We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection by the Pantheon”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfection by the Pantheon”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Senato. Three stars do not do it justice. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very attentive, friendly, and accomodating. The roof-top bar is a nice place for drinks before dinner. The location can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldi130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,869
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
842
1,840
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, NH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Yes, the location is great, steps away from the Pantheon. The front desk staff is super skilled, with exceptional English and a great way of anticipating what guests will want. And you do get a nice view from the roof-top terrace. These are offset, however, by antiquated systems such as having to phone the desk whenever you want the air conditioning in your room turned on or off, having incredibly disfunctional wi-fi (with a limit on the number of devices given access per room - who thought that up?), and a one-key-per-room system that relegates families to having to do some intense planning. Several times we would meet other guests sitting in the hall, waiting to get back in to their rooms - Dad or Mom would be in the shower, and in order for the rooms to have any power for lights or a/c, the key had to be in the room. In our case, one of us actually showered in the dark because the other person had the room key. Who thinks this stuff up? You can think these things are charming, but at $300 - $400 per night, they really . . . aren't.

Room Tip: Choose your pain - rooms that face the Pantheon are noisy, meaning you will want the air conditionin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NHLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelSenato, Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,
First of all we do thank you for your review, which are always useful for us to improve the service.
Regarding the WIFI we have had a lot of problems the last time due to overloaded lines. The main problem was the many devices used per person and as a free service often used for a long time. We found it necessary to change the setting and during a short period we did restrict the use to one device per person. The setting has been changed since 2 weeks and you are able to use any devices wanted, still free of charge, and without overload the lines.

Furthermore I would like to inform you that the aircondition can be turned on and off in mostly of our rooms. There are only 12 where we still do have to modify the system and we expect to finish the missing rooms shortly.

We beg your pardon for any discomfort caused and we do hope to welcome you back in the next future.

With Kind Regards

Ann Johansson
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This lovely little hotel is probably in the best location in Rome; central to the sites, on a pretty square with a number of places to sit, eat, drink and watch the world go by, and with wonderful views onto the Pantheon. We enjoyed a couple of very nice meals at the Hostaria Pantheon, right outside the hotel.

The hotel staff are most welcoming and helpful, the rooms are clean and nicely presented, the view of Rome from the rooftop terrace/bar is memorable (all the way over to St Peter's and beyond) and the overall experience made for an excellent stay.

Just a couple of things that let it down a little; first that the 2 lifts are tiny, and my claustrophobic 84 year-old mother-in-law had to climb the stairs to her third floor room every time, rather than use them (so anyone with similar problems might want to ask for a room on a lower floor). Second, the breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) is very disappointing, and the coffee generally agreed by all to be undrinkable. You may prefer to skip it and spend 10 euros on a decent latte and croissant in a cafe on the square.

The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport, which you can pre-book via email, and which costs around 55 euros (the driver will wait in the arrivals hall with a card with your name on). The alternatives are to take a taxi or a shared minibus. On arrival we were cornered by a minibus driver, who told us that a taxi would charge 90euros, whereas a shared minibus would be 45 euros. This was a lie; a private taxi will take you to central Rome for 40euros (fixed by law). The minibus will take much longer as it is dropping off at several points (and our driver dropped us at the wrong hotel!). Either way, put your seat belt on and hold tight because they all drive like maniacs!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in June 2012 with our 7 year old. It is the best location you could imagine in Rome - right in the centre of everything and, because every member of the staff works hard to make you feel as though you are at home, it is the perfect haven every time you need a break from a hot day. The only quibble I can think of is that one of the two lifts was out of action several times during our visit which would have been mildly annoying if we had been much higher than the 2nd floor. Worth the walk however to the spectacular roof-top bar.

Room Tip: Tell the staff when you book what you want. We had a room without a Pantheon view which was actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tzial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Albergo del Senato in July 2010 for 4 nights. We had a junior suite with a beautiful view of the Pantheon and the piazza. The room was spacious and very updated. The free wi-fi worked fine in the room. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport. When we were ready to leave for the train station they got a taxi for us in no time. It's the best location in Rome. We walked everywhere even to Vatican City. The rooftop bar was a nice relaxing place at night. We'll stay there again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2worldtravelleers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,343 - ₹ 23,568
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing