We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Poor location spoils very comfortable hotel"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Ranked #65 of 188 Hotels in Naples
, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"Poor location spoils very comfortable hotel"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just got back from a four day stay at the Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte. Overall we had a good stay but there were a few things that let the hotel down. We were promised a shuttle bus to take us into Naples daily on our booking but this never materialized and reception offered us the telephone number of a local taxi service instead. They did however provide a free taxi to collect us from the airport and also to take us back there. The room was very light and airy and the beds were very comfortable with lots pillows and lovely clean fresh bed linen. Amazing shower and the bathroom was provided with lots of little extras, nail files etc. The room itself was excellent. The staff were very friendly and the Chef's special menu's were excellent if a little expensive. Drinks were also quite expensive and as the hotel is quite a way from the City, once you were at the hotel it was not possible to just pop out for a drink or a walk. You could access the City via some very steep steps but I wouldn't recommend these at night time. Breakfast was reasonably good but we never saw any signs of lunch on the first day but we spent most of our stay exploring the area.

Overall I enjoyed the hotel, but it was spoiled by being so far away from the facilities and unless you wanted to pay for taxi's which were not cheap, you were stuck within the hotel and it's gardens.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms do not have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the tome writing this review.

Unfortunately march and april of this year we had a technical problem with our mini bus. Reson why we gave taxi vouchers for airport to our finest customers, but we were not able to guarantee city centre shuttle service.

Since may we are again providing free transfer to Piazza Dante to all our valuable guests.

Best regards
Letizia Tancredi
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    163
    77
    33
    16
See reviews for
56
137
14
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel is very clean, our room was spacious with a balcony and fantastic view over the city and the bay, looking towards the mountains. The beds were comfortable and the showers never ran out of hot water. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Check-in was one of the easiest/shortest we've ever experienced. Lost count of how many different selections were available at breakfast - the ones we tried were all good. The restaurant food was good too. Maybe because we went out of season (March), occasionally the dish that was served wasn't exactly as described in the menu but the enthusiasm of the waiter in describing it beforehand turned this into a positive. The garden is pretty, a nice place to sit with a glass of something chilled watching the sun come down over the city after a hard day's sightseeing!

Just three niggles, two of which can be fixed. Again, maybe because we went out of season, but the waiter serving at the bar was also involved in many other things and couldn't always be found - or was too busy chatting to other people (guests? colleagues? locals?). We almost served ourselves on one occasion. Another niggle was the lack of tea/coffe making facilities in the bedroom, which I would have expected. And the final niggle - not fix-able - is the location. The management do their best to counteract this by providing a courtesy bus into town (or in our case a courtesy cab, as there were only the two of us and the bus was out of action!), but it's a long - and very steep - walk back or another cab/bus journey. Not particularly expensive but makes it almost impossible to then just wander back into the city for dinner etc.

Wouldn't stop us going back again though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

First what we liked:
Free pick up and return to the airport.
Modern very clean hotel in pleasant gardens.
Comfortable room, great beds and bathroom.
Very pleasant and helpfull staff and easy check in.
Good buffet breakfast (except the rather poor bacon)
What we did not like:
Location - there was a 1 complimentary transfer to the town in the mornings, otherwise to get to the town it was either a 25 minute walk or a 10 minute walk to the bus stop then usually a long wait for the bus. Taxis back to the holel were about 8.3 Euros.
Location again - nothing in the area - nearest pizza place (which was very good) was near the bus stop (10 minutes walk).
Hotel restaurant - we had the set menu the first night (25 Euros) and found the restaurant very cold and the food poor - it was obviously all aready cooked and therefore dry and unapatising. we did not dinethere again.
Bar - far too cold for comfort, uncomfortable seats, an annoying TV on and difficult to get served as the waiter was also serving in the restaurant.
No tea and coffee making facility in the room, for a 4 star hotel we did expect this facility.

Room Tip: Balconies on all floors except the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciated your detailed description and comment of your stay at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte. Free pick up and return to airport is included in some of our special offers and packages in special periods of the year. Thank you for your compliments to our staff and room facilities.

We offer a complimentary transfer to historical centre in the morning to all our guests and upon request and a small contribute pick up from city centre. Capodimonte is situated on the hill of Naples and welcomes its visitors with a breathtaking view over the gulf of Naples.

Your consideration for our Food & Beverage Department had our best attention and was reason for a meeting with our Restaurant & Bar Manager. As we understood a national channel was playing on TV, because other guests demanded this particular transmission. It is always difficult to fulfil the wishes of all our guests. We will keep on trying.

In any case, please be assured, that our food is ALWAYS freshly cooked and prepared with fresh raw materials.

We will be focused on the decision whether to install tea and coffee facilities in our rooms in the next future.

Please do not hesitate to supply us further starting points for our reflections and improvements.
Best Regards
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel has very good rooms with comfortable beds, is exceptionally clean and well-run, with obliging staff. The food in the restaurant is extremely good, the bar friendly and the water always hot. the only reason I cannot give it five stars is the location. There are no good restaurants within easy walking distance if you want a break from the hotel and it is far from any sights of Naples except the Museo Capodimonte. However, if you are driving it would be a good choice as it has a car park. The hotel has been made very secure with CCTV at the electronically controlled gates. The grounds are not that extensive but very inviting on a pleasant day.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Guest,
you are right, Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte is perfect for guests coming by car, because of its complimentary parking. But it is not less ideal for guests arriving by other means, thanks to its transfer services, complimentary to the historical centre and with surcharge to airport, harbour and train station.
Capodimonte is an exclusive location. Our guests choose Capodimonte as a special place in a special city, enjoying peace and calm away from traffic in our botanical garden and taking advantage of the breathtaking view over the gulf and our city “full of life”.
Have a great time!
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. Set in a quiet garden area. Approached by narrow streets above the city. The staff were friendly and the service good. Continental breakfast was lavish. Choice of a la carte or table d'hote at night. Dinner was on the expensive side although the food was very good. Spacious ground floor room. I would recommend this hotel away from the bustle of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia99, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest,
all executive rooms dispose of a balcony with gulf or garden view.
Our classic rooms are very spacious and situated on the ground floor.
Thank you.
Letizia Tancredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#32 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Pendino
Culture Hotel Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
Hotel Palazzo Esedra
#21 of 188 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Holiday Inn Naples
#47 of 188 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Ranch Palace Hotel
#52 of 188 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Property: Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Address: Via Moiariello 66, 80131, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Naples
#33 Family Hotel in Naples
#43 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,992 - ₹ 9,342
Hotel Class:4 star — Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte è un hotel 4 stelle di Napoli che sorge all’interno di un meraviglioso giardino botanico sulla collina che ospita il grande Parco di Capodimonte e il suo Palazzo Reale. La struttura ospita il rinomato ristorante Torre del Palisciano, e dispone di un centro congressi con diverse sale attrezzate per meeting e conferenze. The Villa Capodimonte Culture Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Naples which stands in a splendid botanical garden on the hill which accommodates the large Capodimonte Park and its Royal Palace.Every morning a free transfer service to the historical centre is available for our clients.The hotel has WiFi internet connection throughout, which is free in all the Executive rooms.The hotel has a large unmanned internal parking space, which is free and exclusively for client use. Breakfast is served in the magnificent Oleander Veranda, looking out on the beautiful hotel park where each morning the hotel will extend its good morning greetings with a substantial buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capodimonte Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing