We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Oriente
Ranked #9 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I spent one night at the Hotel Oriente when I was in Naples for work. It is a solid hotel, if largely unchanged from the 1960s! The location is superb, though. It is a five minute walk in one direction from the bay, with its fantastic views, and five minutes in the other direction from the old town, with its amazing churches, bars, and places to eat. If you have a short time in Naples and want to see as much as you can, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
Thank Marc017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 306 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2008

Stayed 7 nights at GHO 3/13-3/20. The location was great. One block off Via Toledo and close to bus stop. Supermercato around the corner to the right. Also nice bar with good cappuccino/caffe right out the door. Was walkable to many sites and restaurants, including castle, Via Chaia, etc.. Will be metro stop right out the door someday(2010?). Construction wasn't intrusive with the window and persiana shut.

The breakfast was great. Buffet with juice, rolls, eggs of some kind, meat, cheese, coffee cakes,cereal, and can order drink of your choice. Good cappuccino. Best part was mozzarella di bufala and sfogliatella (mini size) every day. Didn't use the hotel restaurant during our stay. Too many others to try.
The Internet was €6 a day and the kind you use through he TV. It was a little awkward. Needed it one day. They also had T-Mobile if you had a laptop, but don't know the cost.

The hotel desk staff was professional and helpful. They were especially helpful if you need a taxi. They know the price you SHOULD pay, so makes the negotiation with the driver easier.

The parking is very expensive, €30 a day. We chose to park at Parcheggio Brin for €7.30 per 24 hours and we had 20% off coupons from the Campania Aretcard. It is a little out of the way, but CS bus goes from Via Brin to just a block from hotel.

The superior room was large and clean. The bathroom was a fair size. The only problem was the pull out clothesline over the bathtub was broken. The room for improvement would be the addition of SKY news to the TV. All in all it was a very nice stay. Would stay here again if I could get a good rate.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cinquecento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The hotel is located just off "via Toledo", the main shopping street in Napoli. Rooms are nice and overlook a square with some green/plants. Next year a metro stop will open just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank quattromonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We stayed here with our daucher in August of this year. I have to say it was handy for the shops which were just 100 yards away, but is was also on the edge of a dodgy area and had a building site at the front door which was not mentioned to us before we booked. Please note the car park is closed on Sundays - which the reception staff did not tell us (but they did offer a refund for the day we lost!). The restaurant served a great breakfast, the usual continental style. Our room was fairly large and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit basic for an alleged 4 star hotel but it was ok and was clean. Our major problem with this hotel was that it was a long walk from most of the good restaurants, sea front, castle etc so we eneded up walking further than anticipated.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 92Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

it was an ok hotel, rooms were ok ,breakfast was good if you got there early enough, the best thing about it was it was close to everything so you could easily walk to anywhere you wanted. If i had the choice i would stay here again because of the location.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lebanese-cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,518 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,168 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Oriente

Address: Via Armando Diaz 44, 80134, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: ₹ 9,027 - ₹ 43,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing