We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb small hotel with personal service and easy access to centre of Rome”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #141 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb small hotel with personal service and easy access to centre of Rome”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Castle hotel is a great place to stay if you want somewhere to retreat to after a hectic day sight seeing. It has a great pool area with cushioned loungers and covered seating. The standard rooms were very comfortable; excellent shower and all the fittings looked new. Fabrizio, the owner, is very welcoming and gave personal service and advise on sights to see and how to get there. Getting into Rome centre is a 15 min train ride and fabrizio gave us a lift to the station each day. We used a 100 min ticket called a BIT which cost 1.50€ and gave you unlimited use of public transport for that time- this meant you could get from hotel to Collosseum( train + metro/bus117 from Piazza Popolo). We took train home on two evening and got a taxi on 2 other occasions when we were further from the train stayion( 25€ approx). Limited food is available at the hotel during the evening, but they do offers basic pasta dishes at a very reasonse price. All in all we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Creationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    86
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
189
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After reading some of the reviews from other travelers, we weren't sure what to expect, but this hotel was overall a GREAT choice! It's not far from the city center, there's an AWESOME running/biking path just a few blocks away that takes you straight into the city if you choose to do so. The breakfast was a nice selection of pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurt and juices, and staff were prompt in requesting your coffee choices each morning. Fabrizio, the owner, was so helpful immediately upon our arrival, helped us chart out places to park and then walk around the city, and overall made is feel at home. The rooms and the grounds were clean, attractive, and definitely made for a pleasant stay. The only drawbacks we saw were the tiny bathrooms and the lack of a mini-fridge in the room. Other than those two things, everything else was great! Thanks to Fabrizio and his staff for a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Castle for 3 nights recently and were extremely happy there. The owner Fabrizio was excellent and was so helpful from the moment we booked our stay. I had a few questions about how to book Sistine Chapel and Colosseum tickets and from the get go gave great information in a timely fashion. I don't think I waited more than half an hour for an email response to my questions. Amazing! When we got there the hotel was immaculate, spotless, looks newly built, good size rooms, great bathroom, aircon worked like a dream, no issues whatsoever. The pool was fantastic, lots of comfy beds to lie on and shaded area with seats and tables in case you wanted it. As the hotel is about 8km from the centre Fabrizio gave us a lift to the station each day so we could start our day nice and easily, this really does make this hotel unbelievably convenient. The train takes about 15 minutes so we were in the centre of Rome very quickly and with the brilliant map we were given on arrival we were able to easily make our way to all the amazing sights. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choices from sweet to savoury, cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls, hams, cheese, fruit, fruit juice etc and we had a lovely cappuccino each morning too, which I believe were complimentary. One night we didn't fancy going back into town for dinner so Fabrizio said if we were happy to wait until 8pm (when he finished his shift) he would drive us to a good restaurant 2kms away, this was most appreciated! And he asked the staff to arrange us a taxi when we had finished our meal. Things felt very simple and comfortable at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it!! I would love to go back to Rome and I'd love to stay here again. I cannot fault this place at all!! This is a family business that started over 30 years ago (maybe even more) and they treat their guests as though they are family too, nothing is too much trouble. Well done Fabrizio and Stefano for making this part of our holiday really amazing, Mark and I are so grateful :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was one of our best experiences with a hotel both in Europe and the United States. We stayed for 5 nights and were very happy with our hotel selection. The hotel is family-run, and everyone is very dedicated to ensuring a pleasant stay. In the morning there is a delicious breakfast of pastries, yogurt, meat, cheese, and cereal along with coffee drinks of your choice (beautiful cappucinos!). The room was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a large patio. We really liked the personalized and homey experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to our friends.

The only drawback is the location, which is about 9 km from the city center (about 30 minutes by public transit, which can be inconvenient if you wish to return to your room in the middle of the day). We were offered rides to the nearest train station by which we could inexpensively (1.5 Euro) access the Rome city center every morning, which helped quite a bit. The staff really work to make sure you have transportation to access whatever you need.

There isn't much in the area (in terms of places to eat), so we spent pretty much all of our time in city center. The staff were very helpful in recommending things to do and provided us a tourist map that was helpful in getting around Rome.

Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castle hotel over the last weekend, and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were really super clean. Almost looked like new.. i suggest you take the deluxe room.. the price is not very different from the standard room and it seemed recently renovated..
The train station is quite reachable and the hotel owners are very keen on driving you to the station and helping with directions. However we also took a taxi, and we paid only 20 Euro to get to downtown. I suggest you take the train in the morning to go to the city center, and then take a taxi on your way back.. You will be tired, and the trains are quite full of people returning from work in the afternoon..
Over all we were really satisfied with the stay at the hotel, and we loved the clean swimming pool.. I dont write more the details, which you can read in the previous reviews..
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanaGajtandzievova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Dana,

thank you for your positive review about our Hotel Castle.

We are glad to see you had an enjoyable time in Rome.

It is very rewarding for us to read the feedbacks from our satisfied guests.

We are glad you enjoyed our swimming pool, where you can relax, sunbath and sip a nice drink on the sun!

Thank you also for the nice words about the room, we are sure future travelers will find it useful.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and we invite you to contact us directly for any further inquiry or information.

Regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#120 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#156 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolo Borgo
#293 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#219 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 7,252
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing