We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo Vesuviano Giovan Battista Alfano
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Sad

At the end of our tour, we stopped by here where several artifacts are stored as well as many of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sue M
,
Williamsburg, Virginia
Very Moving

What an excellent half day we had at Pompeii and the displays are very moving and fascinating at... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
tony n
,
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Read all 134 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pompeii
from US$ 72.30
More Info
from US$ 57.80
More Info
from US$ 138.80
More Info
from US$ 98.30
More Info
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
81
38
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
38
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poor souls pompeii excavations plaster casts mount vesuvius fruit and vegetable market marble tables died instantly clay pottery cultural heritage glass cases volcanic eruption on display everyday life ancient city victims human granary
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

It is easy to wander the ancient streets of Pompeii and forget the tragic ending that befell the townspeople. Here you can see the casts of the people as they met there final time on earth.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

lots of artifacts and human cast . It is sad to see the way the people died during that time. Pompei is really worth a visit just don't forget it can be crowded and remember to get a good tour guide , don't forget to ask for the map as well . I think an audioguide would have been a good option.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank rosievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Such a tragic ending both for the people concerned and the site as poorly displayed through dirty glass would have been lovely to have walked inside rather than looking through the glass which clearly doesn't get cleaned

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

To see people in final poses and even a dog with his collar on has to touch you in some way.
It made the whole exhibit a bit more human.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank wasntme58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This is both impressive and terrifying. Just thinking about what happened to these people makes me shiver. During our visit this particular part was actually closed, so we could not see it properly, however, they have transferred some of the bodies to a glass hut type of construction and only from there we got a chance to see some of the bodies.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank PieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews