We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capri Tour”
Review of Blue Grotto Tours

Blue Grotto Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our team of professional licensed tour guides operates in this area since many years, with over 10 years of experience in the tourism, we offer a wide range of sevices;we take great care in catering for any tours needs and wants whatever the choice of itinerary. We combine in all our tours, fun, entertainment, history, culture and of course, passion.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Capri Tour”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Michele did an excellant job with our tour of Capri. He had a car waiting for my family of 5 at the pier and ushered us to avoid the waits for all of the best sites on the island including the chair lift and blue grotto. Michele made it more interesting by providing the history and interesting facts as we traveled to the sites. He directed us to a great restauraunt for liunch, gave us some shopping advice to save some money and made suggestions for our next trip if we go back. I would definitely recommend them to anyone visiting Capri.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Book with ANYONE else- BLUE GROTTO - the BEST!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Do NOT be fooled by the multitude of "Tour Guides" awaiting you on the dock as you arrive at Capri Island. They say they are the "cheapest", best, etc. (and they MAY be a bit less money...but ...TRUST ME on this.....Book ahead of time with the guys at BLUE GROTTO TOURS.....) You will enjoy the finest experience with the most friendly, knowledgable tour guides. We had NO problems from the very beginning. Communication was frequent and very clear....there were no 'bad' surprises...... Our guide, Michele, was amazing, getting us to the Blue Grotto by private car, instead of by boat, (like the hundreds of other tourists). This proved to be a HUGE time saver for us, and we were able to get in and out of the Grotto MUCH quicker, therefore allowing us more time to experience the beauty of the island, which our guide most capably provided for us. We would NOT hesitate to recommend BLUE GROTTO TOURS to anyone contemplating travel to this area of Italy. Cannot imagine our day on Capri Island being any better! Well worth every penny! A+++

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BzinVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I arranged for this tour with Blue Grotto Tours before leaving home. Our emails were answered quickly and details were spelled out thoroughly. We had a driver pick us up in Naples to take us to the port where we were helped to purchase ferry tickets and find our boat. The next day the guide met us in our hotel lobby and started our discovery of Capri. He was very knowledgeable and arranged the transportation to all the sights. We were given plenty of time to shop and have lunch all with his assistance to which were the best places to visit. The cost of tickets to all events were included in the cost of the tour. Money well spent

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank tuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would like to go again!!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I went on a tour that included the Blue Grotto on the Island of Capri.
We took a small open air boat from the main Capri port out to the Blue Grotto location.

The opening in the side of the rock cliff is only about 3 feet high, so once it was our turn we had to climb into tiny row boats guided by local Italians, only four people - including the guide. The important thing to remember is that the sea must be calm the day you want to go - it's closed when the water is rough - which happens often. We were lucky!

Once in the tiny row boat you sort of lay back and when it's time to go through the opening in the rock wall the guide lays back as well - just barely missing the rocks as we pass through. Inside the change is just incredible! The glowing blue water was gorgeous - it's completely dark inside except the water - very magical.
Then back out the tiny hole the same way we went through. It's a very short visit inside the grotto but well worth it. The whole thing took us about 1 hour, and only inside for about 5 minutes - but we don't regret it at all. So glad we saw it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank alabamahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No worries and so beautiful”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were keen to see the Blue Grotto and also the rest of the Island. For once we thought we would save ourselves the hastle of doing everything ourselves. It was a great decision as we went with a tour guide - Michael of Tours of Capri. TIP1. - We offered a number of days to Michael as we knew that the Blue Grotto is OPEN only 1 day in 4 ! This depends on tides and waves . He was able to advise the best day to go (to optimise our chance of the Blue Grotto being open) organised everything for us, tickets for the fast ferry from Naples, private taxi via the "moma mia road", took us to a great lunch spot (on the other side of the island - near Sophia Loren's old Villa) and showed us all the great spots without the hassle and line ups when using the public transport. Michael also advised us on how to handle the row boat operators when going into the Blue Grotto ...TIP2 - we made sure we had coins adding up to what we thought was ok (we tipped 3Euro each - in line with Michaels suggestion) - as you would not get any change from the row boat operators if you give them notes. So if you dont want to wait in lines and want to maximise your time on Capri - this is one sure way of doing it. We had a great time and saw a LOT of the island.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie1000Adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Grotto Tours also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Blue Grotto Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing