We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel close to station to Pompeii/Sorrento... Don't visit Naples if you scare easy!!”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel close to station to Pompeii/Sorrento... Don't visit Naples if you scare easy!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was brilliant. If you have done your research, you'll know that Naples itself is pretty rough around the edges, which is what makes this hotel so great. The piazza that it is located on is a bit rough, beggars, lots of people selling bits of crap like fake bags and watches. But it is about 2 minutes walk to the main train station , and the buses from the airport drop you almost outside the hotel (3€.) If you are prepared to navigate the noise, the traffic and the salesmen you will have a brilliant stay here. As long as you are aware of your possessions when walking around, you shouldn't encounter any problems, eg pickpockets etc. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, modern and clean with friendly staff who are always willing to help you with your Italian speaking, very patient with our attempts anyway! The hotel restaurant is lovely, very nice food if a tiiiiiny bit overpriced, but we ate there each night and had no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast is ideal, coffee, teas, juices, cereal, plus the usual continental fare, pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses, bread and toast etc. And it is included in the price of the room. There is a gorgeous roof terrace where you can have breakfast and dinner, which overlooks Naples, which actually looks very nice from above! You can see Vesuvius and the port in the distance, as well as the manic traffic which makes for some hilarity. The mini bar is expensive, but the shop just next to the hotel sells all of the contents, so if you can bear to leave the safe confines of the lobby then this is your best bet. Basically, if you want to see real Italy, at least southern Italy, Naples is a must see, if only to make you appreciate Florence or Rome's atmosphere more! Very conveniently located to visit Pompeii/Vesuvius, and to escape to Sorrento, Rome or Capri after a long flight. Also there is a brilliant pizzeria about 5/10 minutes walk away which does amazing pizzas in traditional surroundings, featured in Eat, Pray, Love (film with Julia Roberts!!).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_B_49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    802
    168
    36
    32
See reviews for
243
861
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our tour of Italy. There is no question, for links to the local, national & international rail network, the hotel is perfect. It is on the opposite side of the square from the station. However, this is the business part of town and, honestly, is rather grubby. Dirty streets, rubbish and (currently) major infrastructure works to the city's Metro mean the square is a mess.

Inside, the hotel is very stylish (as befits this group of hotels), our room (a superior) was large, good soundproofing & an excellent black out. Could have done with a lick of paint, there were numerous scrapes & scuffs on the decorated surfaces. On the whole though, a good standard.

The roof terrace bar & restaurant offer great views of the city & Service was excellent.

Our main gripe would be, for a hotel of this class, the wifi should be free in your room, not rationed out at one hour a day before you have to pay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverMaxwell-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Ok, so no where in Naples will be nice. To be honest, Naples is a dump, but this hotel was a nice getaway from the filth outside. The hotel was amazing. But open a window or door and you are again flooded with the filth outside. I did want to share how amazing the staff was there. Unfortunately my husband got pick pocketed on the bus and lost his wallet containing credit cards, money, license, etc. So while the staff spoke broken English they managed to help us through this ordeal and with patience! They were amazing and gave us 24 hours of wireless free to get our things in order. They were a god sent gift! I will always be in debited to them. So for that reason alone, this hotel is spot on EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraP326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was at the Una Hotel in Napoli for 4 nights in May and have to say that the location is fantastic. It is a five minute walk to the train station and the metro making it very good for trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum etc. Granted you need to cross some pretty busy streets in and around the hotel but it is all part of the Italian experience. I did not see any problems with crime or danger or any such thing. I explored a good portion of Napoli and I did not find the area the Una is in to be any more or less safe or friendly than the rest of the city.

The room is very spacious and might just be the largest I ever stood in in Europe. I was in a corner room which meant I had two balconies, one with a splendid view of Vesuvius. The heavy duty shutters do not permit any light into the room when they are closed making a very good sleeping experience. It can get a little loud with the honking and the traffic outside but nothing more than you would expect in any large metropolitan city.

The only minor complaint I had was the unlocking of the hotel room itself. The porter who showed me my room could not get my card to unlock the door so had to use his master key. I tried several times to get it to work until I realized you needed to ring the door bell to activate the card and open the door. Weird.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

There is nothing negative that my wife and I can say about the UNA Hotel. It is a 5 minute walk from Napoli Centrale main train station, and, yes, the area around the hotel and station is quite dirty. My wife and I did not encounter any problems with vagrants, "tough guys" or things of that sort although they are present. Navigating through the cars, motor scooters, busses and trams between the hotel and the train station can be a challenge as drivers and pedestrians in Naples show no respect for each other. J-walking and completely ignoring walk/do not walk signs is everywhere as is the constant blowing of horns. It's a big city, but my wife and I felt safe all of the time.

The hotel is outstanding with outstanding staff. I read a recent review on this site that was critical of the staff, but the staff was most helpful, knowledgeable, and most courteous and arranged for two tours formus. In fact, mainly because of the staff, etc., we would return in a heartbeat. Our room was on the 4th floor and faced the Garibaldi Piazza. Yes, it is noisy, etc. outside, but the rooms are practically soundproof with shutters outside the double pane glass as well as full wooden panels inside that kept the room completely dark even with the morning sunrise shining right toward us. We had slippers and bathrobes in our room and all of the expected amenities. We had a before dinner drink each night at the bar on the top floor which also has a balcony that is quite nice. Contrary to another recent review I read, our drinks were great with great service. My wife likes a vodka martini with green olives, and the bartender was most capable and made her martini exactly the way she wanted it. And she is very particular. Her martini and my two local beers were 15 Euros, which I thought more than satisfactory. In fact, in most places in the US, we would pay more for Absolut vodka and premium beers. We would definitely return to UNA Naples.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jcu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Property: UNA Hotel Napoli
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,430 - ₹ 15,606
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing