We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Close Enough to the City Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #224 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
479 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Just Close Enough to the City Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Hotel Villa Duse is just close enough to the city center to make it convenient for tourists, but far enough away to keep you from being disturbed by all of the tourist hubbub. We like to walk so we did not have a problem hiking into town each day to see the sites. It takes about an hour to forty five minutes to walk the five kilometers into town, but if you like exercise like we do, you will enjoy this. You can walk through the lovely park called Villa Borghese to get to the Spanish Steps and then everything is a short walk from there for the most part.

The hotel is situated in a suburban area with lots of condos and homes, and government offices. It is not far from several stores where you can buy local products and also a great pizza restaurant is not far away. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, especially after a day milling around the tourist sites with all of the hordes of folks like us in July. To take a cab to the Colliseum from the hotel will cost you about fifteen euro, not bad if you are splitting it.

The room was gorgeous and comfortable and well decorated. We loved it. There was plenty of room for three of us. We stayed in the Library Suite which had a large bed and a converted sofa bed for the third person. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and comfortable. Only one strange thing was that the handle on the shower door broke while we were there and we expected them to fix it, but no one did. The bed was comfortable as well, and the room was well lit which I love. It was quiet as well.

The breakfast was ample and very delicious. They had everything from granola to fresh fruit, yoghurt, several types of pastries and great coffee, as well as meats and cheese. It was enough to fill us up until dinner time.

The patio was nice and enjoyable after a hard day of sightseeing. The service was good, but I would not say excellent. We felt that it was odd that they did not offer to help us with our luggage when we arrived. Additionally, no one explained anything to us upon check in. We were told there was a happy hour every evening. So we came down for it, and there were open bottles there on the patio with glasses. So we had some drinks, which we thought were included. When we checked out we discovered that we had a bar tab. No one ever told us the drinks were not free. Some staff members were very friendly, but others not as much. It was sort of hit and miss with regards to overall friendliness. The young ladies were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    112
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
303
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Extremely lovely staff. Very helpful and genuinely sweet. Beautiful place. Even a great coffee shop and sandwich bar on the corner which positively buzzes at lunch time. And the nearby gallery (€7 cab ride) is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My partner and I really got lucky with this hotel. Booking last minute, we were happy to get anything within our price range and boy did this deliver.

The rooms are stunning - romantic ornate furniture, gold trim, huge bed with oh so fluffy pillows ... I spent so much time in that room even when summertime Rome was laying at my feet! The television has non-dubbed English shows and movies that make any homesick traveller perk up.

Breakfast was included in our room price, and consisted of no less than EIGHT freshly baked cake varieties, along with a fresh quiche, cheeses, hams, breads, two types of croissant, yogurt, fruit, cereals and sparkling and still water.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, giving us directions, transport options, restaurant recommendations that were great and seeing us off at 4am for our outward journey.

I believe this hotel would be a treat for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejf1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hotel Villa Duse met all expectations created by their own website. We were in touch with the hotel staff for a couple of months before visiting Rome and received attentive and friendly advice. The boutique-style hotel is simple but elegant, very clean, and quiet. The neighborhood was safe and convenient to the center of Rome by either long walks, bus, or cab. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We were able to park without great expense right in front of the hotel. We can't imagine a better location for a stay in Rome and would recommend this hotel with qualification.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

just come back from a lovely stay at villa duse july 10th, cant fault anything , the staff were all excellent , very helpfull & went out off there way to make your stay pleasurable, they would recommend decent resaurants & best way to get into rome ect , we sat in the lovely garden every evening with bottle of wine after having dinner , we visited one particular restaurant called la parioli just 15 mins walk away which was excellent , the service & food were spot on & a particular waitress called josie who served us every night was one of the best waitresses i have ever been served by , also one of the best pizzas ever ;

Room Tip: our room looked out on garden & was very quite ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorrentobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hearth Hotel
Hearth Hotel
#69 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#32 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#49 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,852 - ₹ 16,317
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing