We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #423 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our first trip to Rome. Excellent friendly staff who were very courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean and well kept with heating that we could control and a kettle, hairdryer and fridge. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel is in a great location- about 5 mins easy walk from the main 'terminii' but very near to the city . .no more than 10-15 mins and across the road from the opera. Would definately return ! !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    225
    72
    16
    14
See reviews for
141
315
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We have just arrived back home in spain and I couldnt wait to write the review...We stayed 3 nights at this hotel,it is our 6th visit to rome,and we have stayed in two 4star hotels that wasnt as good as this one,the staff were exceptional you would think it was there business the way nothing is to much for them...a credit to the owners. The breakfast is very good,large choice....we had room 207,above average size,very warm and cosy,with lots of hot water and a whirlpool bath.....I had a sneak preview of the suite room and did it have that wow factor...A must for the next visit..Hotel is well located for all the sites......would highly recommend.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronessbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was moved here down the street when Hotel Sonya did not have a properly heated room for me! (I believe they share management). I can state that the staff at both properties are sweet, charming and helpful -- must thank Angela at Hotel Opera Roma for her many kindnesses and the unsolicited capuccino. What a darling she is! Front desk peeps also molto gentile. While neither a 4-star nor 5-star place, this hotel does have certain small touches I like -- kettle in the room with tea/coffee selection, free internet for guests in reception, and a lift. The room was not large, but clean and bed was fine. Unfortunately, they use hangers that come out of little hooks in the ceiling, to prevent theft -- they are placed rather high up and in trying to get one down, it fell and banged me square in the nose. The lift is old but works when you close the door. Location is good for shopping, touring and eating, it only takes a day or 2 to become oriented to Centro Storico......and I must say, the rates this month were phenomenal... all in all, a good deal. Grazie.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpsturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights after a month long holiday around Europe and could not have asked for a better hotel. We arrived at Termini station late one night and decided to walk to the Hotel - it wasn't too far, however it is quite dark and scary around the station at night (a note for solo travelers), however we stuck to the main streets and found the hotel with reasonable ease.

The gentleman that works at night is absolutely lovely!!! He was so warm and friendly on our arrival, helped us to our room and after staying in a number of B&B's and hostal type accommodation we were so pleased when he opened the door to a large beautiful room and large bathroom (we booked a double room with private bathroom). Air-conditioned, beautiful marble floors and well the bathroom was great - after travelling for a month we were both hoping for a room that was not too small and we were not disappointed. I had requested a room with a balcony overlooking the street and it was quite lovely.

The hotel is in a good location - we walked most places and loved getting lost in the streets of Rome and finding beautiful places to eat. It was so nice to come back to the hotel at the end of the day, freshen up and then head out for dinner somewhere. I would recommend trying Hostaria Romana - an absolutely awesome restaurant - must try the carbonara and the buffalo mozzarella (I still dream about these dishes often!!). We went their twice because we loved it so much - we walked there from the hotel (as with most places in Rome)!!! Google it to find the specific location!

A few things to note: if you are accustomed to large hotels, this might not be exactly what you are used to, it is a number of rooms on levels of a beautiful building that comprise of Hotel Opera (not one large building that is solely a hotel), the air-con is a must when travelling to Rome in summer, there is free wireless, TV with cable (not many english channels), breakfast in the morning (unfortunately you will need to rely on other reviews on this point, we slept in and missed it most mornings!).

Also - we took advantage of the airport transfer for 40 Euro when leaving Hotel Opera - it was great (albeit a bit scary driving in Rome!!!) - we were picked up by a gentleman (he looked like Karl Lagerfield!) in a lovely black Lexus 4WD and off we were to the airport. In retrospect, I wished we had have used this when we arrived at Fiumicino, as we arrived late in the evening and the trains from the airport to Termini are not that regular and it was busy and really for 40 Euro at that time of night being picked up and driven to your hotel door is well worth it. This is offered as a service through Hotel Opera.

We loved Rome and this hotel - we look forward to returning to both in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagneplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My family and I (5 adults) spent a wonderful trip in Rome in December 2011 and our stay at the Hotel Opera Roma was a wonderful experience and I strongly recommend the hotel. This is not an institutional hotel, not lavish but comfortable, inviting, and very convenient to any where you want to go in Rome. The rooms were small but comfortable, clean and especially of note is the great service and professional of the hotel staff, in particular the Front Desk. There is WiFi accessible in all the guest room and the lobby (where there also are two computer with printer access), in-room safe, confirmable beds, a mini-bar, cable TV, AC, and a speaking clean bathrooms in the guest rooms. There also is a small elevator. The people at the Front Desk are committed to making your stay pleasant and memorable. They are concerned, professional, responsive and communicative. Prior to arriving I had emailed them often and got immediate and helpful\ responses. You also can arrange airport pick-ups through them (with a company they use) and you pay the driver directly. Again, very reliable.
The hotel is directly across the street from the Opera House in an area with numerous small restaurants and cafes. A block down is Via Nazionale, a major street with adorable shopping and eateries, and two short blocks from the hotel is the Republicca Metro Station and from there you can reach anywhere in Rome. For those who like walks, you can walk to the Trevi Fountain and the Victor Emmanuele Monument. And regarding the bill, I chose to pay in Euros and received a 5% discount. Overall, the Hotel Opera Roma is a gem of a small hotel and one that I would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Via Firenze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiHIBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#235 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Monti
The Opera Hotel
The Opera Hotel
#712 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#483 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#397 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Property: Hotel Opera Roma
Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,947 - ₹ 22,883
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing