We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Convent Experience”
Review of Fraterna Domus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fraterna Domus
Ranked #1,270 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Fraterna Domus is by no means a Ritz Carlton, a Four Seasons, or a Westin for that matter. We usually stay in this type of hotels for their accommodations. This summer we wanted a true Roman experience...old, authentic, but meaningful, and that's exactly we got!!! This is "a house" as Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia call it. IT IS NOT A HOTEL! It is a CONVENT!!! with a beautiful small church, where NUNS cook for you, clean your room, and make you feel like you are their guest.

Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia make you feel like family. They greet you from the moment you walk in. As you enter the convent, they make you feel as if they have been waiting for you. You truly feel like you are visiting relatives you haven't seen in years.

The accommodations are plain and simple- small rooms, but immaculately clean! Breakfast is from 7:00a.m.-8:30a.m. and it's coffee/tea and toast/packaged cookies. Your room is cleaned everyday and you will also find a clean set towels on your bed!!! If you are used to nice, heavy, white, 100% cotton towels, then you might want to bring your own.

The dinners at Fraterna Domus, which are available for an additional charge, are delicious!!! They are family style, home cooked dinners with wine! (extra charge). The experience of having dinner, cooked by nuns and sharing it with people from various parts of the world was simply amazing!!!

We had been traveling for a month and coming from a beautiful 5 star hotel in Florence to Fraterna Domus was DIFFERENT to say the last, but WE LOVED THE EXPERIENCE!!!

Fraterna Domus is in the perfect location. You can literally walk everywhere from there...St. Peter's Square is in only a 10 minute walk, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon are 3 minutes away, the Trevi Fountain is about an 8 minute walk, and the Spanish Steps a 10-15 minute walk. You can even walk to the Colosseum, but we chose to take the bus because of the heat.

Would we return? MOST DEFINITELY. THIS IS OUR HOME IN ROME!!!

Sr. Milena and Sr. Cecilia, thank you for your hospitality. We miss you. We hope to see you in the Spring of next year. The only request we have is to have the biggest room in the house with the strongest air conditioner!!!

Fioriello and Aracely

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ARACELY2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Fraterna Domus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Fraterna Domus several times. We read the reviews before our first stay; the sisters offer adequate facilities and outstanding hospitality to their guests. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not your place. The sisters speak only a little English, and may not start a conversation; however, they are very friendly and will try to accomodate your requests. We try to eat at least one meal at Fraterna Domus, the homestyle cooking is excellent. We also were fortunate on our first visit to hear the sisters singing grace before they had their own meal. On each occasion the sisters warned us about pickpocketers in Rome. On other occasions they have helped us with directions and hailing cabs to the airport. We've been there in the heat of the summer and the coldest days of winter. Although the heat is warm in the evening, be aware that the heat shuts off between midnight (I think) and 6am. Also, if you leave your room in the summer time, it is customary for you to turn off the AC (otherwise, the sisters may do this for you). We actually enjoy the shower that splashes all over everything (sort of), although the towels are as thin as others have remarked (I think bringing your own travel towel is a good idea). If you are willing to work with the simple surroundings, Fraterna Domus is great! We've considered other places, but given the location, the food, and the warmth of the sisters, we can't bring ourselves to stay anywere else.

Stayed: January 2007
14  Thank fieldsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We stayed at Fraterna Domus for six (6) nights. Good points are the location; the price; the Sisters who are just wonderful; the dinners at night at 13 Euro per person are delicious home style cooking and wine is available for purchase to have with your dinner. We met some lovely and interesting people at dinner - it is well worth eating in at least one or two nights. Breakfast is very basic, but enough to get you going - we kept our own supplies of juice and some fruit to supplement the coffee, bread & biscuits provided by the Sisters. It is helpful to learn some basic words in Italian - the Sisters appreciate your attempts.

You can see the Spanish Steps about 10/15 minutes walk up the street; plus all the key sites like the Vatican, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain etc are within walking distance. We even walked to the Roman Forum & Colesseum.

The rooms are clean and basic with narrow single bunks. Typical small European bathroom BUT the shower is terrible. It is just a nozzle on the wall with no shower screen and water goes everywhere. We basically had "bird baths" each night and washed our hair in the hand basin which after six nights tested our good humour. Towels are also very small & thin, so I took another travellers advice and took my own travelling towel.

The curfew of 11 pm is not a problem - you are exhausted from all the walking each day; and the historic centre is all but deserted at night. There is a lovely small church/chapel attached to the convent and it was lovely to just pop in there for some quiet reflection.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - but some visitors might not be able to cope with the shower, the stairs or the narrow beds.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank rodnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Our family of 4 stayed in a quad room (room #9), for 128 euros a night, in Jan '07. It had 4 single beds in it and a private bathroom. The shower is not enclosed so the whole bathroom gets wet, but the water pressure is good and there's lots of hot water.
It was very clean and we always felt safe. The beds were comfortable and the heat was on at night, so we always felt warm under the cozy blankets.
The sisters were very sweet. Sister Cecilia speaks english well, and the others speak a few words.
They gave us tickets for the papal audience, after we mentioned to them that we planned to go out early Wed morning to get tickets.
There is no lift, but the stairs aren't bad.
Breakfast was basic but enough to get us going in the morning. After the first morning, we brought some of our own stuff to supplement breakfast - some breakfast bars and juice. We had dinner there once and it was delicious.
Overall, we had a great time there. We loved the location - it was close to everything! We would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank JnBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We have just returned from a week in Rome and stayed at the Fraterna Domus. I had read various reviews on this site and knew it was going to be basic but was pleasantly suprised. We stayed in room 19 (by the bell tower), the room was large as was the bathroom and they were both exceptionally clean. I would definitely recommend this as a cheap, clean place to stay (78 euros for the room). The staff were lovely, and did speak limited English (learn a few words and phrases before you go). OK the breakfast wasn't huge bread, jam, nuttela, biscuits and coffee, but it kept us going for a few hours. We also ate at the convent one evening (the food was good, basic and reasonably priced 13 euros each).

It is definitely well situated, 5 minutes from Piazza Navona (the place to go at night and wander around and eat), across the river from Vatican (around a 15 minute stroll). We never used public transport and walked everywhere from here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank hellokitty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#447 of 1,267 in Rome
218 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#386 of 1,267 in Rome
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#80 of 1,267 in Rome
673 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#233 of 1,267 in Rome
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraterna Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraterna Domus

Address: Vicolo del Leonetto 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio , Ponte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,270 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 6,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fraterna Domus Hotel Rome
Fraterna Domus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing