We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Queit Hideaway from a Busy City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moses Fountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #491 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Queit Hideaway from a Busy City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I came here on the first leg of our honeymoon in Italy. Like other reviewers have said the hotel is hard to find. If you are going there it is located behind the Fontana del Mosè and across from the Santa Maria della Vittoria church. It is very convenient to the Roma Termini train station which has a train line to the the airport. It is also close to the Republica metro stop and a 10 minute walk to the Spanish steps.

Upon arriving there was some confusion about our reservation, they had it under my wife's name, but for our trouble they gave us an upgraded room. The room had Cathedral ceilings and very nice new fixtures. We even had a little balcony off of our room. Lapo, the manager, was very helpful with finding places to eat and giving suggestions of things to do. Also on our last day we figured out that you could even change the language settings on the TV to watch in English! Another tip is that the white controllers operate the blinds which are automatic.

The breakfast was a more than ample continental breakfast that always had fresh fruit and even a salad. There was so much we even took to taking some of the packaged biscuits they provided along with us for snacks.

The best part of the hotel is that while it is centrally located, once you are inside you feel like you have escaped from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The city is definitely very busy, and we felt so much more relaxed each day when we got back to the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior room is definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    77
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
270
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a perfect hideaway in Rome, although you have to be ready to climb stairs to get there. If that's not a problem, stay here!!!

The location is great: 10 minute walk from the train station, which is also where you will arrive if you take the train from the airport. I walked from the train station without problems. Mind you, this used to be a very rough neighborhood, but no longer. In fact, this hotel is literally around the corner from the 5 star St. Regis, so that tells you all you need to know. It backs onto the lovely Moses Fountain--which explains its name.

It's a bit hard to find, because the door to the hotel is a wooden door in a wall that is marked with an inconspicuous sign. I walked past it two or three times before asking the doorman at the fancy hotel around the corner where it was. He condescendingly pointed the way.

Once you ring the bell, you will be buzzed in and confronted by two flights of steps. Close the door behind you, and if someone doesn't greet you, just leave your bags and climb up the stairs. They will then go down and fetch your bags.

The rooms are clean and modern and air conditioned (I was there during a heat wave). Breakfast is on the porch. You are across the street from a church with one of Bernini's most famous scultures, and walking distance from everything in central Rome.

Also, given the prices in Rome, this place is a real bargain. Mind you, there is no pool, no room service, etc. It is a place to stay--which is all I want in a hotel since I am there to sleep and not much more. They were, however, very helpful in terms of directions and suggestions for places to eat.

Incidentally, ask to be shown the inner workings of the Moses Fountain from the inside which can be accessed only through the hotel. Fascinating!

I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in June for 3 night in the Moses Fountain hotel. Admittedly, the hotel and me got off on the wrong foot. Upon arrival, I was walking packed with my luggage to the hotel. While standing in front of closed doors, I realized I could not walk to the reception, because there was no physical reception. Starting getting upset and several calls later Andrea (the manager) luckily showed up and helped me to settle in. Which lead to the second situation of the day. Considering the amount of money spent for the room, my expectations were high and dissapointed. I was told the room was already upgraded, however, it looked to me like a 3 star hotel room for a 5 star price. Not more, not less. Expressing my dissatisfaction, Andrea was so friendly to assign me a new room (luxury suite) which was more appropriate and even included a turkish bath. As a summary, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, still I believe it is overpriced considering the rooms and amenities, I would therefore rather prefer a different spot to stay for my next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: I stayed at "Theresa", which includes a Turkish bath and a shower in the same room. Enjoya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came here for the first stop on our honeymoon. If you don't know the city and you are taking a taxi from the airport, be sure to have the address handy! The unassuming wooden door on Via 20 Settembre may fool you!

We walked up the stairs to Air Conditioned heaven, and were met by the young proprietor, who eagerly pointed us to great restaurants and local Roman amenities. BTW, we were never disappointed with his suggestions.

Our stay included breakfast, TV (with ESPN America!), AC a well-appointed room (especially for Europe) and a very attentive staff. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to have a fun time in Rome.

We would only caution travelers who cannot do stairs: there is no elevator. The steps are not difficult, but there are more than a few.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed only one night - but enjoyed it very much. We had the upper room (Turtle, I think it is). Very clean and nice. Bathroom was very modern. Proprietor was nice and helpful as well.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GTOLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#165 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#389 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#162 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Roma Boutique Hotel
Roma Boutique Hotel
#177 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Property: Hotel Moses Fountain
Address: Via 20 Settembre 98 L, 187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#241 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,802 - ₹ 10,768
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing