We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 364
US$ 308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 131
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 255
US$ 202
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 138
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 253
US$ 191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 299
US$ 279
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Hotel President(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Venetia Palace Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 52% below average rates

The price you found is 52% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 517
US$ 291
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 232
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
44
39
20
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
39
20
12
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Fraterna Domus several times. We read the reviews before our first stay; the sisters offer adequate facilities and outstanding hospitality to their guests. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not your place. The sisters speak only a little English, and may not start a conversation; however, they are very friendly and will try to accomodate your requests. We try to eat at least one meal at Fraterna Domus, the homestyle cooking is excellent. We also were fortunate on our first visit to hear the sisters singing grace before they had their own meal. On each occasion the sisters warned us about pickpocketers in Rome. On other occasions they have helped us with directions and hailing cabs to the airport. We've been there in the heat of the summer and the coldest days of winter. Although the heat is warm in the evening, be aware that the heat shuts off between midnight (I think) and 6am. Also, if you leave your room in the summer time, it is customary for you to turn off the AC (otherwise, the sisters may do this for you). We actually enjoy the shower that splashes all over everything (sort of), although the towels are as thin as others have remarked (I think bringing your own travel towel is a good idea). If you are willing to work with the simple surroundings, Fraterna Domus is great! We've considered other places, but given the location, the food, and the warmth of the sisters, we can't bring ourselves to stay anywere else.

Stayed: January 2007
14  Thank fieldsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We stayed at Fraterna Domus for six (6) nights. Good points are the location; the price; the Sisters who are just wonderful; the dinners at night at 13 Euro per person are delicious home style cooking and wine is available for purchase to have with your dinner. We met some lovely and interesting people at dinner - it is well worth eating in at least one or two nights. Breakfast is very basic, but enough to get you going - we kept our own supplies of juice and some fruit to supplement the coffee, bread & biscuits provided by the Sisters. It is helpful to learn some basic words in Italian - the Sisters appreciate your attempts.

You can see the Spanish Steps about 10/15 minutes walk up the street; plus all the key sites like the Vatican, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain etc are within walking distance. We even walked to the Roman Forum & Colesseum.

The rooms are clean and basic with narrow single bunks. Typical small European bathroom BUT the shower is terrible. It is just a nozzle on the wall with no shower screen and water goes everywhere. We basically had "bird baths" each night and washed our hair in the hand basin which after six nights tested our good humour. Towels are also very small & thin, so I took another travellers advice and took my own travelling towel.

The curfew of 11 pm is not a problem - you are exhausted from all the walking each day; and the historic centre is all but deserted at night. There is a lovely small church/chapel attached to the convent and it was lovely to just pop in there for some quiet reflection.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - but some visitors might not be able to cope with the shower, the stairs or the narrow beds.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank rodnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Our family of 4 stayed in a quad room (room #9), for 128 euros a night, in Jan '07. It had 4 single beds in it and a private bathroom. The shower is not enclosed so the whole bathroom gets wet, but the water pressure is good and there's lots of hot water.
It was very clean and we always felt safe. The beds were comfortable and the heat was on at night, so we always felt warm under the cozy blankets.
The sisters were very sweet. Sister Cecilia speaks english well, and the others speak a few words.
They gave us tickets for the papal audience, after we mentioned to them that we planned to go out early Wed morning to get tickets.
There is no lift, but the stairs aren't bad.
Breakfast was basic but enough to get us going in the morning. After the first morning, we brought some of our own stuff to supplement breakfast - some breakfast bars and juice. We had dinner there once and it was delicious.
Overall, we had a great time there. We loved the location - it was close to everything! We would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank JnBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We have just returned from a week in Rome and stayed at the Fraterna Domus. I had read various reviews on this site and knew it was going to be basic but was pleasantly suprised. We stayed in room 19 (by the bell tower), the room was large as was the bathroom and they were both exceptionally clean. I would definitely recommend this as a cheap, clean place to stay (78 euros for the room). The staff were lovely, and did speak limited English (learn a few words and phrases before you go). OK the breakfast wasn't huge bread, jam, nuttela, biscuits and coffee, but it kept us going for a few hours. We also ate at the convent one evening (the food was good, basic and reasonably priced 13 euros each).

It is definitely well situated, 5 minutes from Piazza Navona (the place to go at night and wander around and eat), across the river from Vatican (around a 15 minute stroll). We never used public transport and walked everywhere from here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank hellokitty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

I read all of the rave reviews on this B&B, but because the price was so low, I arrived with very low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby and breakfast room were actually rather charming. The rooms are definitely "no frills," but quite comfortable. They appeared to be newly appointed. The white walls and the bright red bedspreads made the room feel bright. The bathroom was big (separate shower, but no tub). The beds were firm, the way we like them and the pillows were decent. My biggest complaints were (1) there was no shower curtain (so the bathroom floor got soaked, and the water even ran under the door into the bedroom) and (2) the towels were on the skimpy side (small, rough and thin) - I would recommend bringing your own towels. There is also no lift, so if climbing stairs is a problem, do not stay here. There are a lot of stairs, especially if you are in room 19. Breakfast consisted of bread and jams, but they served real American-style coffee, which is unusual for Italy. You can't beat the location of this B&B. It is perfect. To quote another reviewer, "The location is excellent, walking distance to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, shopping brand name stores and more. It has a bus stop right across the street that takes you to the Roman Forum and other places of interest." Actually, the bus stop is a block or two away. Fraterna Domus is close to the Tiber River where we took many strolls both day and night. The sisters were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We did not eat any meals at the Fraterna Domus, but we probably should have, just to see what it was like. Other people who ate here seemed to enjoy it. There are two very good restaurants nearby. One especially good restaurant is La Compana (Vicolo della Campana, 18 (telephone 06-686-7820), and the other was Taverna Le Coppelle on Via delle Coppelle. Another good restaurant not too far away (but on the other side of the Tiber) is Il Matriciano at Via del Gracchio 55. Be sure to have both the carciofi alla Romana (artichokes Roman Style) and carciofi alla Giudia (artichokes prepared Jewish style). Both kinds of artichokes are fabulous. One last recommendation … be sure to go on one of the Angel Tours (Tel. 39 06 5800944). We took the Colosseum/Forum tour on March 27, 2006 with Jenny. It was just the three of us - Jenny, my husband and me. Another couple was supposed to take the tour, but they did not show up, so we had our own private tour. Jenny was extremely knowledgeable and informative. She was happy to take all questions, and stayed with us well beyond the time when the tour was supposed to end. Also, as we witnessed the following day, Jenny is very good with children. We took the Vatican tour the following day, March 28, 2006. More people showed up to form a larger group, so it was split between Jenny (who took the two families with children), and we went with Liz. Our group consisted of my husband and me and just one other couple. Liz, too, was extremely informative, pleasant, and periodically added a bit of humour to the tour. We definitely felt as though we got our money's worth out of these tours. We highly recommend Angel Tours. Generally, the tours are intimate because each group is small. Because you are with a tour guide, there is no waiting on lines. That alone is worth the price!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
23  Thank UWSLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews