We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Driver Guide Service
Ranked #9 of 779 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO ITALY !Customized Tours shows you The Eternal City Of Rome like no one else. Our tours highlight the very best of Italy , We Cotumaze Tours Show you the Enternal City of Rome , Vatican museum , Florence , Naples , Amalfi Coast & Golf Cart Tours in Rome . Delicious wine tastings at select boutique wineries, factory tours and much more. With 20-plus years in the business, we know just which world class spots to show you for maximum enjoyment. Our enthusiastic guides are local experts who will delight you with their wit and knowledge. And no matter which of our affordable tours you choose, you’ll have plenty of time to ask questions, explore and even do a little shopping.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were met on time (even a little early) to start our tour. Our guide Pietro was incredibly knowledgable in history and facts on Rome. He was able to explain in it a way that even interested our 10 and 13 year old kids. It was great to have the explanation of the sites and then be dropped off at the front door of the sites to tour ourselves. It allowed us to stay in places as long as we wanted. We never felt rushed. It was a great way to get a taste of Rome in 8 hours. I would definitely recommend this tour company!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sptravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,545
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience with Driver Guide Services, last week during our stay in Rome. We were fortunate to have Claudio as our driver and guide on a full day trip to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. We cannot say enough about Claudio... he was professional, a good driver, fluent in English and Italian, easy-going and enjoyable to spend the day with. We would never had made the drive to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast on our own, and this day turned out to be a day we will never forget. In Pompeii, Claudio introduced us to our Pompeii expert, Gerrano (spelling?) who was fantastic... full of information and enthusiasm for the history of Pompeii. Claudio then drove us to the restaurant we had requested in Positano for lunch. Everything was perfect, and a table reserved by window was waiting for us, as I had requested. After lunch, Claudio drove us to Sorrento for a little walking around and shopping. He even took the time to walk with us a while and point out a few of his favorite things. We would definitely recommend this service and would also like to thank Ivano and Roberta who answered all of our emails prior to the trip promptly and thoroughly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Christina, Australia-A Roman style of Living”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We booked 2 tours with DGS. Ivano took us for the 7 hour full Rome tour. He took us to over 10 places(Yes,we requested as much of Rome as possible) and added a few other destinations on top of my MASSIVE list of things to see. We are a family of 4 with 2 sons in their early 20's and I really wanted to make it memorable for them. Ivano took us to his fav coffee and taught us how to drink coffee like a true Roman.Drink the small shot of coffee slowly like wine and then drink a bit of plain water so the aroma of the coffee will slither down our throats-pure Heaven! Despite seeing over 12 places, Ivano never rushed us-giving us ample time to take in the sights. Sometimes Ivano had to park across the street and we had to cross the chaotic traffic to see the sights. The 1st time that happened, Ivano casually crossed the streets oblivious to the cars coming at him and just put up his hand to stop the cars.He was like Moses parting the Red Sea! He looked around and we were still too scared to cross the street and Ivano calmly told us,"If you wait for the cars to stop, you will never cross the street." So we held up our hands like Ivano and darted across the street.DGS is the highlight of our tour and I wished they have a global service.It may sound expensive but if you have a group of 3 or more or maybe even 2, I highly recommend DGS. We will have taken 5 days to do what DGS did for us in one day. Ivano not only explained the history with his iPad, he told us about the architecture of the buildings as well. My sons loved it and Laura made the Vatican tour so entertaining.Thank you so much to Roberta and Ivano-you both are truly special and lovely people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 699Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Couldn't have made a better choice for our first visit to Rome. From the prompt pick up, to the keyhole view, tour, traditional lunch, and drop off, everything was perfect. Especially liked the express pass at the Colosseum. Ivano explained the sights with great passion and knowledge. Highly recommended. Would use DGS again without hesitation. Thank you Ivano and Roberta. G/B, Dallas TX.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gb_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seven out of 5 stars”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a fantastic 4- day holiday in Rome and this is not possible without DGS Private Tours. Booked 4 tours with them and was the best decision in our entire Italian tour. FRom booking this tour , thank you Roberta, for getting back to me promptly,and for answering the so many queries that I have , to our tour guides Joseph ( in Florence for recommending the very Florentine resto ,which turned out to be my fave), to Lucia, our local guide in Florence for her expertise and inhistorical info ,she shared with us, to the ever nice , informative and expert ,Viviana, our local guide in the Vatican, who organized our Vatican tour, showing us the very impressive Sistine Chapel before anyone else ( BTW,the IPAd addition is a very nice touch to what ur showing us) and of course, to Claudio, who is so nice, welcoming , accommodating and expert in showing us the magnificent Colleseum inside ant outside. And to Ivano 1 , who drove us to the train station - thank you and to Ivano, the boss, who personally thank us before our tour ends. Grazie DSG. Job Well done.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driver Guide Service also viewed

 

Been to Driver Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing