We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
176
116
15
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
116
15
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza navonaadjacent restaurantliving areaclean and friendly hotelbig apartmentwalking distancetaxi standwell equipped kitchenperfect locationvittorio emanuelelarge showerbed and pillowsthe main tourist attractionspastriesstreet noisebus stopthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Located on a small alley, the hotel is identified by a small and discreet sign. The location is great with easy walking distance to many of the sites we wanted to see, including the Vatican. There is a taxi stand very nearby, too. The bed was comfortable, the room charming. I often find there is not enough room for personal items in hotel bathrooms and here there is a small bureau with pullout baskets to put everything in. At night there is some street noise, but not enough to be disturbing. The included breakfast is good. However, the staff is here for limited hours. The handle on the bathroom door was broken and it took three days to fix. The air conditioner didn't work at all well and then started dripping onto my suitcase and the floor. The lighting is too dim. The management seems friendly, but disorganized and not terribly caring about running the place. This could be a nice little inn, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DHDUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Seems it has also happened to other travellers.
They said that our room had some technical problems so they couldn't receive us. They still had more rooms available, but they didn't want to upgrade us. They offered a room in another hotel instead, but it was far in Vatican City. We lost all our afternoon (we were already traveling) trying to find something well located and nice for the same price. Obviously not easy at the last minute.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Alejandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We arrived in Italy on Monday as part of a week long trip to different cities - starting with Milan. We received an email at 2pm re-confirming our booking, ensuring us all was fine and they looked forward to welcoming us on the Friday. Two hours later, we received another email saying the hotel had been over booked and our reservation had been cancelled, but payment had been taken. We were already in the country and now had no where to stay in Rome and were due to fly there in 3 days time, not only that but our money had been taken. An alternative apartment was offered but it was much further out from the area we had chosen, the standard of the apartment was no where near what we had booked and it seemed suspicious as there was only one review and one picture of it on TripAdvisor.

As two young girls in our early 20's we had spent a long time carefully choosing a hotel with lots of positive reviews and that was in a safe location for us. We were devastated but also so worried as we thought we wouldn't be able to find another hotel in time, leaving us stranded.

Luckily my mum who was home in the UK managed to ring hotels.com who we had made the booking through. After three hours on the phone they managed to find us an available room in the same area for the duration of our stay and they covered the additional charges as the hotel was more expensive.

Thanks to my mum doing this and hotels.com being helpful and managing to do this, our holiday was saved. But it was horrible to go through, took up a lot of time and stress. We spent our first day and night in Milan panicking and unable to relax and enjoy ourselves because of this and were worried about what we were going to get hotel-wise when we got to Rome as of course, it was a gamble.

Thankfully it all turned out ok due to this, but because of this - I would definitely NOT recommend Palazzo Olivia. We were incredibly disappointed and distressed by their poor organisation. I would however recommend the hotel that we stayed in in the end, Hotel Locanda Cairoli.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank natashadp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

What a perfect place to stay while visiting Rome. The hotel is central so we could walk to all of the sights we wanted to see (vatican, forum and colosseum, trevi fountain, jewish ghetto, Piazza Garibaldi). And you are just 2 blocks from Piazza Navona (plaza with 3 fountains) so you always have good places to eat. The rooms were very comfortable and unique and the staff was courteous. We would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor so we had a small balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wernertnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This hotel is unassuming and is located on a small alley street. It looks like an entrance to someone's home. It has apartments inside. My apartment was clean and cute. Separate small kitchen/living area from the bedroom. I felt like a local. When you walk out, you are less than five minutes to Piazza Navona on one side of a main street, Vittorio Emanuele and Campo di Fiori on the other side of the street. It took 20 minutes to walk to the Vatican/St. Peters and about the same to colosseum in the opposite direction. The apartment has a cute little breakfast room with a nice selection for breakfast. This also becomes a restaurant at night. The price is very reasonable for what you get. This is now my favorite place to stay in Rome. Great location, helpful and friendly staff and affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews