We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
285
58
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
58
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green door piazza della perfect location stunning church baroque facade rose petals on the bed sunny room balcony overlooking the piazza gelato excellent soundproofing quiet piazza breakfast room within walking distance modern bathroom double paned windows heart of rome no lift
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here several times. Each visit has been great. This is a "high end" B&B, excellent wifi, professionally operated. It doesn't have a restaurant or bar, so I guess it doesn't technically qualify as a hotel. Located in the historic center, steps from the pantheon, it is my favorite place to stay. Also, they will arrange pickup/drop off at the airport with a reputable/professional driver. Also, great breakfast!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AusTexMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeReallyCare, Proprietario at Relais Maddalena, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017
Google Translation

Mille grazie! :-))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This very small boutique hotel is centrally located and has a 2 table terrasse where you can enjoy breakfast in the morning. It's literally a 30 second walk from the Pantheon, 8 min walk from the Piazza Navona (nice restaurants and bars), 10 min from Trevi fountain and the Spanish Steps with all the little shops/boutiques. The hotel has nice rooms and larger than what you would usually get in Rome but the walls are paper thin unfortunately. One of the staff members, Francesco, was really sweet and patient. Overall, it was a good boutique hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MichaelMeir26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This boutique hotel is hidden behind a large door in the middle of the Piazza Della Maddalena - literally beside the Pantheon. There is a flight of stairs to be climbed which reveals this beautifully restored old building. It is sympathetically renovated to blend the historical past with modern living.
It is totally quiet but central to all that Rome has to offer - you can comfortably walk everywhere.
Reception is not open all day which is not a problem - you can come and go at ease.
Breakfast is served on the first floor and is a fantastic choice for all tastes - we particularly liked the amount of fresh seasonal fruit on offer.
This hotel is highly recommended and we'd love to come back to Rome and stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 650Richos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Who wouldn't enjoy staying in a hotel where you get a key to a hidden green door in a piazza a block from the Pantheon?!?!

We stayed here twice during our honeymoon in Italy. Two different rooms, both were BEAUTIFUL, and both times Francesco and staff treated us to rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed. They were absolutely fantastic.

We arrived in Rome and took a limo/private taxi from the airport to the hotel that we arranged through Francesco. The driver knew exactly where we needed to be thank goodness because there are no real indications of where the hotel is from the piazza. When we arrived at the green door, there were a number of stairs we had to navigate to get to the hotel. This might prove to be a challenge to some.

When we arrived at door, we were offered prosecco while we waited just a few moments for Francesco. After completing our check-in, we were shown to our room which was BEAUTIFUL! Our first room had a wooden beam ceiling that gave the room a warm European charm. It was cozy but not small. The bathroom was well appointed. One window looked out a an old church and the other looked down at the small piazza where we were serenaded most nights by the most amazing vocals.

After visiting the Amalfi coast for a few days, we returned and were provided with another exceptional room that was more modern in decor however just as romantic. And I believe it was a bit larger. Both rooms were larger than what I was expecting to find in Rome.

Breakfast was served in the common area which had a very small terrace. I believe we were able to eat on the terrace once during our stay. It only seats a few people. Breakfast itself was great! Fresh fruit, juices, coffee, proteins and pastries. The variety should satisfy any taste.

Other than the exceptional service by Francesco and staff, the hotel is in the perfect location for nearly everything you would want to do or see in Rome. Things we did that we would strongly suggest:

See the Pantheon at night - it will take your breath away.

Go to the gelato place that has 150 flavors which is just a few doors away.

Eat at both restaurants in the small piazzo - they are both DELICIOUS!

Walk to Piazza Navona - there is so much to see on the way.

Take Francesco's suggestions on restaurants - the rooftop restaurant we went to for drinks was amazing.

First time in Rome? - Spend the couple of dollars on the "Welcome to Rome" tour.

Go to the Vatican!

Go to Trevi!

Most attractions were either within walking distance or a short taxi ride. The closest taxis are at the Pantheon, so you will never be far from anything.

We would explore each day and return to our unassuming little green door each night to the oasis that is Relais. If we get an opportunity to return to Rome, we will absolutely stay here again.

Francesco, sorry it took so long to write this review, but please know that the Relais has left such an amazing impression in my memory that I will never forget it.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the piazza were breathtaking!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We were looking for a good hotel close to the major sites in Rome for our honeymoon. The Relais Maddalena met every expectation. The manager name was Francesco Amore. How can you go wrong with a last name like Amore? He was very hospitable and helped us with anything that we asked. When you arrive, you must find the green door. That is your gateway into the Relais Maddalena. You will be given a key for entrance after check-in. We stayed here at the beginning and the end of our Italian Honeymoon. Upon arrival, my new bride was greeted with rose petals on the bed in the shape of a heart. Yep, Amore! Our first stay was in a Romantic Superior with a View room. We were serenaded in the evening with gentlemen in the piazza singing Italian arias as the window from our room opened up onto the piazza. You could go out on the balcony from the restaurant for early morning coffee or late evening drink and view the Pantheon down from the piazza one block away. The Piazza Novona was about two blocks away. You could walk to Trevi Fountain or even the Vatican. It was the perfect location. After visiting the Amalfi coast for a few days, we came back to the Relais Maddalena. This time we stayed in the Deluxe Double Room with a View. Higher floor and a little more of a modern feel. Also with a wonderful view of the Piazza. Rome is an amazing city with an incredible history. Way too much to see in one visit. We will be back. Thank you Francesco for your hospitality and for helping make our honeymoon special and an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the piazza
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank engrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews