We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DGS gave us a magnificent tour of Rome!”

Driver Guide Service
Ranked #9 of 801 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WELCOME TO ITALY !Customized Tours shows you The Eternal City Of Rome like no one else. Our tours highlight the very best of Italy , We Cotumaze Tours Show you the Enternal City of Rome , Vatican museum , Florence , Naples , Amalfi Coast & Golf Cart Tours in Rome . Delicious wine tastings at select boutique wineries, factory tours and much more. With 20-plus years in the business, we know just which world class spots to show you for maximum enjoyment. Our enthusiastic guides are local experts who will delight you with their wit and knowledge. And no matter which of our affordable tours you choose, you’ll have plenty of time to ask questions, explore and even do a little shopping.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DGS gave us a magnificent tour of Rome!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Ivano, who picked us (3 couples) up at our cruise ship, was prompt, caring, professional, intelligent, and showed us all of the places we wanted to see.  He was constantly concerned for our comfort and preferences, and we felt like he was a great friend after knowing him only one day!  His price is extremely reasonable, especially when compared with Oceania tours!  His Mercedes van is roomy, air-conditioned, and very clean.  Also, I really appreciated his initial outline of the day so that we could know what to expect.  The tourist sites in Rome are congested, the weather very warm in June, the traffic crazy, and we could not have seen as much without Ivano's expert guidance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,609
    7
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Used "DGS" (Drivers Guide Service) twice for transfers from port to airport in Rome. Professional - Professional - Professional - Beyond Great "PERFECT"!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Driver Guide Service Private Tour in Rome”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

There were six people in our group, who were given an extensive tour of Rome. Our driver, Claudio, was a combination driver, tour guide and historian. We were transported in a Mercedes SUV, which was very comfortable for the six of us. Claudio said he was trained as an artist, but his knowledge of history was unbelievable. He was very personable and took us to the places we wanted to see even if they weren't on the original itinerary. We were on a cruise and only had one day in Rome, but we saw much more at a lower price than the tours offered by the cruise line. We would certainly use DGS in the future and highly recommend them to anyone else visiting Rome.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent Guid Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was our first trip to Rome. We (my wife and two teenage sons) booked DGS and could not have been happier. On the first day, Ivano took us to all the highlights via a very nice Mercedes van. He picked us up at our hotel, right outside of Navona Square. Then he gave us a history lesson on the square. Then we made our way through all the Rome highlights, stopping along the way. For example, when we got to the Spanish steps, he dropped us off at the top and we made our way down the steps and he picked us up at the bottom. The nice thing was that you drove everywhere and hit everything, then you could double back later and take more time if you wanted on your own. He dropped us off at the Collesium which took about 45 minutes. It was spectacular. At lunch he took us to a place near his home that he frequented. It was about 22 Euro a person, but it was a ton of food. A typical Italian meal. Then we finished off with the Catacombs which was our least favorite, only because the priest that gave us the tour was very difficult to hear and understand. But that wasn't Ivano's fault. Ivano is very passionate about his city and great to listen to. The next day, Tereza picked us up at our hotel and we went to the Vatican. It was amazing. She was very knowledgeable. The only issue were the crowds. It was packed, but you have to see it if you are in Rome. She did a good job of getting us through the crowds and still giving us information. The best part of both days is you skip the lines. I cannot over-emphasize how much time this saves you. Overall, I highly recommend DGS.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will LOVE Ivano !”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Fantastic day in Rome! Ivano's passion for his city and country immediately set the mood! His friendliness and warmth is something one doesn't always experience on other tours. He has a vast knowledge of the sites we were privileged to visit. You will be amazed at what you learn. No lines, Ivano had taken care of that. There were four of us and the transportation was very comfortable. We had lunch at a delightful local restaurant - - no tourists, just us! I would highly recommend this company and Ivano - - FIVE stars! Sue and Jim, Texas

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Driver Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing