We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
763
410
142
50
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
410
142
50
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay of naples rooftop restaurant beautiful hotel marble bathroom mount vesuvius overlooking the bay top floor egg castle front desk staff turn down service breakfast service superb location roof garden high ceilings cakes large room stayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2015

This was a wonderful hotel in a very good location. The suite we had was fantastic with great seaviews overlooking Mount Vesuvius and the Egg Castle. We went with our grown up family for a 5 night break and had booked two other rooms. Although these rooms did not have seaviews they were still very large and elegant with kingsize beds and good facilities. We enjoyed walking along the promenade and choosing somewhere to eat in the evenings as the area felt very safe and the road was closed to traffic from about 6pm. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful giving us good suggestions on restaurants and trips. The buffet breakfast catered for everyone, hot and cold food and delicous cakes!!
If you are spending a few days here it is worth buying an Artecard (hotel staff will tell you where to get them), they were about 32 Euros each. They allow you free entry to the first 2 sites you visit (we used them to visit Pompeii and the Herculium) and thereafter discount on other sites you may wish to visit, it also includes free transport - trains etc. for the duration of the card (3 days).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rr012015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

This hotel has all we need: good location, sea view, friendly staffs.
We stayed here for four nights. Our room has a nice view of Mount Vesuvius and the Egg castle. The receptionist, Oriane, gave us good suggestions on trips and restaurants. The restaurant on the 7th floor has a great view.
Looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Room facing the sea and the Mount Vesuvius.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We had an unplanned stop for one night in Naples in late October and stayed at the Excelsior. Everyone we interacted with was responsive and helpful. Our room was enormous with a closet and a bathroom that were at least 64 square feet each. The furnishings and window coverings were nice and the beds were very comfortable. The public rooms downstairs and the terrace upstairs have wonderful views.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

First time we have stayed there 17-18 years ago and this time there were no questions about where to stay. Still great hotel with imperial proportions, large rooms and bathrooms. Great architecture, good service and excellent breakfast. And you can buy the best buffalo mozzarella just around the corner :-). Not for those who enjoy very modern hotels.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank unhappycustomer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

The Excelsior is in a nearly perfect location away from the general frenzy of Naples. In its day, it must have been a grand hotel. The common areas on the first floor are huge and impressive and make a good first impression but are mostly empty of guests. In fact, the hotel seemed quite deserted during our 5 night stay. Our reservation was originally book under the previous management using points and Eurostars graciously honored our reservation. All attempts to arrange for an upgraded room, however, were rebuffed. We would have gladly paid an additional fee for an upgrade with a full waterfront view. Instead, we had a small room with a tiny view of the shipyard (if you stood at just the right angle) and one chair placed awkwardly at the end of the bed. Eurostars failed to seize the opportunity to make us devoted fans of their hotel chain. The buttons that controlled the room temperature were broken and the buttons on the safe were nearly worn off. A quote of the room description said "luxurious furnishings".......maybe 20 years ago. The buffet breakfast was 20 Euros and very meager - most days we ate elsewhere. Service in the roof top restaurant was extremely slow despite the lack of diners. Thank goodness the Wi-Fi was free!

Room Tip: Choose your hotel in Naples carefully!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews