We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$ 860
US$ 625
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 1,192
US$ 959
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 299
US$ 280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$ 443
US$ 349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 249
US$ 211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Condotti Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$ 371
US$ 336
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 1,221
US$ 1,167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 2,360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 636
US$ 480
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
296
91
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
91
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain ticketslocal stationthe nearest train stationcentre of romefree shuttle servicemini breakqueen sizeevery morningfamily run hotela great place to staythree night stayfriendly hoteleasy accessroom was spacioustrevi fountainmontebellotoothbrush
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After reading some of the reviews from other travelers, we weren't sure what to expect, but this hotel was overall a GREAT choice! It's not far from the city center, there's an AWESOME running/biking path just a few blocks away that takes you straight into the city if you choose to do so. The breakfast was a nice selection of pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurt and juices, and staff were prompt in requesting your coffee choices each morning. Fabrizio, the owner, was so helpful immediately upon our arrival, helped us chart out places to park and then walk around the city, and overall made is feel at home. The rooms and the grounds were clean, attractive, and definitely made for a pleasant stay. The only drawbacks we saw were the tiny bathrooms and the lack of a mini-fridge in the room. Other than those two things, everything else was great! Thanks to Fabrizio and his staff for a great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Castle for 3 nights recently and were extremely happy there. The owner Fabrizio was excellent and was so helpful from the moment we booked our stay. I had a few questions about how to book Sistine Chapel and Colosseum tickets and from the get go gave great information in a timely fashion. I don't think I waited more than half an hour for an email response to my questions. Amazing! When we got there the hotel was immaculate, spotless, looks newly built, good size rooms, great bathroom, aircon worked like a dream, no issues whatsoever. The pool was fantastic, lots of comfy beds to lie on and shaded area with seats and tables in case you wanted it. As the hotel is about 8km from the centre Fabrizio gave us a lift to the station each day so we could start our day nice and easily, this really does make this hotel unbelievably convenient. The train takes about 15 minutes so we were in the centre of Rome very quickly and with the brilliant map we were given on arrival we were able to easily make our way to all the amazing sights. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choices from sweet to savoury, cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls, hams, cheese, fruit, fruit juice etc and we had a lovely cappuccino each morning too, which I believe were complimentary. One night we didn't fancy going back into town for dinner so Fabrizio said if we were happy to wait until 8pm (when he finished his shift) he would drive us to a good restaurant 2kms away, this was most appreciated! And he asked the staff to arrange us a taxi when we had finished our meal. Things felt very simple and comfortable at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it!! I would love to go back to Rome and I'd love to stay here again. I cannot fault this place at all!! This is a family business that started over 30 years ago (maybe even more) and they treat their guests as though they are family too, nothing is too much trouble. Well done Fabrizio and Stefano for making this part of our holiday really amazing, Mark and I are so grateful :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was one of our best experiences with a hotel both in Europe and the United States. We stayed for 5 nights and were very happy with our hotel selection. The hotel is family-run, and everyone is very dedicated to ensuring a pleasant stay. In the morning there is a delicious breakfast of pastries, yogurt, meat, cheese, and cereal along with coffee drinks of your choice (beautiful cappucinos!). The room was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a large patio. We really liked the personalized and homey experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to our friends.

The only drawback is the location, which is about 9 km from the city center (about 30 minutes by public transit, which can be inconvenient if you wish to return to your room in the middle of the day). We were offered rides to the nearest train station by which we could inexpensively (1.5 Euro) access the Rome city center every morning, which helped quite a bit. The staff really work to make sure you have transportation to access whatever you need.

There isn't much in the area (in terms of places to eat), so we spent pretty much all of our time in city center. The staff were very helpful in recommending things to do and provided us a tourist map that was helpful in getting around Rome.

Great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castle hotel over the last weekend, and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were really super clean. Almost looked like new.. i suggest you take the deluxe room.. the price is not very different from the standard room and it seemed recently renovated..
The train station is quite reachable and the hotel owners are very keen on driving you to the station and helping with directions. However we also took a taxi, and we paid only 20 Euro to get to downtown. I suggest you take the train in the morning to go to the city center, and then take a taxi on your way back.. You will be tired, and the trains are quite full of people returning from work in the afternoon..
Over all we were really satisfied with the stay at the hotel, and we loved the clean swimming pool.. I dont write more the details, which you can read in the previous reviews..
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best choice
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanaGajtandzievova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Dana,

thank you for your positive review about our Hotel Castle.

We are glad to see you had an enjoyable time in Rome.

It is very rewarding for us to read the feedbacks from our satisfied guests.

We are glad you enjoyed our swimming pool, where you can relax, sunbath and sip a nice drink on the sun!

Thank you also for the nice words about the room, we are sure future travelers will find it useful.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and we invite you to contact us directly for any further inquiry or information.

Regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at hotel castle for three nights and loved our choice. We knew that we were going to stay outside the city since we hired a car and knew we would be using public transport to see Rome. We chose this hotel for a couple of different reasons and we were not disappointed. The first thing you are struck with is how friendly and accommodating the staff are. As many have said, it is a family run hotel and you can tell in how much pride they all take in ensuring it is a great stay. On our way to the city on the first day, the two sons ensured that we knew exactly where we were going, provided us with all the information and maps and even drove us to the train station. The commute was simple, easy and relatively quick. Coming back after long days to the pool was especially refreshing. The hotel is clean, spacious and newly renovated. A great stay!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews