We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Close Enough to the City Center”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #199 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hotel Villa Duse is just close enough to the city center to make it convenient for tourists, but far enough away to keep you from being disturbed by all of the tourist hubbub. We like to walk so we did not have a problem hiking into town each day to see the sites. It takes about an hour to forty five minutes to walk the five kilometers into town, but if you like exercise like we do, you will enjoy this. You can walk through the lovely park called Villa Borghese to get to the Spanish Steps and then everything is a short walk from there for the most part.

The hotel is situated in a suburban area with lots of condos and homes, and government offices. It is not far from several stores where you can buy local products and also a great pizza restaurant is not far away. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, especially after a day milling around the tourist sites with all of the hordes of folks like us in July. To take a cab to the Colliseum from the hotel will cost you about fifteen euro, not bad if you are splitting it.

The room was gorgeous and comfortable and well decorated. We loved it. There was plenty of room for three of us. We stayed in the Library Suite which had a large bed and a converted sofa bed for the third person. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and comfortable. Only one strange thing was that the handle on the shower door broke while we were there and we expected them to fix it, but no one did. The bed was comfortable as well, and the room was well lit which I love. It was quiet as well.

The breakfast was ample and very delicious. They had everything from granola to fresh fruit, yoghurt, several types of pastries and great coffee, as well as meats and cheese. It was enough to fill us up until dinner time.

The patio was nice and enjoyable after a hard day of sightseeing. The service was good, but I would not say excellent. We felt that it was odd that they did not offer to help us with our luggage when we arrived. Additionally, no one explained anything to us upon check in. We were told there was a happy hour every evening. So we came down for it, and there were open bottles there on the patio with glasses. So we had some drinks, which we thought were included. When we checked out we discovered that we had a bar tab. No one ever told us the drinks were not free. Some staff members were very friendly, but others not as much. It was sort of hit and miss with regards to overall friendliness. The young ladies were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Extremely lovely staff. Very helpful and genuinely sweet. Beautiful place. Even a great coffee shop and sandwich bar on the corner which positively buzzes at lunch time. And the nearby gallery (€7 cab ride) is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My partner and I really got lucky with this hotel. Booking last minute, we were happy to get anything within our price range and boy did this deliver.

The rooms are stunning - romantic ornate furniture, gold trim, huge bed with oh so fluffy pillows ... I spent so much time in that room even when summertime Rome was laying at my feet! The television has non-dubbed English shows and movies that make any homesick traveller perk up.

Breakfast was included in our room price, and consisted of no less than EIGHT freshly baked cake varieties, along with a fresh quiche, cheeses, hams, breads, two types of croissant, yogurt, fruit, cereals and sparkling and still water.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, giving us directions, transport options, restaurant recommendations that were great and seeing us off at 4am for our outward journey.

I believe this hotel would be a treat for anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejf1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hotel Villa Duse met all expectations created by their own website. We were in touch with the hotel staff for a couple of months before visiting Rome and received attentive and friendly advice. The boutique-style hotel is simple but elegant, very clean, and quiet. The neighborhood was safe and convenient to the center of Rome by either long walks, bus, or cab. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We were able to park without great expense right in front of the hotel. We can't imagine a better location for a stay in Rome and would recommend this hotel with qualification.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

just come back from a lovely stay at villa duse july 10th, cant fault anything , the staff were all excellent , very helpfull & went out off there way to make your stay pleasurable, they would recommend decent resaurants & best way to get into rome ect , we sat in the lovely garden every evening with bottle of wine after having dinner , we visited one particular restaurant called la parioli just 15 mins walk away which was excellent , the service & food were spot on & a particular waitress called josie who served us every night was one of the best waitresses i have ever been served by , also one of the best pizzas ever ;

Room Tip: our room looked out on garden & was very quite ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorrentobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Heart Hotel
#145 of 1,271 in Rome
483 reviews
Relais 6
#38 of 1,271 in Rome
1,932 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#41 of 1,271 in Rome
1,202 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,271 in Rome
2,513 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#162 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 7,026 - ₹ 16,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing