We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel malu roma” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Malu'

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Malu'
Ranked #766 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“hotel malu roma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here last June. Excellent location at a great price. 5minute walk to the Termini and lots of restaurants and shops. Makes for a good base to explore Roma. Clean and roomy, helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygurl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    52
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
68
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bennebroek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

From March 19 to March 23 we have stayed in Hotel Malu. The staff and the owners were very kind and friendly. It was as if they welcomed us at their home.
The hotel is not what you expect from a hotel. The entrance of the hotel is at the first floor of an appartment building and can be reached by elevator or stairway to be reached from a court yard separated from the street and closed as from 20.00 hours. Of course, you’ll get a key so that you can come in whenever you like. Please note, that the stairway and the elevator does not give you a luxury feeling. However, once inside the hotel, there is nothing wrong with it. It has a cozy reception with a wifi connection. Our room was at the street side, very neat, tidy and very well cleaned. Nice beds, a small TV with local network and also a small but complete bathroom.
Breakfast is from 08.00 to 10. something. The lady owner starts with your breakfast as soon as you come in. Fresh home made croissants, omelets, coffee, a complete choice of cheese and meat as well as jam, Nutella etc.

The two of us together paid € 106 per night including continental breakfast and 10% VAT. Local tax was € 4 per night to be paid in cash.

The hotel is at a 5 minutes walking distance from the Leonardo Express, the train that starts at Fiumicino (Leonardo da Vinci) Airport and without any stop ends at Termini station. From Termini station you can reach any point of interest by bus or subway. (In our case, we walked (and walked and walked and …) For € 1 per person you can buy a ticket for the bus. Please note that it is very crowed in the bus as it leaves the station and therefore impossible to buy your ticket in the bus. It is better to buy your ticket at the mobile ticket office in front of the busses.

The hotel and Termini are located in the middle of a very lively area of the city. Many hotels, restaurants, shops etc., but also many street salesman with all kind of rubbish and beggars.

Conclusion.
Hotel Malu is a nice hotel where you can stay for an acceptable price in a friendly and kind atmosphere and enjoy an excellent breakfast. All the major points of interest, which are more or less located very close to each other, can be reached from the hotel by foot but also by bus.
(I also addressed the negative review about this hotel which concerned a fire during the night. It will certainly not surprise anyone that the staff of the hotel has a different view on things.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fransen-Bennebroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is ideally located very close to the Termini in Rome, a very short walk. Although close to the station it was still a very quiet hotel, located off a large, lovely courtyard. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and informative. The room was also very quiet, which is sometimes hard to find in Rome.
Worthy of note, we forgot our camera in the room, being in a hurry to leave. After realizing our error, we called the hotel in a panic, knowing full well it was possible that the staff could say it wasn't found. Arianna and Dana couldn't have been more responsive. They went to the Post Office very quickly and had to go more than once since the P.O.s in Italy just aren't as efficient as in the States. Our camera arrived safely a few days later. Our vacation could have ended on a bad note but thanks to the staff at Hotel Malu our wonderful memories of Italy remain intact. We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Salsad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

If you need to be near termini train station for an early flight you cant get much closer than his. We stayed for one night before leaving on a 7am flight to portugal so the location was awesome. For 75 euros the room was better than you'd expect. Pretty decent size and so was the bathroom. We had a room facing the courtyard and there was no outside noise at all coming in. Only downer was the older woman who i think was saying there being really loud and in the corridor until after 1 am talking on her phone and stomping up and down the corridor. There is no one in reception after 8pm so there wasn't anyone to tell her to be quiet or for us to even speak to about it. Would stay here again for a short stopover in rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here with 3 other couples, as one part of our Italy travel in early October. The host Ivan, was most gracious, and very helpful and informative. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day stay, and the convenient location of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank govsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Igea Hotel
Igea Hotel
#736 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortorillo
Hotel Cortorillo
#1,126 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#446 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel RomAntica
Hotel RomAntica
#525 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Esquilino
Giorgina
Giorgina
#694 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Esquilino
A Roman Tale B&B
A Roman Tale B&B
#271 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malu'? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malu'

Property: Hotel Malu'
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,948 - ₹ 12,724
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malù is a small family hotel situated in the center of Rome, close to Termini Station, train, metro and bus terminal. It has just been refurbished so you will find all the facilities you may need to make the most of your holiday and your stay in Rome. The position is ideal to visit the most famous sights of Rome: Colosseo, Fori Imperiali, Spanish Steps, Pantheon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing