We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #182 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Guwahati, india
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We ( me and my family) were at Rome from 21st july to 25th July and unfortunately were staying at Hotel Villa Duse. We had the Tower Lodge and the Red Suite to ourselves. The problems we faced were :
1. Water leakage from the Bathroom roof, which was not resolved by the hotel.
2. Air conditioner not working properly.
3. We needed a bucket -- the hotel said they cannot provide it.
4. No availability of milk (Latte) in the room to make tea.
5. No availability of eggs in breakfast. Eggs were provided at extra cost ... 7 Euros for an omelette!!!!
6. The hotel was quite far from the Termini (main Railway station of Rome), and only one bus no. 360 was connected to the hotel from the station. After coming back from the city center / important areas like Spanish steps, etc... the frequency of buses was very limited.
WOULD NEVER SUGGEST ANYONE TO STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Ashutosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duseduse, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Ashutosh18,


We are in receipt of your comments and we would like to apologise if your experience at the Hotel Villa Duse, did not meet your expectations;

However, having investigated the matter, it seems that the water leakage in the bathroom was caused by a problem in the air conditioning system, which was brought to our attention at the 10.30 pm of the last night. We did send a member of our staff to clean up the floor but unfortunately we did not have the possibility to call the maintenance person at that time.

We normally provide “room service” where we are able to serve fresh milk at any time and a bucket; we are extremely sorry if a misunderstanding on this occasion compromised the service you experienced.

We have taken note of your observations regarding the price charged for a portion of eggs (7 euros), but as hotel standards we have decided to provide high quality fresh cooked eggs to our guests! (please consider that our eggs are coming from an “organic farm” called San Bartolomeo!)

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality and the quality we offer, but we are ready to candidly admit our mistakes, that’s why we have decided as a goodwill gesture to apply a discount on your bill at the time of check out.

While apologising for any inconvenience we may have caused, we look forward to welcoming you and your family again at our hotel in the near future and we remain at your complete disposal for any further clarification you may require.

With Best regards.


Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
The Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
311
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just returned from spending 3 nts at the Villa Duse. We booked the 2 patio rooms..one for our kids and one for us. Great place and great staff. Yes, it takes about 45 minutes to get to town, but it is well worth it. The quiet is needed after a busy day in old Rome. This was our haven at the end of the day. The beds are truly superb and a great sleep is guaranteed. Getting there is easy if you take the bus #360 Muse from Termini Station and then get off right by the hotel. Ask Villa Duse for directions. Much cheaper than the taxi's that want to charge you anywhere from 29 to 75 Euros for the short trip. A big thumbs up from us. Marion

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
520 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hotel Villa Duse is just close enough to the city center to make it convenient for tourists, but far enough away to keep you from being disturbed by all of the tourist hubbub. We like to walk so we did not have a problem hiking into town each day to see the sites. It takes about an hour to forty five minutes to walk the five kilometers into town, but if you like exercise like we do, you will enjoy this. You can walk through the lovely park called Villa Borghese to get to the Spanish Steps and then everything is a short walk from there for the most part.

The hotel is situated in a suburban area with lots of condos and homes, and government offices. It is not far from several stores where you can buy local products and also a great pizza restaurant is not far away. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, especially after a day milling around the tourist sites with all of the hordes of folks like us in July. To take a cab to the Colliseum from the hotel will cost you about fifteen euro, not bad if you are splitting it.

The room was gorgeous and comfortable and well decorated. We loved it. There was plenty of room for three of us. We stayed in the Library Suite which had a large bed and a converted sofa bed for the third person. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and comfortable. Only one strange thing was that the handle on the shower door broke while we were there and we expected them to fix it, but no one did. The bed was comfortable as well, and the room was well lit which I love. It was quiet as well.

The breakfast was ample and very delicious. They had everything from granola to fresh fruit, yoghurt, several types of pastries and great coffee, as well as meats and cheese. It was enough to fill us up until dinner time.

The patio was nice and enjoyable after a hard day of sightseeing. The service was good, but I would not say excellent. We felt that it was odd that they did not offer to help us with our luggage when we arrived. Additionally, no one explained anything to us upon check in. We were told there was a happy hour every evening. So we came down for it, and there were open bottles there on the patio with glasses. So we had some drinks, which we thought were included. When we checked out we discovered that we had a bar tab. No one ever told us the drinks were not free. Some staff members were very friendly, but others not as much. It was sort of hit and miss with regards to overall friendliness. The young ladies were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Extremely lovely staff. Very helpful and genuinely sweet. Beautiful place. Even a great coffee shop and sandwich bar on the corner which positively buzzes at lunch time. And the nearby gallery (€7 cab ride) is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My partner and I really got lucky with this hotel. Booking last minute, we were happy to get anything within our price range and boy did this deliver.

The rooms are stunning - romantic ornate furniture, gold trim, huge bed with oh so fluffy pillows ... I spent so much time in that room even when summertime Rome was laying at my feet! The television has non-dubbed English shows and movies that make any homesick traveller perk up.

Breakfast was included in our room price, and consisted of no less than EIGHT freshly baked cake varieties, along with a fresh quiche, cheeses, hams, breads, two types of croissant, yogurt, fruit, cereals and sparkling and still water.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, giving us directions, transport options, restaurant recommendations that were great and seeing us off at 4am for our outward journey.

I believe this hotel would be a treat for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejf1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#92 of 1,256 in Rome
433 reviews
Heart Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
455 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,256 in Rome
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#186 of 1,256 in Rome
864 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,131 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,651 - ₹ 15,761
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing