We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #419 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Nice and helpful staff. Clean room and comfortable beds. The hotel is located near the tourist sights. 15-20 minutes walk to the colosseum, Spanish steps and the piazza nevona square. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dthorsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    228
    73
    16
    14
See reviews for
141
318
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have booked the Hotel Opera Roma for 2 nights stay on 28 & 29 Mar. When we checked in, the hotel staff told us that we were needed to switch to Hotel Sonya, their sister hotel, since their computer system and air-condition was out of order. We have no way but to accept their offer since we have paid the room price to the booking online. When we claimed for the price difference from the hotel, the staff said that they've upgraded us to the superior room in which was not. We also discovered that we were being cheated since the staff in Hotel Sonya told us that they quite often exchange guest in between them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Booked two nights at the main property Hotel Sonya but arrived to early in the morning to check in. So we left our luggage and headed out to explore Rome. When we returned hours later exhausted we found we had been upgraded to a suite up the block in the Hotel Opera. With an abundance of room, comfortable king size bed, jetted shower and a whirlpool tub we enjoyed our days and nights in luxury. The staff was outstanding, reliable and accommodating. Each morning we enjoyed the typical Italian breakfast and coffee. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great location and awesome quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turistik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I use TripAdvisor to choose all my hotels and this is the first time I have ever completely disagreed with the majority of reviews. This place was so bad that my husband and I switched to a different hotel within an hour of check in!

First, the entrance is hard to find. We hauled our luggage around Rome for much longer than we needed to because the hotel is a little buried. It is in a good part of town (close to the train station and Via Nazionale), but on a small side street with little signage. I was immediately concerned when there were bars over the doors and we had to be buzzed in.

The lobby was small but the gentleman at check in was very friendly. However, our room was the major problem. I think we got room 102 that people have warned about in other reviews. I'm convinced it's a converted closet. We saw one room with a room number and then a tiny door next to it with no room number, just labeled "private". That was our room! It was so small that we could not lay our suitcases down to open them. Literally. And to walk to the bathroom, I had to walk OVER the bed because I couldn't squeeze by the space between the end of the bed and the "closet". I'm 4'11" and weigh 115 pounds. If I can't squeeze by, that's saying a lot! We tried to be optimistic and my husband opted to take a shower to start fresh. About 60 seconds into his shower, the bathroom almost flooded because the shower drain was so backed up. He had to turn off the shower every minute for a minute to let it drain before repeating the cycle. We had had enough and immediately went to another hotel around the corner on Nazionale to book a new room. (Sidenote: We had a great stay there - see my other reviews!) We then notified the front desk we'd be departing and, to their credit, the man was very sorry and repeatedly tried to upgrade us to stay. BUT why would you put someone in a bad room in the first place? Bad business and we will not be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was not a hotel like you would find at home. It is a small reception area with a small breakfast room just off it, in a building that has ordinary apartments in it. The Hotel owns two floors, in saying that the rooms are lovely, they are clean and well furnished with a mini bar that is very reasonably priced. Were this hotel scores high in my opinion is the very friendly and obliging staff, Lito in the reception was great he gave us a map with all the sights marked of with the easiest routes to and from the hotel with bus numbers to always get us back to the hotel. He ordered taxis when we needed them and stored our bags on the last day. The girl in the breakfast room was great she made the most wonderful coffees and teas any way you liked them with seconds and thirds even, on the last day when my daughter came down late just before our taxi arrived she rushed to get her coffee and a croissant and insisted she ate it so she would not be going out on an empty stomach, they were all so thoughtful. As long as you know it is not going to be a Jurys, but a lovely little Italian hotel then you won't be disapointed with the location or the staff or the good clean rooms. All the sights are about a 10-15 minute walk, the only time we used transport was to go to the Vatican and the pantheon everything else was an easy walk, just to let my fellow Irish travellers know the food in the Irish pub around the corner is not what you would want, stick to the little Italian street cafes or the Macdonalds across the road, if you want something familiar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#234 of 1,256 in Rome
1,463 reviews
Monti
The Opera Hotel
The Opera Hotel
#699 of 1,256 in Rome
191 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#500 of 1,256 in Rome
440 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#118 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Property: Hotel Opera Roma
Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,206 - ₹ 24,113
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing