We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel authentic location”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First time at this hotel and in Napoli. We were there for 4 days and the first 2 were spent in a tiny room. We upgraded to a larger room when it became available for the last 2 says which was quite wonderful.

The breakfasts were healthy which we appreciated.

If you have more than one bag or it is heavy take the taxi for the tariff communale. Ask the hotel to send you a copy of the current prices, print it out and take it with you. The taxi drivers are unscrupulous.

Ensure you go to Herculaneum, Pompei on the other hand is a pretty empty shell. The Archeology Museum is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthpresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Since many years I spent few days in this cosy hotel in the very heart of Naples!
I appreciate the location (near to the shopping miles, the harbory, the castles, the old town etc.) und the very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very clean and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetta022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Can't say enough about the all-around personalized service! Upgrade to a larger room with larger bed if comfort is important to you, especially for two or more persons.

Room Tip: If you're traveling solo, the basic room should suffice. Otherwise, goes for a room with somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hotel Il Convento is located in Quartierni Spagnoli which is a regular neighbourhood in Naples. The suburb is comprised of a grid of narrow streets, filled with families and bustling with activity.

We drove to the hotel which isn't particularly recommended; there is no parking at the hotel itself (park at the Supergarage on Via Shelley for 18EUR a day), the streets in the quarter are narrow, zipping motorcycles, delivery vans, cars parked haphazardly, one way streets, streets restricted to residents only...but if you must drive, it's an experience and we ended up without a scratch on our hire car!

The Quartierni is gritty and full of atmosphere, laundry hung out of windows, stalls spilling out into the street with fresh produce and people going about their daily lives. The smells wafting from home kitchens of an evening were amazing.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and there was complimentary pastries upon arrival. The room was cosy and clean, opening out to a small balcony overlooking Via Speranzella. We were on the second floor (there is a small lift to assist with luggage) and didn't find noise to be a problem.

A continental buffet breakfast was served each morning and guests can choose to sit in one of two charmingly decorated rooms, with communal tables. Two staff members ensured that food was replenished as needed.

We really enjoyed our stay and loved the locating of this hotel. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heruds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here June 10-14th. The hotel was exactly the experience we wanted. It is located in a regular neighborhood around everyday businesses but central to any necessary bus or shopping areas. The building is really lovely inside. The bathroom was large and had a shelf by the window to keep necessaties on. There was a built in desk and beautiful floor to ceiling doors to open onto the small balcony, the better to hear morning deliveries and hear the area come to life each day. There was also a built in shelf above the bed for keeping things. The breakfast area and food were very, very nice. There is also a nice seperate room with tables to eat in. Great service by the front desk with good english. My husbands wallet was lost/stolen our second day and the manager was extremely helpful.We would absolutely stay here again. The hotel is small, personal, authentic and in a fun neighborhood. It started our vacation off in a wonderful way.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy. They also have room top rooms that have there own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonna2twoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,189 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#4 of 186 in Naples
1,151 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 186 in Naples
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 186 in Naples
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: ₹ 4,560 - ₹ 10,703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing