We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #20 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Due to a delay on our behalf, we arrived a day late. We informed staff via e mail and they promptly replied and gave us a warm welcome once we actually arrived. The service was impeccable at all times and very helpful. I can only say good things about this hotel. The location is so handy to Via Nationale, station Republica and the Teatro dell' Opera is virtually across the hotel. It is only a quite new hotel and everything is fresh and very clean. Very comfortable beds, flat screen TV and the bathroom was very roomy and modern. I also liked that it was very quiet, as there is a lot of traffic noise all over Rome and sirens, but we heard nothing all night. After a day sightseeing we enjoyed returning to relax on the roof top terrace with a bottle of wine. I would also recommend the breakfast bar, it is great value and keeps you going before you set off! My only concern is that if this hotel gets too many good ratings, it might be booked out by the time we go next year! There are also a swimming pool and a Fitness Centre, but we have been too busy to use these facilities this time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room faced the view to the Teatro dell' Opera, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beat5rixSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic words about our hotel; we are always happy to read reviews from satisfied guests who understand and appreciate our innovative and hip concept.
However, and to avoid any disappointments from you or from any of our future guests, we ought to let you know that we don’t have a swimming pool or fitness centre. We do have a gym that is open 24/7 and that is free for our guests to use. It is equipped with a sauna and is a very relaxing place to unwind after a day exploring this wonderful city.
We hope this “detail” doesn’t make you change your mind and that you still consider coming back and staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,445 - 2,449 of 4,336 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

After reading all of the wonderful reviews that IQ Roma had received I had a great feeling about this hotel and the actual experience certainly didn't disappoint. I have travelled to Rome twice before and found myself making the same mistakes in particular staying near a tourist trap or way too far from a metro. Taxi experiences had been appalling and I was delighted to receive an email from the hotel willing to organise return transport to and from the airport at a very reasonable cost. Upon arrival to the hotel, we we were greeted and told that our room was not yet ready but there was a locked storage facility for our bags if we would like to explore our surroundings.

The room was modern, with an excellent sized bathroom containing a shower, beday, a hairdryer and toiletries. The bed was comfortable. There was a safe, a mini fridge, air conditioning, Wi Fi and a tv also. It really was very well equipped, was spotlessly clean and the decor was particularly nice. There were big comfy pillows, extra blankets and reading lamps attached to the bed. The only con about the room (and it is not a very big one) is that we depended on artificial light almost the whole time but we were situated on the ground floor. So if you're after sunlight and a view, obviously book higher up.

We availed of breakfast one of the mornings and there was a great selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, cereal, breads, cakes, croissants, juices and coffee. Coffee and cappucino servings in Rome are tiny in comparison to home. I'd say if they came here it would take them a week to drink one of our cappucinos.

The rooftop was extremely comfortable and relaxing with the vending machines just inside. I have to say how impressive the self service vending machines were. Drinks were so cheap. Water was just 50cent and there was a wide variety of aloholic beverages and plastic glasses available at an extremely affordable price. They also had a microwave and a vending machine for bits and pieces such as deodarant, slippers, combs, decks of cards.

The majority of the sights are within walking distance. The Santa Maria Maggiore is less than 5 minute walk one way, Termini is a ten minute walk away and the Collosseum is approximately 25 minutes. The main street Via Nationale is just a short walk to the left of the entrance as you leave and at the very end of the street you enter the Historic Centre. The staff were always willing to oblige with the best directions e.g most scenic routes etc. The Repubblica metro is a five minute walk away also serving the red line which will take you to St. Peter's Square and it's surroundings in a few stops.

This hotel was ideal for a short break. I wouldn't even like to recommend it only to people who are "not too fussy" as I would consider myself extremely fussy when it comes to hotels and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. If you plan on staying in a hotel for a long time when you come to a city like Rome and want room service then you are really missing out. There are some lovely little trattorias a short walk away and some lovely bars also. This hotel was perfect for us and complimented a tremendously enjoyable trip, the best one so far and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nico19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

IQ Hotel was a good choice for my girlfriend and myself. We spent 4 nighs there and got a room at the 4th floor with a terrace. The positive aspects of the hotel was the cleanliness, the location, the roof terrace and the vending machines. What made me not give the hotel top score was that the rooms were somewhat small, the hotel lacked charm and the employees could have been a little more smiling. In addition, we found it peculiar that there was no furniture on the terrace outside the room. It would be perfect to sit out there on sunny evenings. To summarize; the hotel was very near getting a top score from me, so I would recommend it for other travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 4th floor facing the street, those are the only ones with terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you have found our hotel concept to your liking.

As for the size of the rooms which you have found “somewhat small”, we would like to clarify that all our rooms are described on the internet with size and pictures depicting the modern style of the hotel. We understand that to some people a modern hotel might seem without “charm”, however many do appreciate the easiness and non-pretentious atmosphere that iQ has.

Regarding the room terrace without seating furniture, these are actually quite small to accommodate table and chairs. However, there is always the rooftop terrace, free for our Guests to enjoy all-year-round. Furnished with tables and sofas it is the perfect place where to enjoy a nice glass of wine or simply read a book after a long day out.

Said this, we are sorry to hear that you have found our staff not very smiling. All our employees come from a variety of countries and have all an international background. They are especially chosen for their diversity so to bring even more qualities to iQ. We do hope that the impression which you have received from our staff has not diminished the overall atmosphere of your stay.

Looking forward to having you back soon as our Guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Would defintitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rome. This hotel runs on a different spin to most but it definitely all works. It has a handy location to most spots in Rome and once you get to know the place, you can walk anywhere. Rooms were comfortable and it offered a place internally to do our laundry. They have vending machine for a number of
Minibar style items, but the prices are definitely not inflated, very cheap. Had €10 Breakfast each day which was perfect. The hotel is modern and clean and the staff were happy to help with everything. Definitely made out stay in Rome a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here in April 2011.

I booked the hotel as the price I thought for a city centre hotel, over Easter was excellent value and also near to the Termini and within walking distance of a lot of sights.

The concept of the hotel is to do away with the overhead costs that add to your daily room rate. So although there is no serviced bar, there is a huge array of items available by vending machine at good prices that you can take up to a lovely roof terrace to sit at and drink.

The room we had over looked the Opera House and was a good size and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and we had no complaints.

The staff were very friendly and would give helpful advice if needed.

We were asked on our first night there if we would mind moving to their sister hotel, The Artemide due to over booking. They moved us there and back (we were given an amazing room and complimentary champagne and breakfast for our trouble) to fit in with our schedule.

If you are after an all serviced hotel (which usually has the price to match) this will not be the place for you. However if you want a good honest, modern hotel that is well located and priced then this place will suffice. My partner and I found this suited our needs perfectly - we are not the type of people who feel overly comfortable in very swanky hotels being more simple people and we were not made to feel out of our depth at all here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,968 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,270 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,270 in Rome
2,293 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,397 - ₹ 19,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing