We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No food envy - every dish delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matermatuta

Matermatuta
Reserve with
Matermatuta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 12,135 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 35 - US$ 90
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Monti
Description: 42 Seats divided into 2 rooms furnished in 70's glam style.Mediterranean cousine, especially fish, with selected and strictly seasonal products, it does not fail to wink to the traditional Roman dishes.The wine list is constantly evolving, careful to offer Italian excellence in the right quality / price ratio.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No food envy - every dish delicious”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I live in Rome and I am usually quite sceptical about what scores high on TA. But this restaurant is well deserved. Very interesting dishes with unusual combinations of tastes. Cappacio with mustard and strawberry sauce was delicious. Desserts were a bit disappointing but I think this was just because the other courses had set the standard very high. Great friendly service. Strange decor but a nice change from what you would normally find in Rome. A bit more expensive than a lot of places but worth it for the excellent food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Matermatuta, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hi
thanks a lot for your review on TA.
Thanks for the compliments about the quality of the food and thanks for the criticism of desserts because we can grow up only knowing what we have to change.
I hope to see you soon in our restaurant.
Bets regards
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    313
    64
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastico”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

My wife saw it on here and she was right to pick it. Locals eat here so thats a good sign. We had a special menu which gave us different samples of their menu and because of the staff and the cool looking place we didnt mind paying the price. One of the best restaurants we have been in rome and there is many the food is great.

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Find - Walking Distance from Termini Area.”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

From the chic decor to the creative dishes to the personable owner Stefano - this place is excellent. We enjoyed the 5-10 minute walk from our hotel just off Republica metro stop. We had the tuna tartare, clam gnocchi in truffle sauce, the sea bass entree, and chocolate mousse desert. All dishes we're unique and creative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the gnocchi and sea bass. Also had a half bottle of wine on the suggestion of the owner. Total bill was 65 euro... Very good value for the food. After dinner we walked to a nearby fountain in a mini plaza (5 minute walk on the street that runs parallel to Milano) and enjoyed a drink by the fountain with a young crowd. Great experience. We may do it again tomorrow!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palermo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Matermatuta, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Hi,
thanks so much for you review on TA.
It was a great pleasure for us to have you in our restaurant.
I hope to see you again when you'll be back in Rome.
Best Regards
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved it !!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the food was amazing, unique, presented beautifully and fresh!
the service was lukewarm, but the food made up for it big time

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in rome”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

After being in Rome for a week and feeling disappointed with the food, we decided to look at trip adviser and found this amazing restaurant. The interior is very cool and the food was excellent, we had the shrimp, gnocchi with clams & truffle, steak and the dark chocolate mouse. Stephan the owner was very charasmatic and will make sure you have an enjoyable meal and that everything is to a high standard. Our only disappointment is that we found this restaurant on our last night in Rome, as we would of loved to of had more dinners here. If you want to have a fantastic gourmet meal, this is your place. 10 out of 10 from us. We even got a big pile of business cards for our hotel so that more people go to this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Matermatuta, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Melanie
Thanks so much for your review on TA.
It's a great pleasure for me and my girlfriend to have found your review. I remember you! You were the two guys from Australia. I hope to see you next time you'll be in Rome!
Best regards
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matermatuta also viewed

 

Been to Matermatuta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing