We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the bait and switch.. and rude desk person”
Review of Hotel Best Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Best Roma
Ranked #785 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
sonoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of the bait and switch.. and rude desk person”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I want to preface this review with saying that we are very agreeable people. We don't complain unless things are really horrible. I am trusting and feel that generally people in customer service want to be pleasant and accommodating. I worked in a customer facing jobs for years so I know it can be difficult. I try not to be a difficult customer.

We had booked 3 nights at Hotel Best Roma as the final nights in Italy. This was our first time to Italy so I used a travel agent, thankfully.

After travelling several hours by train and walking to the hotel in the heat, all I wanted was a nice shower, fresh clothes and to start my sightseeing of Rome. We arrived at the hotel and were told that our room was unavailable due to maintenance and that they were sending us to a different hotel, owned by the same company. We were assured that the accomodations were comparable. The other hotel seemed further away from things but being agreeable people we said ok. They paid for a taxi, though not enough so the driver was crazily trying to make it there for the 10 euro they gave him.

The place they sent us reminded me of a flop house in New York. Being a reasonable person, I went upstairs anyway because who knows, maybe it would be ok. It was confusing at first that the hotel was actually on the second floor. It's located in a building which houses businesses and apartments. The lobby was teeny tiny and it felt like a Youth Hostel. The musty old smell permeated everywhere, I could even smell it on my clothes afterwards. The so-called breakfast room was 4 small tables. Our room was on the fifth floor. We were informed they lock up at 7pm and we would only be able to get back to our room by buzzing for someone.

I took a shower then went to ask for a better room, or if they could put me back in the hotel I had actually reserved. The man at the desk said they had no other rooms. I went back to my room and waited until I could call my travel agent. Luckily they have customer support on Sundays. I was very upset about the whole situation. My dream vacation had taken a nose dive.

After explaining the situation to her, she was able to resolve it within 2 hours, but they said they would not have a room until the next day. We were so distraught and felt so unsafe there, all we did was stay in our room. The next morning at breakfast, which was the worst breakfast I have ever been served at a hotel, the desk clerk informed us he would move our bags while we went out sightseeing. Yeah right! We insisted, we would stay with our bags and they would move us both as quickly as possible.

At around noon, the room was ready and we went back to Best Roma. The desk clerk was polite and apologetic. The room was wonderful, everything we had expected, but we had already lost an entire day of our vacation. We went out for a late lunch and walked around a little then came back to relax. Later that afternoon I went down to ask for 2 more pillows and some ice. I was informed I could not have extra pillows and when I challenged him he asked for my room number. The ice he said I needed to have a container for, I pointed to the plastic cups and he reluctantly brought me two small cups with ice in them.

We waited for our pillows... and waited... then finally called reception where we were informed that they did not have any extra pillows until the next day. This is the most absurd thing I had ever heard. I almost asked him if I needed to call my travel agent to get him to give me extra pillows!! So day 2 in Rome was over and I was looking forward to a bad night's sleep. I have sleep issues and need two pillows.

The next morning I asked again, different clerk...the nicer one, if I could have 2 extra pillows. He said yes of course right away. I told him of the evening's exchange with the other clerk and he was also a bit shocked. He said of course they have extra pillows. So here we were, not having slept well, only day to sight see in Rome and now I have this feeling the other clerk doesn't like me or something. I decided to have the nice clerk take care of the airport shuttle for us before we headed out, who knows what the night clerk would have done? Probably would have told me they couldn't arrange a shuttle.

Oh yes the evening before, we had wanted a bottle of wine from the bar. Apparently they didn't have all the bottles in stock, only a few, and of course not the less expensive ones. He brought us the bottle. I asked if he was going to open it and could we have glasses. He seemed very put out by this. Then we said we were going to the "garden" to drink it. More exasperation from him but he did finally show up with the opened bottle and some snacks.

The next night, we also ordered a bottle of wine. He was a little more agreeable but not much. The day clerk had offered to pay for our bottle of wine earlier. The night clerk informed us of that after we were all done and leaving. He said his manager had just called to say we didn't have to pay for that evening bottle. Really? at 10pm your manager called you about my bottle of wine?

Overall I would have rated this hotel with a 4 or 5. It was everything I expected when I was finally settled in. Unfortunately, the night clerk's crappy service combined with them causing me to waste much of my time in Rome dealing with my hotel situation made me rate it so low. I paid for a 4 star hotel, specifically choosing that one out of the list offered by my agent. They tried to send me to a 3 star "budget" hotel which was half the price. I tried to find a way to contact their management directly but alas, no email address other than the info one which I cannot be guaranteed would ever get to a manager, so I am using a more public forum to voice my concerns and disappointment.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the garden which was a nice view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrrlGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    190
    107
    48
    41
See reviews for
73
281
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights and this was definitely not a four star hotel! The room was extremely tiny and although it had some charming touches like the tray ceiling, chandelier, I would not recommend this to anyone. The shower door did not close all the way so there was a flood in the bathroom everytime we used it. The pillows were like concrete blocks.The wifi is 3 euro/day but it is extremely unreliable and lost connection every five minutes. Breakfast is included but after seeing they just covered the leftover food with a cloth the night before, we were too afraid to try it the next morning. Location is a little shady, we were not comfortable staying out too late since we had to walk back to our hotel. It is close enough to the Manzoni train stop, about a 15-20 minute walk from Termini and the Colosseum.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fj874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Solihull, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel is just as it looks in the photos, very clean & fresh. Staff can't do enough to help you. Breakfast choice is fantastic & always well stocked with fresh produce.
The only consideration is it is located on the far side of Rome, 20-25 mins walk through a tired area to the main termini (rail terminal) where many tour buses start their tour. The area does not feel "dodgey" it just looks tired. I travelled with my 65 year old mum and she wasn't phased, it was just a tatty area.
Near to hotel with 3 mins walk you have 4-5 decent restaurants/trattorias so you can dine locally at the end of a long day! ( turn right out of the hotel and right again). The Colusseum is about a 25 min walk from hotel.
Generally the location is a little bit far out, but it ensured we had a quiet restful sleep, whereas if you were in central Roma, you'd pay alot more and have traffic & siren noise to contend with.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyB0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel in May 2012. Due to hip problems, I experience a lot of pain when walking for any distance, so was really impressed with the location. I even managed to walk to and from the colosseum! It's a relatively short stroll to Rome Termini from which you can get bus, tram, metro and train links to anywhere in the city. There are also a couple of metro stations closer, a tram stop very close to the hotel and frequent buses.

The hotel itself is very clean and new, marble everywhere. The staff are very friendly and helpful, a map was provided for us if we asked directions, with bus/metro/tram, whatever and out destination marked by the receptionist. We are from the UK, so the room was about as big as one of our double bedrooms at home. Very nicely furnished, nice ensuite. Yes, there is no purpose built bar, but if you want this and/or entertainment, there are plenty of places close by. The same goes for the lack of a restaurant, there are some very nice restaurants just a couple of streets away. The public areas provided were comfortable. I think most guests at the hotel were like ourselves and were out and about exploring most of the time as we never experienced any of the public ares being overcrowded. A little noise from the trams rattling up the street could be heard from our room, but I was so tired it didn't bother me.

All in all, a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at this hotel, and if I ever return to Rome I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from a trip to Rome, Venice and cruise of the Greek Islands. We were a party of 6 and were very satisfied with this hotel. Yes, rooms are a little small, but who spends that much time in the room anyway? Pleasantly surprised at how updated the bathrooms were! Rooms, lobby and breakfast area were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good spread with basic foods and drinks. The outside garden area was wonderful for an evening drink but pretty pricey! Staff were all very helpful, especially JonLuca. We got two recommendations for restaurants very close by and both were moderatly priced and very friendly. Even got a complimentary bruschetta (sp) because we mentioned the hotel. We did walk to many sites, including Colesseum. Short distance to Metro and we rode it frequently during our 3 day stay. Front desk staff gave us maps and clear directions on anywhere we wanted to go. Warning: we were very careful about our purses and wallets but my husband's wallet was lifted on the Metro. My daughter confronted who she thought took it and I think it helped. His wallet was found outside the subway just a few minutes after he reported it stolen. It was missing his cash, but credit cards and ID were intact. The wallet was returned by a very nice family who saw it on the sidewalk and called the Hotel Best Roma because he had one of their cards in the wallet. I would suggest that everyone in your party put a hotel card in your purse or wallet. i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome who wants a nice hotel that is reasonably priced!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indyann52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#609 of 1,257 in Rome
222 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#506 of 1,257 in Rome
898 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#287 of 1,257 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Invictus Roma
Hotel Invictus Roma
#753 of 1,257 in Rome
239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#440 of 1,257 in Rome
406 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#329 of 1,257 in Rome
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Roma

Property: Hotel Best Roma
Address: Via di Porta Maggiore 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #785 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,948 - ₹ 14,032
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL BEST ROMA is located in the heart of Rome, between the Colosseum and the cathedrals of San Giovanni in Laterano and Santa Maria Maggiore, at a short distance from the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain and the stunning Piazza di Spagna. Completed in September 2008, this fully renewed four-star hotel combines beauty, quality, and style in such a way as to complement the glorious city around it. The HOTEL BEST ROMA is the perfect place to stay in Rome, thanks to its welcoming atmosphere, the elegance of its premises, its lovely terrace and inner courtyard. Our staff will provide you with flawless service, and will be very happy to meet your requests. Fully refurbished and made with attention to the smallest details, the HOTEL BEST ROMA offers its guests antique-style rooms with air conditioning. Amenities include satellite LCD televisions, DVD players (on request), writing tables, Wi-Fi connection, minibars, and direct-dial phones. In our marble bathrooms you can find bathrobes, slippers, phones and hair dryers. The HOTEL BEST ROMA also offers you peace of mind in terms of security and privacy for you and your family, with modern anti-intruder systems, 24-hour staff, safety deposit boxes, soundproofing and fire alarms. The HOTEL BEST ROMA provides its guests with Wireless Internet connection in every room and in all common areas. Guests can enjoy a complimentary continental buffet breakfast each morning. The hotel is located within a set of very charming gardens, offering its guests a place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Guests can also access a magnificent outdoor terrace to enjoy the tranquility of a warm Roman evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing