We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
267 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We loved this place and I can't believe some of the negative reviews on this hotel. It's fair to say that if your aspirations are for an international style hotel with all of the sophistication that that brings then this probably isn't the place for you. However the Grand Europa is a quite charming traditional Italian city hotel and offers excellent value for money. In the interests of balance l will keep my comments as objective as possible.

Accommodation - Our room and the communal areas were are spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-presented. The traditional nature of the hotel may seem a little dated to some but we took it as added charm. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean, no noise so a great night's sleep. Hotel offers bar and restaurant.

Hotel staff - Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful - reception, bar tender, breakfast waiters. Everyone.

Location - The area is exactly what you expect around the central railway station in most large cities, busy and crowded and a bit scruffy. We were out every evening until around 11:00pm with no problems and felt totally secure and comfortable. A big plus is the proximity to the airport bus stop and the central station. Also only 5 minutes to major shopping streets and the start of the old town, depending which direction you take.

Eating out - There a number of pizzeria/trattoria places within a few minuites walk. We were here 2 nights and ate at the same place both evenings. The food was great, cheap and the atmosphere superb, especially when a couple of local singer/musicians arrived for a 15 minute blast of traditional Italian songs.

To be fair we did have a couple of niggles. Firstly, we found breakfast to be a bit basic and uninspiring although plentiful in terms of quantity. For the record there was a choice of cereals, fruit (tinned), yoghurts, sweet & savoury pastries, bread, cheese ,ham, frankfurter sausages, boiled eggs, jams & preserves, coffee, tea & fruit juices (all drinks self-service from machines). Secondly, the towels in the rooms are of a thin cotton style and get very wet very quickly after a shower.

All in all I can only repeat that we loved the place and had a great stay. For the money we paid the value was second to none and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we ever return to naples.

Room Tip: We were away from the main road and the room was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    476
    273
    66
    27
See reviews for
256
406
76
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Over the three nights we stayed here I tallied up a number of negatives about this hotel. However after reviewing what we had paid for our stay, I stand by you get what you pay for. If u like to stay close to the train station then it is good. However if you would like to go out to dinner or see a more civilized side of Naples don't stay anywhere near this area. Thin walls and dirty stained towels topped off our stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
We're sorry that your stay wasn't good!
Usually, station area is a strategic point of view in order to experience the city
we are desolate for dirty towels,it was really strange!our staff is always careful and ready to resolve any problem, but anyway I hope that you come here and try again our hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksville, Missouri USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Grand Hotel Europa, is a very clean and very well kept hotel, near Naples main train station. They offer wonderful themed rooms. I stayed in the San Carlo Room and it was very clean and quiet. The hotel staff is very kind and courteous. The breakfast was fantastic. Many varieties of food. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The San Carlo Room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Ulisse12,

thank you very much to write a review and to define Grand Hotel Europa a gem!

We are really delighted that you had great stay with us.

See you soon in Naples!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here with our 2 sons aged 9 and 12 for one night. For the price we paid our room was perfect and spotless. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was lovely and had everything we could want. The hotel is close to the station which was perfect as we went to Pompeii for the day, came back and collected our luggage (which was stored free of charge) and then caught the train to Rome. On the night we arrived we caught a taxi from the airport which cost 19 euro. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinwkids14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Guest,

good morning from Naples!

Thanks a lot to write a review for us :)

It's a big satisfaction to receive the best rating by an expert reviewer. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at Grand Hotel Europa and we look forward to welcome back you in Naples!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel in Naples was a great find. We weren't for sure what we were walking into, but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the location was great. But the best was the restaurant. It was so good that I think we'd go back to just eat there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudioeuropa, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Penni Farmer,

our sincerest thanks to write a review for Grand Hotel Europa.

We really appreciate your positive comments, this is the best reward for our work and we wait you here in Naples, our chef will be very happy to pamper again your palate :)

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#44 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Hotel Tiempo
#40 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#19 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Corso meridionale 14, 80143, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,460 - ₹ 9,109
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europa is in an elegant nineteenth century building, just a few hundred metres from Garibaldi train station and Naples historical city center; ideal location from which to explore the city and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes. Offers all the services of a superior three star hotel with 84 rooms and suites, a restaurant, a bar, a theater and several meeting rooms. The sandard or superior rooms are spacious and are equipped with thoughtful amenities to make your stay comfortable, including air conditioning and heating, satellite television, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Are spacious and have those services necessary to make your stay comfortable, such as air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, hairdryer, telephone, safe, Wi-Fi, non-smoking rooms. Its central location is ideal for exploring the many attractions of one of the most beautiful Italian cities of art! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing