We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #592 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

beautiful hotel, great location, excellent service. we were more than happy with our stay here and will stay again next time we visit rome. we stayed at many wonderful places with great service throughout italy, and moses fountain edged them all out with my vote for the absolute best service. we requested the red room when we booked, and the red room was what we got. it was very romantic and so nice that we had trouble leaving the room to explore rome. worth every bit of trouble in trying to find it...it's just a quiet wooden door on the side of the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    78
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
274
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Moses Fountain for two nights, but will surely return on our next visit to Rome. Lapo gave us expert advise on where to eat, places to go and how to get there, he even gave us his cell number in case we got lost.
Surely this is an unusual place to some because it has no physical reception, but we didn't have any trouble with that since Lapo and the rest of the staff where so helpful with everything.
The hotel is walking distance (if you like walking) to some great attractions and it is secluded enough from the hustle and bustle of city life so that you do enjoy a good night sleep.
The room we stayed in was wonderful, ac worked fine and the breakfast was served on demand (it is a typical European breakfast mind you, coffee, croissants, butter, cheese and ham, juice and fruit) and it could be eaten in the lovely terrace or in the room.
I think this hotel is a great place to stay for young couples.

Room Tip: Three room categories, we choose the middle priced one and the room was great. If you want extra com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkyHuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lapo, you're a gentleman. You helped make our last 4 nights in Italy a true pleasure!! Really great hotel. Theresa's sofa is a wonderful room. Great steam room/shower you can stay in for ages. Nice location. Away from the madness and a good walk to it all helps burn off the pasta!! Very chilled. Beats the hell out of the starchy 5 star hotels where you pay for services you never use. Its like your own flat in Rome with an exceptional concierge!! Lovely cappuccino in the morning, free minibar feels so much more valuable than its monetary value. Lapo also knows then nicest places to eat....ask him!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scrimmy807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I came here on the first leg of our honeymoon in Italy. Like other reviewers have said the hotel is hard to find. If you are going there it is located behind the Fontana del Mosè and across from the Santa Maria della Vittoria church. It is very convenient to the Roma Termini train station which has a train line to the the airport. It is also close to the Republica metro stop and a 10 minute walk to the Spanish steps.

Upon arriving there was some confusion about our reservation, they had it under my wife's name, but for our trouble they gave us an upgraded room. The room had Cathedral ceilings and very nice new fixtures. We even had a little balcony off of our room. Lapo, the manager, was very helpful with finding places to eat and giving suggestions of things to do. Also on our last day we figured out that you could even change the language settings on the TV to watch in English! Another tip is that the white controllers operate the blinds which are automatic.

The breakfast was a more than ample continental breakfast that always had fresh fruit and even a salad. There was so much we even took to taking some of the packaged biscuits they provided along with us for snacks.

The best part of the hotel is that while it is centrally located, once you are inside you feel like you have escaped from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The city is definitely very busy, and we felt so much more relaxed each day when we got back to the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior room is definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a perfect hideaway in Rome, although you have to be ready to climb stairs to get there. If that's not a problem, stay here!!!

The location is great: 10 minute walk from the train station, which is also where you will arrive if you take the train from the airport. I walked from the train station without problems. Mind you, this used to be a very rough neighborhood, but no longer. In fact, this hotel is literally around the corner from the 5 star St. Regis, so that tells you all you need to know. It backs onto the lovely Moses Fountain--which explains its name.

It's a bit hard to find, because the door to the hotel is a wooden door in a wall that is marked with an inconspicuous sign. I walked past it two or three times before asking the doorman at the fancy hotel around the corner where it was. He condescendingly pointed the way.

Once you ring the bell, you will be buzzed in and confronted by two flights of steps. Close the door behind you, and if someone doesn't greet you, just leave your bags and climb up the stairs. They will then go down and fetch your bags.

The rooms are clean and modern and air conditioned (I was there during a heat wave). Breakfast is on the porch. You are across the street from a church with one of Bernini's most famous scultures, and walking distance from everything in central Rome.

Also, given the prices in Rome, this place is a real bargain. Mind you, there is no pool, no room service, etc. It is a place to stay--which is all I want in a hotel since I am there to sleep and not much more. They were, however, very helpful in terms of directions and suggestions for places to eat.

Incidentally, ask to be shown the inner workings of the Moses Fountain from the inside which can be accessed only through the hotel. Fascinating!

I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#126 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#153 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#287 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#205 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#404 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#130 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Property: Hotel Moses Fountain
Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#279 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,708 - ₹ 13,077
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing