We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo del Senato
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$ 348
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
US$ 343
US$ 317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 238
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 193
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 195
US$ 175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Giolli Nazionale(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 216
US$ 189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 384
US$ 272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 382
US$ 306
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,796)
Filter reviews
3,796 results
Traveller rating
3,167
501
83
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,167
501
83
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpiazza della rotundaroom overlooking the pantheonperfect locationstreet performersfront desk stafftrevi fountainwithin walking distancewonderful hotelspanish stepstaxi standturn down servicewalked everywhereloved this hotelpastriesbottle of proseccotrip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
2,247 - 2,252 of 3,796 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Yes, the location is great, steps away from the Pantheon. The front desk staff is super skilled, with exceptional English and a great way of anticipating what guests will want. And you do get a nice view from the roof-top terrace. These are offset, however, by antiquated systems such as having to phone the desk whenever you want the air conditioning in your room turned on or off, having incredibly disfunctional wi-fi (with a limit on the number of devices given access per room - who thought that up?), and a one-key-per-room system that relegates families to having to do some intense planning. Several times we would meet other guests sitting in the hall, waiting to get back in to their rooms - Dad or Mom would be in the shower, and in order for the rooms to have any power for lights or a/c, the key had to be in the room. In our case, one of us actually showered in the dark because the other person had the room key. Who thinks this stuff up? You can think these things are charming, but at $300 - $400 per night, they really . . . aren't.

Room Tip: Choose your pain - rooms that face the Pantheon are noisy, meaning you will want the air conditioning on- which is also noisy. Rooms facing away may mean you can open the window, but there will still be street noise. People needing a good night's sleep may wish a quieter property, perhaps one near the Borghese Gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NHLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelSenato, Manager at Albergo del Senato, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Sir / Madame,
First of all we do thank you for your review, which are always useful for us to improve the service.
Regarding the WIFI we have had a lot of problems the last time due to overloaded lines. The main problem was the many devices used per person and as a free service often used for a long time. We found it necessary to change the setting and during a short period we did restrict the use to one device per person. The setting has been changed since 2 weeks and you are able to use any devices wanted, still free of charge, and without overload the lines.

Furthermore I would like to inform you that the aircondition can be turned on and off in mostly of our rooms. There are only 12 where we still do have to modify the system and we expect to finish the missing rooms shortly.

We beg your pardon for any discomfort caused and we do hope to welcome you back in the next future.

With Kind Regards

Ann Johansson
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This lovely little hotel is probably in the best location in Rome; central to the sites, on a pretty square with a number of places to sit, eat, drink and watch the world go by, and with wonderful views onto the Pantheon. We enjoyed a couple of very nice meals at the Hostaria Pantheon, right outside the hotel.

The hotel staff are most welcoming and helpful, the rooms are clean and nicely presented, the view of Rome from the rooftop terrace/bar is memorable (all the way over to St Peter's and beyond) and the overall experience made for an excellent stay.

Just a couple of things that let it down a little; first that the 2 lifts are tiny, and my claustrophobic 84 year-old mother-in-law had to climb the stairs to her third floor room every time, rather than use them (so anyone with similar problems might want to ask for a room on a lower floor). Second, the breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) is very disappointing, and the coffee generally agreed by all to be undrinkable. You may prefer to skip it and spend 10 euros on a decent latte and croissant in a cafe on the square.

The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport, which you can pre-book via email, and which costs around 55 euros (the driver will wait in the arrivals hall with a card with your name on). The alternatives are to take a taxi or a shared minibus. On arrival we were cornered by a minibus driver, who told us that a taxi would charge 90euros, whereas a shared minibus would be 45 euros. This was a lie; a private taxi will take you to central Rome for 40euros (fixed by law). The minibus will take much longer as it is dropping off at several points (and our driver dropped us at the wrong hotel!). Either way, put your seat belt on and hold tight because they all drive like maniacs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in June 2012 with our 7 year old. It is the best location you could imagine in Rome - right in the centre of everything and, because every member of the staff works hard to make you feel as though you are at home, it is the perfect haven every time you need a break from a hot day. The only quibble I can think of is that one of the two lifts was out of action several times during our visit which would have been mildly annoying if we had been much higher than the 2nd floor. Worth the walk however to the spectacular roof-top bar.

Room Tip: Tell the staff when you book what you want. We had a room without a Pantheon view which was actually great because it was wonderfully quiet for somewhere right in the centre of things
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tzial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Albergo del Senato in July 2010 for 4 nights. We had a junior suite with a beautiful view of the Pantheon and the piazza. The room was spacious and very updated. The free wi-fi worked fine in the room. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport. When we were ready to leave for the train station they got a taxi for us in no time. It's the best location in Rome. We walked everywhere even to Vatican City. The rooftop bar was a nice relaxing place at night. We'll stay there again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2worldtravelleers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is extraordinary. I've been there with my wife 4 times and we'll go back if we get a chance to travel back to Rome. It is centrally located within walking distance of Vatican City, the Colliseum, the Spanish Steps, and Piazza Navona with the Fountain of 4 rivers (oh, and the high-end shopping district by the Spanish Steps). In our recent visit our room literally overlooked the square where the Pantheon is located. Looking out the window we were probably 100 feet from the Pantheon's entrance. But it's the front desk staff that really sets this hotel apart. The hotel is small enough (if you want a big Marriott style hotel you will be disappointed) that they get to know you after a few days and they were always very pleasant and accomodating.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the alleys leading to the Pantheon, not the Pantheon itself.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews