made our reservation in July, and paid our deposit. No disclosure was made of a minimum-night stay, nor of any charges for changes to the reservation. In December, 3 weeks before our arrival, we changed our reservation from 3 nights down to 2. Sr. Milena said this was fine, but we would be charged for the 3rd night anyway. The night before we left, we spoke with her to tell her our departure time (6am), but no bill was given, no receipt given, no mention of any additional charges or outstanding balance (again, we were with a friend who spoke fluent Italian with her). No one was at the desk or in the lobby when we left, to check us out. When we returned home, wwe discovered that she had made an additional charge to our credit card for that 3rd night. We contacted her to dispute this, and she insisted that we must be charged because she told us in December when we made the chage that this would happen. It is my understanding that the fee policies must be disclosed at the time of making the reservation and cannot be changed mid-stream, as has been done in this situation. We have disputed this with our credit card company.

Beware, fellow travelers!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Ciao_Issy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#78 of 1,273 in Rome
702 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,273 in Rome
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraterna Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraterna Domus

Address: Vicolo del Leonetto 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio , Ponte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,418 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fraterna Domus Hotel Rome
Fraterna Domus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing