We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Duse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 710
US$ 530
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 654
US$ 442
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$ 245
US$ 223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 582
US$ 333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 784
US$ 583
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$ 159
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 302
US$ 195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$ 336
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 364
US$ 334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
348
124
21
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
124
21
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate gardenparioli areatower roomcentre of romequiet neighborhoodminute walklovely hotelthe penthousepublic transportsky tvnight's sleepmarble bathroomthe staff were extremely helpfulbus stoppiazza del popoloyogurtrestaurants and shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night before our flight out of Rome. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The staff are helpful and courteous. It is removed from the main tourist sites in Rome. But if you just want to relax and enjoy some time away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRallentando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My fiance and I spent two nights here whilst exploring Rome, we arrived on an early morning train from Austria. I called the hotel to see if we could check in early they said this was no problem and gave very clear instructions on what bus to catch to get to the hotel. The room was clean and well presented and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we absolutely loved this hotel. It is about a 40 minute walk from the hotel to the Spanish steps or you can catch the bus. It was good staying a little further out of town as the restaurants are more reasonably priced for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just returned from a 7-night stay at Hotel Villa Duse. There is no question about its quality. It is a lovely, small, intimate, quiet boutique hotel outside of the main Rome centre. We didn't take the bus, but there is one available to the city centre. It is a 45-minute ride in from the airport. It is generally about a 15-minute taxi ride to most of the major attractions in ancient Rome, including the Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, Trastavere, Vatican City, etc. (Usually about 12-15 Euros). We appreciated getting out of the noise and chaos every day and escaping to our quiet room/terrace but not everyone may want to make that little trek every day.

That is it's only qualification as far as we were concerned. The staff were terrific - everyone so helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet every morning consists of juice, water, tea/coffee, pastries, croissants, yogurt, granola/cereals, cheeses/meats and the best quiche I've ever had. They also will make you hot breakfast if you like - omelette, pancakes, etc. There is not a restaurant but they do have a bar area and room service where you can order drinks, desserts and small meals like salads, sandwiches and very tasty lasagna. There is a laundry service if required. In terms of television, they have basic Italian channels, as well as Sky tv and pay per view - but don't expect a lot of English programming!

We stayed in two of their rooms - the Tower Lodge and Red Junior Suite. They were both lovely. The Tower Lodge is on its own floor (4th) and has lovely windows with a great view and a private terrace and marble shower. The Red Junior Suite is a bigger room also on its own floor (3rd). It has a bigger bed, again with its own private terrace, except it has a marble bathtub/shower. It is a lovely room as well but being an inner room, it doesn't have the windows that the Tower Lodge has.

The district around the hotel is Parioli, we were told the most expensive residential district in Rome. It is relatively quiet - especially compared to the centre of Rome - and we felt very safe. There are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance if you come back to the hotel and are still looking to go out for a nice dinner. There are also 2 cafes literally within steps of the hotel if you want coffee, sandwiches or pastries.

I would recommend this hotel highly to couples - I don't know how suitable it would be for families. But my husband and I loved it and would stay there again without question on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Tower Lodge has great windows/private terrace. Red Junior Suite is bigger with bigger bed and bathtub/private terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We chose this hotel as we read here in Tripadvisor that this hotel is a very nice, quiet, small, perhaps even luxorious little hotel outside of the city center and thus far from the tourist areas. And so it was, and we were very happy with that!

I agree with other reviewers describing the good points with this hotel. We liked this hotel and can fully recommend this hotel.

Many people seem to have an issue with this hotel being out of reach, or difficult to access due to the location. So, I will contribute with a few words on this issue, as I also found info hard to find. Your solution is bus 360. We used the local bus 360 all the time. Coming 'home' from the city, the 360 stops at Via Tommaso Salvini just before the corner of Via Alamanno Morelli. So, you are less than 30m away from the hotel, just cross the street. It is the 2nd stop after passing the Carabinieri HQ (!) at your left. And even if you miss this stop, the next is the final stop at Piazza Muse, so take a few steps back and turn to Via Eleonora Duse, then at next corner left to Via Alamanno Morelli and your hotel is just in front of you.

When heading to the city, walk the 250m to Muse, as you will find a bus waiting there most of the time with perhaps a seat or two vacant! And enjoy the view from Muse to the north! The 360 runs at 10-15 min intervals most of the weekdays, less frequently at weekend.

Consult:
http://trovalinea.atac.roma.it/zoom_in.asp?VediSemafori=off&VediMeb=off&VediParcometri=off&VediFermate=off&VediLinee=off&VediRivendite=off&percorso=360RT&idmtram=53230&xmax=2313941&ymax=4645502&xmin=2311523&ymin=4638638&tipologia=URB&linea=360&circo=NO

We took the Leonardo Express from the airport to Termini. As you step out of the Termini Main Entrance, you will see in front of you, slightly on the left side, the Atac (public transport) Information Kiosk, behind which you will see the street making a slight curve to the right and along this curve is, among others, the 360 stop towards Muse. So, perhaps 100m from the Termini door. We bought our 7-days bus-tram-metro cards (CSI, at 16euro) at a kiosk at the airport, as atac queues at Termini seem to be very long at all times.

To visit the Vatican, take the tram 19 at Piazza Ungheria all the way to its final stop and you're there! You will skip the tourist-packed buses to Vatican from the center of city.

Note that the Restaurant All'Oro, a rising 1 Michelin-star, is at Via Eleonora Duse, just two blocks away from the hotel. We reserved a table two months in advance (only 8 tables!) to secure a gourmet dinner with a walk home!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187791-d1641167-Reviews-All_Oro-Rome_Lazio.html

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a patio as the evenings were already warm enough.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel outside the hustle and bustle of central Rome. What it loses in access to the city (a taxi, bus ride or long walk away) is more than made up for by its quiet, peaceful location - excellent after a day's sightseeing. The staff made us more than welcome - both Julia and Valentina in reception could not do more for us by giving us excellent advice, booking a Vatican tour, suggesting local restaurants(don't miss the Spaghetti de Vognole - clam sauce - or th fish at Restaurant Rossini!), arranging taxis and generally helping us with all the annoying needs of the bewildered tourist. The room was immaculate and comfortable - and exceptionally quiet. We had the best romantic short break we have ever experienced and hope to return in the not too distant future! Thank you all at Hotel Villa Duse. We had a fantastic holiday!! David and Justina. P.S I found my sunglasses case in my suitcase - sorry!!

Room Tip: We had the Library Junior Suite - a lttle more expensive but very romantic for couples.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews