We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, quiet, in a great neighborhood. Perfect after a busy day in Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #202 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant, quiet, in a great neighborhood. Perfect after a busy day in Rome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Duse for two nights, and fell in love with the building right away. Julia and the rest of the ladies at the front desk were very helpful explaining what buses and trams would be of most use to us, and so getting around wasn't difficult. The restaurants close by were numerous and mostly reasonably priced. Right down the street is the Police headquarters, so feeling safe isn't a problem. It is far away from the city center, but if you are willing to ride the bus or take a nice 30 minute walk to Piazza Del Popolo, you will love staying at this hotel. We found this to be an area where a lot of young adults either live or gather, and that added a nice energy to the neighborhood. Not a lot of clubs or anything, but the restaurants were filled with young adults, as were the gelaterias. I can't recommend it for everyone, but if at the end of a hustle and bustle Rome day you would like a little peace and quiet, this hotel is definitely for you.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    113
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
305
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night before our flight out of Rome. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. The staff are helpful and courteous. It is removed from the main tourist sites in Rome. But if you just want to relax and enjoy some time away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRallentando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My fiance and I spent two nights here whilst exploring Rome, we arrived on an early morning train from Austria. I called the hotel to see if we could check in early they said this was no problem and gave very clear instructions on what bus to catch to get to the hotel. The room was clean and well presented and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we absolutely loved this hotel. It is about a 40 minute walk from the hotel to the Spanish steps or you can catch the bus. It was good staying a little further out of town as the restaurants are more reasonably priced for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaibry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just returned from a 7-night stay at Hotel Villa Duse. There is no question about its quality. It is a lovely, small, intimate, quiet boutique hotel outside of the main Rome centre. We didn't take the bus, but there is one available to the city centre. It is a 45-minute ride in from the airport. It is generally about a 15-minute taxi ride to most of the major attractions in ancient Rome, including the Piazza Venezia, Colosseum, Trastavere, Vatican City, etc. (Usually about 12-15 Euros). We appreciated getting out of the noise and chaos every day and escaping to our quiet room/terrace but not everyone may want to make that little trek every day.

That is it's only qualification as far as we were concerned. The staff were terrific - everyone so helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet every morning consists of juice, water, tea/coffee, pastries, croissants, yogurt, granola/cereals, cheeses/meats and the best quiche I've ever had. They also will make you hot breakfast if you like - omelette, pancakes, etc. There is not a restaurant but they do have a bar area and room service where you can order drinks, desserts and small meals like salads, sandwiches and very tasty lasagna. There is a laundry service if required. In terms of television, they have basic Italian channels, as well as Sky tv and pay per view - but don't expect a lot of English programming!

We stayed in two of their rooms - the Tower Lodge and Red Junior Suite. They were both lovely. The Tower Lodge is on its own floor (4th) and has lovely windows with a great view and a private terrace and marble shower. The Red Junior Suite is a bigger room also on its own floor (3rd). It has a bigger bed, again with its own private terrace, except it has a marble bathtub/shower. It is a lovely room as well but being an inner room, it doesn't have the windows that the Tower Lodge has.

The district around the hotel is Parioli, we were told the most expensive residential district in Rome. It is relatively quiet - especially compared to the centre of Rome - and we felt very safe. There are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance if you come back to the hotel and are still looking to go out for a nice dinner. There are also 2 cafes literally within steps of the hotel if you want coffee, sandwiches or pastries.

I would recommend this hotel highly to couples - I don't know how suitable it would be for families. But my husband and I loved it and would stay there again without question on our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Tower Lodge has great windows/private terrace. Red Junior Suite is bigger with bigger bed and batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We chose this hotel as we read here in Tripadvisor that this hotel is a very nice, quiet, small, perhaps even luxorious little hotel outside of the city center and thus far from the tourist areas. And so it was, and we were very happy with that!

I agree with other reviewers describing the good points with this hotel. We liked this hotel and can fully recommend this hotel.

Many people seem to have an issue with this hotel being out of reach, or difficult to access due to the location. So, I will contribute with a few words on this issue, as I also found info hard to find. Your solution is bus 360. We used the local bus 360 all the time. Coming 'home' from the city, the 360 stops at Via Tommaso Salvini just before the corner of Via Alamanno Morelli. So, you are less than 30m away from the hotel, just cross the street. It is the 2nd stop after passing the Carabinieri HQ (!) at your left. And even if you miss this stop, the next is the final stop at Piazza Muse, so take a few steps back and turn to Via Eleonora Duse, then at next corner left to Via Alamanno Morelli and your hotel is just in front of you.

When heading to the city, walk the 250m to Muse, as you will find a bus waiting there most of the time with perhaps a seat or two vacant! And enjoy the view from Muse to the north! The 360 runs at 10-15 min intervals most of the weekdays, less frequently at weekend.

Consult:
http://trovalinea.atac.roma.it/zoom_in.asp?VediSemafori=off&VediMeb=off&VediParcometri=off&VediFermate=off&VediLinee=off&VediRivendite=off&percorso=360RT&idmtram=53230&xmax=2313941&ymax=4645502&xmin=2311523&ymin=4638638&tipologia=URB&linea=360&circo=NO

We took the Leonardo Express from the airport to Termini. As you step out of the Termini Main Entrance, you will see in front of you, slightly on the left side, the Atac (public transport) Information Kiosk, behind which you will see the street making a slight curve to the right and along this curve is, among others, the 360 stop towards Muse. So, perhaps 100m from the Termini door. We bought our 7-days bus-tram-metro cards (CSI, at 16euro) at a kiosk at the airport, as atac queues at Termini seem to be very long at all times.

To visit the Vatican, take the tram 19 at Piazza Ungheria all the way to its final stop and you're there! You will skip the tourist-packed buses to Vatican from the center of city.

Note that the Restaurant All'Oro, a rising 1 Michelin-star, is at Via Eleonora Duse, just two blocks away from the hotel. We reserved a table two months in advance (only 8 tables!) to secure a gourmet dinner with a walk home!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187791-d1641167-Reviews-All_Oro-Rome_Lazio.html

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a patio as the evenings were already warm enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hearth Hotel
#100 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#47 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#169 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Relais 6
#32 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#95 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,878 - ₹ 15,861
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing