We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #4 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a lovely 3 star hotel located in the middle of Napoli.

Positive points: the hotel is spotlessly clean with clean, crisp bed linen and a good continental breakfast. the staff are very helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. They spoke reasonable English and were happy to offer advice and maps. The bedroom we stayed in was furnished simply but adequately, with terracotta tiled floors and walls in the bathroom, which had both shower and bath. The room was cleaned daily to high standard.

Points to note: be aware that the hotel is in the middle of the Spanish quarter in the middle of the densely packed gridwork of streets that is typical Napoli- high buildings narrow streets and washing hanging out - like West Side story. The bed was quite hard.

Scooters race up and down hooting all day, all evening till late. A nearby chapel rings its bell furiously at 7 and 8 a.m. every morning. Although much is made in the guidebooks of thieves and muggings we had no experience of that (except the taxi driver who charged us 50 euros from the airport - the official fare is 21 euros so negotiate up front and don't accept the tricks they use like the meter being broken and the difficulty of naming a price because of so many factors that come into play. Write 21 euros on a piece of paper and if he objects get another taxi.)

Recommended: get a 3 day travel & Art pass from the Information kiosk in the Galleria about 5 minutes walk away. This a high vaulted "shopping centre" on the Via Toledo. You'll find the information centre at the back on the right hand side next to the tobacconist. Hotel receptionist will give you a leaflet on the travel pass

This saves you having to buy timed bus tickets from tobacconist shops and queuing in railway stations (queuing is an alien concept to italians!). We found almost all the italians we met helpful, friendly and charming.

Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    375
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
215
449
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A romantic long weekend in Naples with the perfect place to stay!
This small hotel is in a perfect position to visit Naples: inside the Quartieri Spagnoli, while offering a glimpse of true Naples it is close to one of the main shopping roads and the most importnat place to visit.
Almost everything is a foot distance: the Royal Palace, Santa Chiara and the Funicolare to go to Vomero is one street away.
Kind staff, always with a smile, ready to support. The room we were was at the uppest floor with a private little terrace full of flowers and lemon trees. Rooms are simple, clean and welcoming. Breakfast is varied and good with warm sfogliatelle, there are both sweet and salty delicacies to make everyone happy. A fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Take the time to visit Il miglio sacro, an incredible Tour in the ancient Naple, amazing places and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicciapiccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our reception at Il Convento set the tone for our stay! We had a hair-raising ride from the train station with a crabby taxi driver, who drove down the final narrow two blocks with his hand on the horn. We tumbled laughing into the hotel reception where the manager greeted us with a big grin: 'Welcome to the convent in hell!' His advice to us about places to eat and things to see was excellent and added a lot to our enjoyment of Naples.
On the advice of other Trip Adviser reviewers we paid a little more to get a top-floor room, which had doors opening on to a private little roof-top terrace where we could use the wifi and write letters. In the morning the sunlight spilling through the doors warmed the ends of our beds and added to our sense of space. The hotel is a converted convent and the furnishing is functional and a little funky, but it has great atmosphere and it's very economical. European breakfast included cereal, toast, some pastries, fruit and cold cuts, and fresh hot tea and coffee.
The hotel is in a central location with plenty of character and we were able to walk to everything, including the Archaeological Museum. We enjoyed Naples on foot by night without any problems, but as with any city travel you need to use common sense.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for a top-floor room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We decided to stay a few days in Napoli to a.o. especially visit the Archeological Museum, after having visited Pompeii and Herculaneum. As Hotel Il Convento is very favourably mentioned both in hotelguides and Tripadvisor, we decided to stay there. We do not regret this decision. The reception desk was very helpful, both when booking the room and during our stay. We booked one of the rooms on the 4th floor with a small private roofgarden with lovely plants and a small lemon tree - and were very happy with it. We certainly were not bothered by street noise at night that high up - and although the beds were quite hard we did sleep well. Yes, the convent bells ring early and clearly, but you are after all in the busy centre of a city in the south of Europe, isn't it part of the charm? We definitely learned to like Napoli - with all the jumping aside for scooters and cars in the narrow streets coming fast from behind - you'll find there is a system to it. Although we did use the safe in the room for passports etc. - we did not at any time feel unsafe. We did ask in reception where not to walk - their answer was logical - and we can only say that Napoli is a wonderful city with an exciting history and the buildings and museums to match it. We did manage to see quite a lot and will also recommend the wonderful CapodiMonte Museum - plus just walking from the hotel down to the Via Partenope, look at the facades and galleria - and get a feeling for Napoli.
We followed hotelrecommendations for restaurants - and were happy with that. We will come back to Napoli at some time - and stay again at Il Convento. But if you prefer luxury over "soul" - please book somewhere else.
122 baltus

Room Tip: Do book one of the rooms with terrace if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122baltus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel, its fantastic staff, or vibrant location. This is the place for visitors who really like city life. it is in a densely packed residential area, walkable to many locations. It is in a real neighborhood with real people, so expect some city noise (voices in the streets, and the local churchbells.) The hotel supplies earplugs! You can walk to the hotel in 15 minutes from the "Maritime Port" stop of the airport bus line. Also walkable to the Naples-Palermo ferries. In contrast with some other reviews, I did not see anything seedy or dangerous about the Spanish Quarter neighborhood. Lots of people on the narrow streets, at least until the late evening. Breakfast is great, in a charming, serene setting. And, as, I said above, the staff is wonderful. I would not stay anywhere else in Naples.

Room Tip: All rooms can be noisy; deal with it! There is at least one room for 4 with a sleeping loft - perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
1,995 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 189 in Naples
403 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 189 in Naples
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Property: Hotel Il Convento
Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,637 - ₹ 13,022
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing