We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Fraterna Domus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fraterna Domus
Ranked #1,423 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great if simple place. I always try to stay here when in Rome. It is simple. The nuns are extremely friendly and the Chapel is beautiful.
I think some of the more negative reviews miss the point that this is primarily a religious hostel for pilgrims (although anyone who phones up can book)! Given that it is right next to the Piazza Navona it is incredible value. I paid €50 including breakfast. The beds and showers are fine.
If you don't want a curfew and you need excellent wifi then perhaps consider staying in a normal hotel!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Anselm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay with large groups. The accommodation is quite basic but it is very clean and comfortable. It has a beautiful new chapel in the grounds with the best acoustics I have ever heard in any church! It has a lovely atmosphere also and is a very peaceful place to stay away from the noise and activity of the centre of Rome. There are lots of places to sit outside and take in the lovely views of the Italian countryside. It has its own little bar with cheaper prices than in centre of Rome for coffees/ alcoholic beverages etc. The nuns are very welcoming and laid back. I would recommend this place for any large group whether it be family, friends, parish or school group. You would need transport in and out of Rome. This is the fraterna domus via sacrofanese.
I would recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank annemarie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We stayed 4 nights and honestly we barely slept. It was sweltering hot and with no air con we had to leave the window open. The street was exceptionally noisy most of the night, which is great if you were allowed out after 11 to join in on the festivities. Alas, no. Curfew kicks in around the same time as Rome came alive. We found the curfew very stifling, even with a baby travelling with us. No late night Italian coffees or trips to beautifully lit landmarks. The beds were extremely basic (understandable in a convent but not for the price we paid) One bed was so uncomfortable that my husband and I switched every night so that at least one of us could get a few naps in.
The sisters were a mixed bag of very lovely, hard to read and straight up annoyed to have to deal with customers. Wifi is only accessible from the foyer and very unreliable. Barely able to even send a message to my family back home throughout the stay and resorted to using restaurant wifi whenever possible.
Overall, this is a convent so we didn't expect luxury but the price did not match up to the experience. The beds and curfew were our number one problem, when travelling you need to sleep well when you get a chance to sleep.
Location was amazing and the neighbourhood was very active with lots of great little restaurants and cobbled streets. Chapel was also lovely. Would recommend getting a good nights sleep with air con and no lock down instead.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LilyAndMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

This convent is very centrally located. The Sisters were helpful. We have stayed with other monastery stays and have found this a little expensive. Furthermore Rome is pretty hot in Summer as well as crowded and the small room could be stifling.
To compensate there is an excellent laundromat with internet cafe about 20 metres away and a fantastic restaurant in Piazza Nico as well as plenty of shops.
Karen G

Room Tip: Reooms facing the entry lane way seem a bit quieter. Ask about air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

My school and i stayed here whilst we were on a pilgrimage and it was great! sisters were lovely and its a good destination for sightseeing!! I would highly recommend it if you are wanting to see all the incredible things in Rome also its right in the heart of Rome☺️

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#72 of 1,271 in Rome
712 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#121 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#208 of 1,271 in Rome
3,468 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#114 of 1,271 in Rome
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraterna Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraterna Domus

Address: Vicolo del Leonetto 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio , Ponte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,423 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fraterna Domus Hotel Rome
Fraterna Domus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing