We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”
Review of Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc
Ranked #92 of 12,469 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 58 - US$ 83
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Description: On the romantic corner of Via di Ripetta, at the heart of the Eternal City, Ad Hoc restaurant in Rome is the ideal place to enjoy pleasant moments of relaxation complemented by the traditional tastes and ancient aromas of Roman and Mediterranean cuisine. An intimate dining destination for all seasons, you can expect a warm greeting at Ad Hoc restaurant in Rome before taking your seat to enjoy high quality cuisine, skilfully prepared with the freshest fish, meat and seasonal game. Truffle all the year with a dedicated menu. Chef Marco Casentini insists on taking no shortcuts with the quality of his ingredients, and the chef's passion for the light cuisine he prepares makes him confident that each dish is worth the wait. Ad Hoc restaurant is also proud of its wine cellar. Compiled from continuous and careful research into the best labels, the wine list showcases 800 wines .
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had great time, food and wine were great, service wa outstanding, the testing menu was out of this world, me and my family had a blast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzerRezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barmax, Proprietario at Ad Hoc, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
A blast. how can j thank you for this word. just thank you, thank you very much. j'm really happy you enjoyed our restaurant and our tasting menus. And our service too. Is the best for our work.
thank you again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,344
    761
    275
    106
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant & wine”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Go and get the menu with the wine pairings. Another of the rare places where we felt the service wanted to be there, with you. Food was delicious, they did make a special menu for our dietary limitations. Awesome!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Easy to make a reservation here on Tripadvisor, and got 10% off the bill at the end. Excellent atmosphere and very good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heggheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Ad Hoc. We were celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary...very good choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonKrishna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our dining experience at Ad Hoc”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Read all the reviews on how good this rest was.... and this is my honest report
Make an internet booking and got a quick reply on my booking for 7.30, 4th August
I told them is was a special night for my wife and when we arrived on the dot at 7.30....was shown to a very private table with roses and curtains....wow. (was told they have only one table like this... really special).
Sadly.....after sitting for half hour, the heat was unbearable to enjoy our welcome drink....I asked for another table at the main dinning area but was told all are fully booked. The waitress managed to find us a table (right below a aircon unit)...yahoooo...our night was saved.

Much better air circulation, but I noticed the cooling unit was set at 27 degs?....question I would like to ask...are Italian dinners prefer a warm dining atmosphere?....at 27 deg setting is not a cool setting with a full room of diners?

Back to the food...I had the black truffle tasting and my wife when for the main course beef fillet carpaccio.
Black truffle was served with every dish from starter to dessert....wonderful and the wine pairing was great.
Sad to say my wife's beef serving was tough (like cutting into rubber and still can't cut thru")

Overall the place is nice but the waiting was a bit too long...7.30 and left at 10.00.. the air-conditioning was almost non existence with a full dinning room.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ad Hoc? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing