We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel / apartment in Rome”
Review of La Piccola Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Piccola Maison
Ranked #17 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hotel / apartment in Rome”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very nice little hotel near the Barbereini metro stop, though walkable to all major sites - even to the Vatican which was about 30-35 minutes on foot from here, everything else 5-20 min walk (and you are walking through so much other history in the process!) I had the feeling it was a converted apartment - the rooms were more spacious than I expected for a 3 star hotel and my other experiences in Europe, thoughtful decor that bumped it above bare-bones accommodations , water and refrigerator in each room, and staff with many helpful suggestions. I felt a little more like I had rented an apartment rather than stay in a hotel, which I really enjoy when I travel, with the exception that the rooms were turned over and cleaned each day. :) We travelled over easter and frankly this place was the least expensive place and had the best reviews of other comparably priced places, which made me a little nervous that we might get something that looked different than the pictures online. But it was faithful to its online presentation, clean and safe. I usually go with Lonely Planet recommended places as I have found them to be very reliable in several countries for budget accommodations, but had found this otherwise. When I got the new Rome edition - this place was actually one of their "top choices." Would recommend if you are looking for a place under $200/ night, plan to spend most of the day sightseeing, but would like to have a comfortable place to crash in the city during the day if you have your fill of art and culture.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    86
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
128
413
118
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is the first time we visit Europe, so we don't know what to expect. Most of the hotels near attractions are very expensive and have bad reviews. I followed a stream of recomendations and found this B&B.The manager Giorgio is very friendly and speaks good English. You can ask him anything by email and he will reply you the next day. We took his advise using a cab he arranged for us, he greeted us at the front door. He booked us in a one bedroom with queen bed and a sofa bed in the living room on the first floor. The room is very clean and furniture is pretty new. We have two bathrooms, one dining space and a kitchen area with sink, frig and microwave. The whole unit is very roomy. He gave us a map that already marked all the must see attractions and directions to get there. He also wrote down top three restaurants and ice cream shops and marked on the map. The location of the place is not in the center of the attractions but within walking distance. It is good, because you don't have groups of people coming through your place and make loud noises all the time. The hotel has a service lady, her name is Mara. She is very lovely and helpful. If you need anything, you can call Giorgio or you can walk up to her office on the second floor. The whole experience with this hotel is the best. We had a wonderful time in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasonSang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almont, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Piccola Maison from April 1st through the 4th. My main concerns while looking for a place to stay in Rome were that it was in a safe area and that it was close to major attractions. This hotel definitly fit both of these requirements. Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps were a 5 min walk, while The Pantheon and Campo di Fiore were about a 10 minute walk. Getting to the Vatican was made easy by taking the Metro which is right outside the doors to this hotel. We ate breakfast most mornings at Peppy's or White Bar, which are nice places to go just around the corner.
The room itself was very nice and clean. We stayed in the small room (#4) with a private detached bathroom. Both were very clean.
One of the best parts of our stay here was the service. Giorgio was not only helpful when we got to Rome but also a few months before. He helped me with any question I had about our trip since I decided not to go with a tour group. Mara was also very helpful while we were there with helping us with getting around the city.
Overall, this was a great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very nice little hotel with perfect location and friendly & helpful staff; nice atmosphere, very clean. La Piccola Maison exceeded our expectations Loved this place! Next time I'm in Rome I will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamara_dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piccola Maison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piccola Maison

Property: La Piccola Maison
Address: Via Dei Cappuccini 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,962 - ₹ 13,923
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Piccola Maison is located in one of the most elegant areas of Rome, the famous Via Veneto. The location is ideal (historical center) and the rooms have been completely renovated. Easy walking distance from major sightseeing spots and main sites of interests (the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese, the Pantheon, etc.). The modern style and the fresh design make the place the best choice for anyone who wants to be in a prestigious atmosphere with convenient prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Piccola Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Piccola Maison Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing