We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host and perfect location”
Review of Domus Valeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Valeria
Ranked #479 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent host and perfect location”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just returned from 3 days in Rome, staying 2 nights at Domus Valeria and was very impressed. We stayed in a nearby apartment hotel for the 1st night at 3 times the price which was fine but couldn't compare in value with Domus Valeria. Marco looked after us really well - booking tickets, restaurants, printing maps and gave us some great insight into life in Rome - charming and a great host. His apartment is beautiful, exactly what you would imagine from a central Rome home and the roof terrace is a great place to start and finish a busy day of sightseeing. Our Room was comfortable with great air conditioning (essential!) and everything we could need - TV, robes, slippers, local guides, etc. Although the bathroom was shared there was never any problem using it when we needed. Lots of other things at your disposal if you need to use the fridge, glasses for drinks, nespresso machine etc. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for the nice review.

Hope to see you very soon!

Hugs from Rome

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    29
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
106
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived in Roma yesterday after a 24 hour journey. We were made to feel welcome from the first minute. Marco has thought of everything and his kindness make this a great place to stay.

The location is fantastic, we have walked everywhere, and seen most things without any hassle or trouble. Marco's background in travel means that he knows how to do things in a very busy tourist city of Rome.

Another nice thing about Domus Valeria is the other guests are very friendly, and at breakfast you find out so much more about what to see and do.

Thank You Marco for opening your home to us.

Craig and Leo

PS: If you are Australian and coming to stay here, bring Tim Tams. They are Marco's favourite!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrCraigBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you very much for the nice review.

Hope to see you very soon!

Hugs from Rome

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here with my friends for a couple days last October. The B&B is in a palazzo on a toney street very close to the Spanish Steps. The location could not be better. Our host, Marco, was most gracious. Our rooms were very nice (shared bathroom), and there is a wonderful rooftop terrace to relax, season and weather permitting. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Large double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Many thanks for your nice review.
I hope to see you in the next near future, I wish you all the best

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riyadh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I couldn't speak more highly of this place. Marco is a wonderful host and made me feel at home the moment I arrived.

The apartment is tastefully decorated - coffee machine and kitchen available for guests. Each of the rooms are a good size (I stayed in the single room which was more than adequate). Upstairs on the roof is the garden area where breakfast is served each morning.

The B&B is located right in the heart of all the action... couldn't ask for a better location. Absolute value for money. I'm so glad I stayed here... it made my stay in Rome all that more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saudichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Many thanks for your nice review, It was a pleasure to be your host!
I hope to assist you once again on the next near future.

With warm regards

Marco V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Marco is the warmest and most welcoming host you could find. He made us feel at home and helped us with booking entry tickets to galleries and museums. His apartment is very clean and well maintained. The location is superb as it is only metres from the Spanish steps, very convenient!

There was nothing like waking up in the morning and going up to the roof top to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast and perfect coffee. We felt very regal!

Thanks again Marco and hope to see you again sometime.

Mario and Sam from Adelaide Australia xx

Room Tip: If you are a couple then either of the double rooms are great. They are both very close to the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Many thanks for this review. It was a pleasure to assist you during your stay.
I really hope to see you once again in the future.

With warm regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#522 of 1,256 in Rome
364 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#235 of 3,643 in Rome
142 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 79
Babuino 79
#115 of 1,091 in Rome
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Relais Babuino 124
Relais Babuino 124
#1,011 of 3,643 in Rome
24 reviews
Campo Marzio
Maison Evelina
Maison Evelina
#493 of 3,643 in Rome
28 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#23 of 3,643 in Rome
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria

Property: Domus Valeria
Address: Via del Babuino 96 | 4th Floor, Apartment 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,703 - ₹ 11,965
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Attic-Floor Apartment (with lift) for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and a large terrace overlooking Rome will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domus Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing