We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, affordable lodging with first-rate hosts”
Review of 21 Aprile House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
21 Aprile House
Ranked #96 of 3,690 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple, affordable lodging with first-rate hosts”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This bed and breakfast is simple and practical and the hosts are extremely helpful. It is clean and comfortable. Our room was small but serviceable. For a quick trip to Rome on a budget, it was a good place for us to stay. You must walk up the stairs or take a tiny elevator (lift) to get to the floor where the rooms are located. Davide and his wife, the owners, helped us a great deal with Metro information, booking a Vatican tour, recommending restaurants and calling a taxi for us when we needed to get to the train station. (They also have the cutest little dog, Pepe.) This is a very good value for Rome. The breakfast is adequate, but nothing special. We recommend it, but if you are looking for a luxurious experience, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teverbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    60
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
193
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The room was beautiful and Davide and Lorenza were wonderful hosts. Davide is actually a tour guide for the Vatican so ask him about it! Our only issues were that we were only in Rome for two nights and probably would have preferred to stay somewhere a bit closer to the sights. I also wish they had left us a way to get ahold of them in an emergency as I had the worst allergy attack of my life and couldn't find an open pharmacy on a Sunday. If they were around we could have asked them what to do but we had to fend for ourselves, which was rough and took a few hours to figure out, which was a decent portion of our stay. Other than those minor things, though, the stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpfreit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Our stay here was for 5 nights and there isn't that much more that I can add to the reviews written here, which are all true. The B&B is located in an apartment building - there are three private rooms all on one floor, very private and quiet. There was some morning street noise, not bad, but this is Rome and not the country side. Convenient to public transportation and away from the crowds, which was a blessing as it was busy and touristy. We had the triple room which has a lovely wrap-around veranda with french doors leading out to it. The room and bath are immaculately clean, a little small but perfectly sufficient. There is a safe in the room and free Wi-Fi access. Air conditioning was fine. Breakfast was great - some packaged toasts and pastries, jams and spreads (nutella - yum), with fresh eggs and coffee. They asked every night what we wanted for breakfast and happily prepared it for us at the time that we requested. Davide and Lorenza are helpful, generous and sweet - adorable newlyweds!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This was the start of a months holiday for us and it was a great way to get going, though it set a tough standard for our other accommodation. The room was great with lovely outlook, very spacious, nice bathroom and amenities. the service was fantastic, just right being friendly and personable, but also plenty of privacy. just the most kind and helpful couple who took the time to give us travel advise each day and have a genuine interest in our enjoyment of Rome.
We were right by the bus and an easy walk to the train so very convenient for all Rome offers, but in an area that was much more tranquil and lovely to come home
To. The breakfast each morning was substantial and adjusted for each of us individually, so thoughtful! We will definitely be back here
to.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northshoretravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

21 Aprile House is owned by very friendly and helpful folks with good English skills. They were very welcoming, and provided helpful info about restaurants, using the bus system and subway, nearby grocery and pharmacies, etc. The location is near several embassies and fairly close to Borghese Gardens in a non-touristy part of Rome. Our room was good-sized, with a refrigerator and a nice balcony. This is not a fancy hotel, but a small comfortable B&B with reasonable room rates. Although the building is older, the room is modernized and exceptionally clean. We enjoyed our stay at 21 Aprile House.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKnorsechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santa Costanza
Hotel Santa Costanza
#551 of 1,261 in Rome
789 reviews
4.5 km away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#449 of 1,261 in Rome
1,250 reviews
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Antico Acquedotto
Hotel Antico Acquedotto
#1,005 of 1,261 in Rome
111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Principe Torlonia
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#346 of 1,261 in Rome
426 reviews
12.4 km away
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#488 of 1,261 in Rome
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21 Aprile House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21 Aprile House

Property: 21 Aprile House
Address: Viale Ventuno Aprile 12, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 3,690 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,077 - ₹ 8,676
Hotel Class:3 star — 21 Aprile House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“21 Aprile House” combines the familiarity of a Bed & Breakfast with high class services.It is placed in the quiet and refined “Nomentano” neighborhood, perfectly connected with city center and other attractions.The staff is at your disposal for making your stay in Italy’s capital as much relaxing and pleasurable possible, so that you can fully enjoy the days spent in the City.Our offer:• Large and bright rooms, private bathroom with hairdryer and courtesy kit. Rooms are carefully cleaned daily.• Full Italian breakfast served at your door at requested time• In all rooms: LCD TV, air conditioning, minibar, safe, free wi-fi• Touristic information on cultural itinerary, events and restaurants selected with curiosity, to make you feel in Rome as home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 21 Aprile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing