We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location, lovely rooms, thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Maddalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Maddalena
Ranked #114 of 3,673 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely rooms, thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is not a hotel, so don't expect bellhops and room service. It is, however, a tiny, simply charming, astonishingly quiet and delightfully friendly base for a stay in Rome. I stayed in a newly renovated deluxe room, which had ceilings that must have been over 25ft high. The breakfast is lovely, and the atmosphere very welcoming. There were a couple of teething problems with the brand new electrics which I imagine will have been sorted out by now. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated corner rooms - extra bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ink P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
172
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I recently finished a 10 day trip in Italy with two nights at the Relais Maddalena B&B in Rome. The room I was assigned was small but adequate for one person for two nights and had nice features and amenities. The hosts were very polite and helpful. The location was great on a lovey piazza near the Pantheon and very near a restaurant (literally steps away down a side street) with some fabulous seafood--best meal I had in Italy! I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a comfortable, homey convenient place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We chose the Relais Maddalena as our home base for four nights in Rome. Francesco and Marguerite took very good care of us, right from the beginning. We opted for their car service to pick us up at Fiumicino airport and after a very long day of travel, seeing the driver holding a card with my name was a relief. The hotel is on the tiny piazza della Maddalena, just a minute's walk from the Pantheon. Across the piazza from the hotel is La Maddalena, a beautiful Rococo church. Even though we had Roma passes with unlimited access to the bus system, we were able to walk to most places because the hotel is right in the historic center of Rome. The breakfast room is sunny and spacious with a view of the piazza. There were fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, cheeses, and meats each morning, along with juices and cappuccino. Our room was quiet and spacious with a clean, modern bathroom and waterfall shower. If I ever make it back to Rome I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WIsconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We selected Relais Maddalena for our first family vacation in Europe thanks to the the consistently positive reviews in Trip Advisor. We stayed for 3 nights before our NCL Epic Cruise on 20 June. Everything about Relais Maddalena is fanatastic: location, amenities, customer service, cleanliness, convenience of the stocked mini-bar & continental breakfast, wi-fi (what a relief that was for our 16 year old son & 12 year old daughter) ....the list goes on. We arrived late Sunday morning, Margarit was there to greet us, the staff prepped our room early and within about an hour after arrival at Relais Maddalenal, we were showered and ready to explore this amazing city. The location truly is special, within minutes to most of what you’ll want to see in Rome. Don’t miss any evening walk to the Colosseum – quiet, cooler, beautifully lit – a truly different experience than during the day. Another don’t miss – “ Pietro al Pantheon”, a restaurant within 3 minutes of the hotel - we ate dinner there 2 of our 3 nights, it was that good!. Francesco , Margarit and the rest of the Relais Maddalena staff are readily available to help with directions, recommendations, etc. Should you stay at Relais Maddalena? Our family of four votes a unanimous – absolutely YES!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at Relais Maddalena in June 2012. We were very sad to leave! This place was amazing, from the close proximity to the Pantheon to the well adorned room. On the service front it was top notch. We got to Rome early and stopped by with our luggage. They let us use their storage room since our room was not ready yet. When we came back to check in a few hours later, they already moved our luggage into our room. Not only was there complementary mini bar, we had everything in our room we needed - from wine to bathroom toiletries. It was a very modern space inside the room, and the bathroom was spacious especially the shower, plus the bathroom had very modern and new fixtures. It was a sight for sore eyes, compared to some of the bathrooms in Europe. They really took care of us to the highest degree. The breakfast was fresh and coffee was fantastic. Too bad we had to leave, but now we have a reason to come back to Rome. You will be within a few steps of the Pantheon but you'd never know it. Just head up La Rosetta street and you are at the Pantheon.

Room Tip: Any room is welcome. We had a queen bed on the same level as the reception desk just around the corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#55 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo Santa Chiara
Albergo Santa Chiara
#124 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#68 of 3,673 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Gallery & Garden Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dimora degli Dei
Dimora degli Dei
#104 of 3,673 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Di Rienzo Pantheon Palace
Di Rienzo Pantheon Palace
#161 of 3,673 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Maddalena

Property: Relais Maddalena
Address: Piazza della Maddalena 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 3,673 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,026 - ₹ 20,602
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Maddalena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Maddalena stands right in the middle of everything! This cozy 6 room guest house is the ideal couch for those who love to get to Rome on a weekend for a romantic getaway or a quick tour of the historical centre. We are just 300 feet away from the Pantheon and the location is really convenient if you like to enjoy the beauty of monumental Rome without using the car or public transportation: everything is at hand and can be reached with an easy walk. The rooms are all elegant and functional; you will find hand made upholstery and fine antiques, king size beds and sound proof windows, plus all the comfort of modern technology: air conditioning/heating, minibar, satellite and cable TV, internet connection, safebox and more! Many rooms have a lovely view outside on piazza della Maddalena and on piazza Rondanini, two among the neatest small piazzas of central Rome.We clean the rooms every day and change the linen every 2 days, and towels every time is needed. All our rooms have private bathrooms, which are spacious and comfortable. The staff is helpful and will do nearly anything to make your stay in Rome the most enjoyable. Ciao!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Relais Maddalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maddalena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing