We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best guide service for Rome”

Driver Guide Service
Ranked #9 of 763 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO ITALY !Customized Tours shows you The Eternal City Of Rome like no one else. Our tours highlight the very best of Italy , We Cotumaze Tours Show you the Enternal City of Rome , Vatican museum , Florence , Naples , Amalfi Coast & Golf Cart Tours in Rome . Delicious wine tastings at select boutique wineries, factory tours and much more. With 20-plus years in the business, we know just which world class spots to show you for maximum enjoyment. Our enthusiastic guides are local experts who will delight you with their wit and knowledge. And no matter which of our affordable tours you choose, you’ll have plenty of time to ask questions, explore and even do a little shopping.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best guide service for Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Ibano picked us up the six of us at our hotel on time in his clean, very comfortable Mercedes van (all the windows sparkled even!) and gave us an amazing tour all OVER Rome, an hour over what we had paid for even, not a complaint from him. He was a historian, has an art degree and used his iPad to show us slides as we went to illustrate his talk. He took us to have "the best espresso in the world" and a wonderful market that is a "must see" as well as all the agreed upon places we had asked for. Enthusiastic and so knowledgeable. Patricia was his guide for us at the Vatican, and excellent also, so informed and personable. My husband has been to Rome several times before and read a lot about the history of it and still learned many new things from the both of them he said. Their guide service made our trip to Rome just perfect and we would highly recommend them. Our group also used the company for a Venice tour and also had a wonderful tour BTW.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RCGG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,527
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1/2 day tour of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Fantastic experience. Ivano did everything that he said that he would do and exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend Ivano and his service. He loves his city and loves showing to others. We were blown away by his knowledge and enthusiasm.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Rome with Ivano! Venice with Andrea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Every one associated with Driver Guide Service (Ivano, Roberta, Andrea, Patricia) were terrific. DGS was recommended to us by a co-worker after their trip to Rome. We had a walking tour with Andrea, in Venice, and then a full day with Ivano in Rome. They both listened to what our desires were for our tours and tailored our days accordingly. We would certainly contact them again on a return trip to Italy and have already given Ivano's cards out to people going to Italy. Thank you!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BamaTraveler439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Six Stars!! - First time to Rome - Fantastic Service!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

DGS is outstanding!! I'd give SIX STARS if I could!!!!

Thanks to all the previous posters on Trip Advisor who have given very accurate descriptions of this service, as that's how I selected them. This was our first trip to Rome and I was a little anxious. From my first email with Roberta, she was very patient, answered all my questions and put my mind at ease.
Everything about the tour was EXACTLY as she described from payment to tour schedule to pick-ups, etc.

We did multiple tours with different guides - Joseph, Vivianna, Claudio. All of them were very courteous, attentive to detail, attentive to our needs and questions, and extremely informative of all sites. We had very nice conversations, and by end of the tour, we felt they were our friends.

I agree with all the posters on their positive commentary. Let me try to add different thoughts.
For me, using a guide service was important because we only had 3 full days in Rome and I wanted to maximize the value. We could've done things on our own, but we would've wasted a lot of time, and there would've been some stress as we tried to figure things out or get the lay of the land. I didn't want to deal with that and having someone know the 'in's and out's' was very helpful, and worth the price. Example - in Rome, Claudio would change our schedule based on lines. Instead of going to our scheduled visit to the Colisseum (where it was raining and there were lines), he took us to the Catacombs (underground, no rain and no line). Later in the day, we did the Colosseum, and there was no rain and no line. There were many examples of this where having an expert guide making adjustments to maximize your time and experience. In addition, you have someone who can put context around all the history and the ancient ruins. Books are incredibly helpful, but we learned more from someone who lives in Rome. We went down alleyways and roads no bus could go, and got to see so much more of Rome than we would've seen on our own or on a bus. We also got first rate recommendations on places to eat whatever your budget. Also, it was incredibly convenient and there were many cases where we would jump out, Joseph or Claudio would stay with the vehicle, we'd take our pics, they'd answer our questions, and we'd get back in. Not to mention avoiding the lines, and in many cases. On the Vatican tour, Vivianna was incredibly knowledgeable and gave us a history lesson of each room, painting, mosaic, tapestries, etc. And she used an ipad to help provide additional support and assistance in understanding everything!!! She then gave us some tips and recommendations for our non-guide adventure in Trastevere. We also did a trip to Pompei with Joseph that was highlighted by a wonderful lunch at Positano in a restaurant overlooking a postcard view of the bay and buildings.


I cannot say enough positive things about this experience. It was first rate all the way and we felt pampered. I highly recommend DGS. I will recommend them to friends and family. And if I ever return to Rome, I will use DGS again!!!

Thank you Ivano, Roberta, Joseph, Vivianna, Claudio and everyone at DGS!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible three days in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were six friends (three couples) on a cruise and were to stop in Italy at Livorno, Civitavecchia and Naples. So I looked up Trip Advisor and found that Driver Guide Service was ranked number one and was highly recommended. So I contacted them, and Roberta and Ivano who are the owners replied immediately.

At each stop we were provided comfortable air conditioned Mercedes vans for the tour and each guide took every effort to meet our expectations.

Upon arriving at Livorno, Giorgio greeted us and took us on a quick tour of Livorno, before we left to see the leaning tower of Pisa. In Pisa, we first drove by the San Maria della Spina and then went to the leaning tower. He told us about the Doumo and the Baptistry and then left us to enjoy the ancient buildings and marvel at how the tower defies gravity. We then drove to Florence. He took us up the hill to the Piazza Michaelangelo to give us a panoramic view of the entire City. We then saw all the various sights including the Academy, the church of Santa Croce and the amazing Piazza della Signoria. At the end of the day we returned to the ship exhausted but happy.

The next day we were received warmly by Ivano himself. At each stop in Rome, Ivano took out his IPad and showed us what the building looked like in its heyday and explained its history. It was great to see the Colosseum come to life and understand what it looked like when it was built, before we got down and saw the ruins of what is left standing today. He showed us the ancient Roman Forum; the relatively more modern Roman buildings including the marvelous one that was built as a memorial to Victor Emmanuel and the ones that Mussolini built. He told us about the Medici family and their influence on Rome. We saw the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and many famous Piazzas including the Piazza di Spagna. We had a quick lunch at a very nice Pizza restaurant which Ivano recommended and then we were off to see the Vatican and it's treasures.

At the Vatican, he introduced us to Isabella who was our guide for the afternoon. She was excellent. She took us around the various rooms of the museum, and explained in detail, very panel in the wall and ceiling of the Sistine Chapel and we ended our tour in St Peter's basilica - Michaelangelo, Raphael, Bernini, ... we saw it all.

Our sincere gratitude to Ivano for making it possible to see so much within the limited time we had in Rome. We had expressed our desire to pick up a bottle of the local wine and had requested he stop at a local wine shop on our way back to the ship. Instead, by the time we got back to the car after seeing the Vatican, he had picked up a bottle of wine which he gifted to us. We were really touched by this gesture.

In Naples, Sergio was our guide and we spent a delightful day driving along the beautiful Amalfi coast. We visited Positano and Sorrento, where we had lunch. We then set off for Pompeii. Again, we were provided an amazing insight into the way of life, of the people of ancient Pompeii, that our guide Marcello described for us. We got to see the Pompeii houses, their forum, restaurants and bars and so on.

Thank you to Ivano and DGS for an incredible three days in Italy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 331Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driver Guide Service also viewed

 

Been to Driver Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing