We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so nice grounds”

Musei di Villa Torlonia
Ranked #283 of 1,974 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two historical buildings with the walls of Villa Torlonia have been transformed into museum sites: the Casino Nobile, built in the 19th century, now houses the museum that documents the Villa itself as well as a collection of works by the Roman School, and the Museum of the Casina delle Civette, dedicated to artistic stained glass.
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

It is away from the tourist areas which is definitely a plus. The buildings are nice but the grounds are in need of some serious maintenance. The weeds have taken over and pathways are not well marked with gravel or anything. But it has potential and is a nice quiet stroll.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank 795stevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This house and park were only a few minutes walk from our hotel so we checked it out. There is a lovely park to wander and relax in which is free to use and then there is the house. Mussolini lived there during the war years. It has a very varied history and has had many extensions and additions throughout its history. The ceilings are amazing and the ballroom is breathtaking. We paid €9.50 for the main house and the Owl House and €4 for an English audio guide. You can manage without this if you read the boards in each room. We had to leave ID as a deposit for the audio guide.
There is an art gallery in the third floor and stain glass exhibit in the owl house.
There is a lift if you can't climb the stairs.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank aanda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The present condition of the Villa grounds says volumes about Italy and Rome's commitment to preserving it's history. The buildings are in need of major repair, the grounds are unkept and full of trash, and the pools are empty. Images of 'Grey Gardens'. The interiors of the main house are much better and the art exhibits are interesting. I very much liked the timeline in one room of the Villa, it helped understand the events that changed the World.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

We were visiting Rome for 7 days and we're looking for something a bit slower pace and off the beaten path on our last day. This park site along with the museums was well worth the trip. Interesting history, beautiful restored interiors.

1  Thank 673paulineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2015

As mentioned by other reviewers, the villa and it's grounds provide an island of calm away from the maddening crowds of other Roman moments and museums. If you're in Rome for more than a couple of days, I'd highly recommend a visit. It's very beautiful and very peaceful. The villa is particularly impressive inside and out.

To give a little advice, do ask at the ticket booth about the different options available. The grounds are free for you to wander in but there are different tickets for the different buildings. I opted for the "Musei di Villa Torlonia - Casino Nobile" ticket, which allowed me to visit the main villa and also a side building filled with works of art by Ceccotti.

Date of experience: January 2015
4  Thank only-ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musei di Villa Torlonia also viewed

 

Been to Musei di Villa Torlonia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing