We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Detailed to perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensus Restaurant

Sensus Restaurant
Ranked #2,113 of 11,635 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: SENSUS Restaurant...ECCOCI nel cuore del centro storico di Roma, ad un passo da Campo de Fiori e Piazza Farnese, uno degli scorci piu eleganti e suggestivi della capitale. Voglia di semplicita e colori..Voglia dei sapori mediterranei di casa tua...Voglia di tradizione mista a novita...Voglia di SENSUS Restaurant!!!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Detailed to perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We celebrated my Birthday here based on the previous reviews and we are pleased to add that we were not disappointed! Carlo saw to our every need in a relaxed yet sophisticated environment. Carlo the owner went over & above what was expected, and it was good to experience true Italian dining in Rome (we've had some dissappointing meals prior to this). Could not fault this establishment & highly recommend to any fussy diner! Well done Carlo & team. A & R (Australia)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileyanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    12
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding personal service and outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

After finishing an outstanding meal and paying what was a very reasonable bill for the standard of cooking and service provided, my wife and I together with our two children could not get a taxi back to our hotel despite Carlo, the owner of this exemplary restaurant trying to call for one for almost half an hour. "No problem, I will take you myself" was his solution! The meal was one of the best we have ever had despite having travelled extensively and living in London and was prepared with the freshest ingredients. The imaginative and varied dishes were executed to a very high standard by a talented team of chefs overseen by a highly involved, knowledgeable and genuinely charming owner who has every right to be proud of what he has achieved in the heart of the tourist district providing excellent food,wine and service. This restaurant richly deserves its status as one of the top 10 restaurants in Rome on Tripadvisor!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cipriota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farum, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little pearl right in the center of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

During our 7 day visit to Rome my wife and I had dinner at the restaurant twice. We found the restaurant through Google, Tripadvisor, and by walking around looking for alternatives to the few Michelin starred restaurants in Rome and with a focus on sea food. Our first dinner was Wednesday and by the end of that we had booked our next dinner for Friday. It was superb in every way. The food was very modern yet traditional Italian, but without a trace of modernistic (chemical) cooking. Ingredients were top class and the quality consistently high, including the the wines. The service as provided by the owner was fantastic and a text book example of how to provide relaxed but attentive service without fuss. The price was very reasonable. In all honesty we would have just walked by the restaurant if we hadn't done the research as it doesn't make much of itself from the outside, but it IS right in the center of the historic Rome and should NOT be missed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Small, Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was one of the most wonderful restaurants we ate in in Rome. The owner, Carlo, was exceptionally friendly and very knowledgeable about both the menu and questions we had about Rome in general. This is a very small restaurant with a nice atmosphere and off the beaten path. Everything we tried was wonderful from the appetizer of eggplant parmigiana to the pineapple tarte for dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will eat there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sensus is a first-rate restaurant with homemade delicacies, great service and modern décor. The menu features English translations and is filled with many options – a few of our favorites were the grilled prawns, eggplant parmigiana (the best we’ve ever tasted!) ravioli, and sea bass. Not only did everything taste wonderful, but the presentation of each dish was beautiful and artistic. The service was excellent and the pace of the meal perfect - you do not wait long between courses. The owner, Carlo, was great at selecting a wine for us and sharing with us his menu philosophies and visions for the restaurant. My husband’s name is also Carlo, and the owner happily obliged my taking a photo of the two of them at this outstanding restaurant. This restaurant should be at the top of everyone’s list to visit in Rome!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sensus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sensus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing