We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Small, Great Restaurant”
Review of Sensus Restaurant - CLOSED

Sensus Restaurant
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Description: SENSUS Restaurant...ECCOCI nel cuore del centro storico di Roma, ad un passo da Campo de Fiori e Piazza Farnese, uno degli scorci piu eleganti e suggestivi della capitale. Voglia di semplicita e colori..Voglia dei sapori mediterranei di casa tua...Voglia di tradizione mista a novita...Voglia di SENSUS Restaurant!!!
Knoville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Small, Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was one of the most wonderful restaurants we ate in in Rome. The owner, Carlo, was exceptionally friendly and very knowledgeable about both the menu and questions we had about Rome in general. This is a very small restaurant with a nice atmosphere and off the beaten path. Everything we tried was wonderful from the appetizer of eggplant parmigiana to the pineapple tarte for dessert. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will eat there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    12
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and decor”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sensus is a first-rate restaurant with homemade delicacies, great service and modern décor. The menu features English translations and is filled with many options – a few of our favorites were the grilled prawns, eggplant parmigiana (the best we’ve ever tasted!) ravioli, and sea bass. Not only did everything taste wonderful, but the presentation of each dish was beautiful and artistic. The service was excellent and the pace of the meal perfect - you do not wait long between courses. The owner, Carlo, was great at selecting a wine for us and sharing with us his menu philosophies and visions for the restaurant. My husband’s name is also Carlo, and the owner happily obliged my taking a photo of the two of them at this outstanding restaurant. This restaurant should be at the top of everyone’s list to visit in Rome!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just a few steps from Piazza Farnese, this seafood reastaurant does not only have great food and an exellent service, but also a elegant but still cosy atmosfhere... I had an appetizer with squid and then a second course of diffrent kinds of fish and seafood, perfectly cooked and the right spices. If you are going to Rome, I can highly recommend Sensus!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, cute and culinary! A fantastic little restaurant.”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was looking for a restaurant for dinner in Rome with some friends and clients and stumbled across Sensus online. I was very happy that I went!

The restaurant is right behind the Campo de Fiore and as such is in a great central location. The restaurant is small and I would say geared towards couple or smaller groups. Having said that I went later on a Tuesday evening when things were less busy and they had no problem accommodating a party of 10.

The décor is lovely. Cute without being cutesy and with the right balance of elegance and coziness.

The food.... was excellent. Our table slightly taxed the kitchen, which I imagine isn't huge as we all had different menu items, so service was a little slower than one would expect normally; but to be fair for a group of this size, we should have done a set menu to help with this problem, the fact that they accommodated us so well off of the a la carte menu was impressive. I had people from all over the world and with varied tastes and everyone was happy! The staff did a great job at explaining the menu and answering questions. They were truly excellent on the wine as well, with some great and reasonably priced selections, they clearly love their wine and wanted the pairing to be good. Even at the higher end of the wine menu, the prices were pretty reasonable.

In short, great restaurant, great food, great staff. Go visit and enjoy your time in Rome!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Night out.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a really good meal & night out in general at Sensus.
Food was lovely, staff were great and the cost was average for a restaurant of this quality.
Really good atmosphere in here in an area of Rome thats buzzing of a night.
Spoil yourselves.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sensus Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing