We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest hotel to the Roman Forum and Coliseum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori
Ranked #984 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This typical european style hotel has comfortable rooms, old-fashioned furniture, tiny elevator, great rooftop restaurant where you can start your day with a nice breakfast while enjoying the most magnificent view of the ruins of the past emperors. Close to the Caracalla Thermae where Romans use to go for relaxation in the public baths - and where you might enjoy a concert or opera music.

Room Tip: Avoid lower room on front of the hotel: the adjoining bars clientèle can be raucous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2015

The hotel is perfectly located just a few minutes walk from the coliseum. It is simple, no restaurant, no lift, small rooms (at least the one we had) but the staff is very friendly and very helpful.
The room had an air conditioner but no control unit for it. When plugged in it was very effective but very noisy. During our stay it was very hot so we had a choice between unbearable heat or unbearable noise. We chose to sleep with open windows and since the hotel is in the centre there is lots of noise.
I recommend ear plugs to anyone staying there.
But special thanks to Roberto in the reception for advice and always offering coffee, and also Elena for the helpful advice on getting the bus to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid room #5 (Tiberio) due to is small size. Also, earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Contact with the hotel from time of enquiry to turning up at the door was good, reception staff even called me to make sure I was on time for arrival (probably wanted to finish work for the evening rather than making sure I was okay).
On arrival he then helped us with bags which was just as well as this hotel is in a block of other businesses and the rooms are on the 4th floor. There is a lift but it appears it is for decoration rather than being of any use.

Friendly welcome once in, offered coffee etc. Amazed at other comments from visitor blaming the hotel staff for not being able to speak English, heads up folks, YOU ARE IN ITALY! When in Rome and all that, if you cannot speak Italian then don't put them down for not speaking English. We had no issues, one member spoke fine to us in English and the woman spoke Italian but we managed to get over what we wanted and was fine that we left our bags at the hotel on the departure day while we visited attractions and picked them up later.

Room, hmmmm, we were in the one at the very end of the corridor and as other mention there is a noise issue. Traffic and people, restaurant just outside in the square behind the hotel and cars/scooters at all hours. There is also the gas water heater that is in the bathroom that gets fired up when someone wants hot water. This seems to be linked to at least 1 other room as well as fired up when we were not using hot water.
Room was comfortable enough, just noisy.

Breakfast for me was a bit light. I travel quite a lot in Italy and normally there are more cold meats and cheeses but here there was a few cheap cheese options but no meats, quite a good choice of pastries and fruit juices though.

The best thing about this hotel is location. When I booked, I saw all the positive and negative comments and decided that although it was not a 5 star, it was clean and had no significant issues I could not live with. Walk out the front door and you already have the choice or restaurants, within 5 minutes walk either direction you must have the choice of a dozen easily. Colosseum is a 10 minute stroll away, the opposite direction takes you towards the Vittoria and all the other attractions further along. Location is the strongest point of this hotel, if you can put up with some noise or you are a heavy sleeper then it should be high on your list but it's not perfect by a long way.

Second best thing was the staff, tons of advice on where to go, places to eat etc and more than happy to pass on information and advice to make the most of our time in Rome as well as being friendly. Good job.

Room Tip: I don't think it matter what room you get, you will have flights of steps to go up and there wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

This was a quaint little establishment on the 3rd floor I think. There wasn't a lift for the people staying at hotel but the staff hauled the luggage and were very gracious. Breakfast was good and typical. They also offered coffee anytime of day and fruit, juice and other drinks during the day. The location is an easy walk, (maybe 3 blocks total) from the Coliseum and Palintine Hill. Good restaurants very close by. Laundrymat close as is the subway and bus stops. Price was a bit highter than we paid other places but it was Roma after all! Bathroom in the room was very nice with a nice size shower!!! Quiet, good a/c. Internet didn't work too good in the room but was great in the office area a floor down.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto the "alley" area, the street off the main street and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Great location, wonderful staff, all friendly, everything perfect. the best holiday of my life! I will return next year with my wife. I greet with joy Paola, Roberto and the director. They gave me a lot of advice

Room Tip: We slept in the room "julius caesar " and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Johannes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#645 of 1,271 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#261 of 1,271 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#557 of 1,271 in Rome
223 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
595 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#763 of 1,271 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori

Address: Via Cavour 294, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #984 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: ₹ 4,385 - ₹ 11,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, close to the Fori Imperiali, from whose windows are possible to see the tower of the Campidoglio Straight, is in perfect style Ancient Imperial Roma and it is destined to the most demanding clients that can give up nothing, even in the most fascinating city of the world: ROMA. Conditioned air, phone, internet access, plasma SAT TV, safety box, hairdryer, minibar, restaurant. The structure is very close to the metro stations Cavour and Colosseo and about 1 km from Termini station and easily accessible by all means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foro Romano Imperatori Hotel Rome
Foro Romano Imperatori Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing