We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Neapolitan restaurant...7 tables, great food, personal attention and a waterfront location.”

Carminuccio a Mergellina
Ranked #677 of 2,898 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Posillipo
Description: A piece of Heaven in front of the sea, out of the mass and traffic, owned by a family who strongly believes in the genuine way to cook the traditional Neapolitan recepies...with a good glass of wine.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“Typical Neapolitan restaurant...7 tables, great food, personal attention and a waterfront location.”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Favorite restaurant of my friends who live in Naples, and I can see why. The waterfront location is superb, and the proprietors took great care to make our evening unforgettable. Fresh seafood appetizers, pasta and a secondi of perfectly cooked local fish were accompanied by two bottles of excellent local wine and finished with an excellent cake, limoncello and an espresso. The service was attentive and the atmosphere informal but classy. I'll be back next time I'm in Naples on business.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 498Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIO M, Owner at Carminuccio a Mergellina, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Our Guest,

It was and it will be always a pleasure for us to welcome you in our restaurant, Carminuccio a Mergellina. We feel like becoming a bigger family now, as carrying on service to our continuous guests like you. Paying attention for good care, making and preparing the fresh of every kind of food is among our priorities… As a result of that, having such comments as “unforgettable evening”, makes us very glad…

Thank you very much for your review,

We hope to see and guest you again,

Best regards,

M.M.
Carminuccio a Mergellina Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    106
    27
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Napolitan Food with Great Service”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It's hard to find a good place to eat well in Napoli at a correct price! We found this little gem well situated with a lot of charm and authentic napolitan food! The service was excellent and the staff will really do everything to please you. Let them guide you and you will have a memorable napolitan evening at fair price.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank af2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ristocarminuccio, Owner at Carminuccio a Mergellina, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear my guests,

I really appreciate your genuine comment and i am glad you enjoyed our suggestions. It will be a pleasure to see you or your friends again in our "little gem".

Best regards,
M.M.
Carminuccio a Mergellina Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“aaaaaaaah the best of Italy .the best and lovely!”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Do order the wine full bodied the somali will help you select a great bottle and not that expensive. I enjoyed the veal and pasta figoli ............this is one of the best chefs I can remember. Very attentive staff. the beauty surrounding this place was so historic.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIO M, Owner at Carminuccio a Mergellina, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Our Guest,

It is always a great pleasure for us to see you enjoyed in our restaurant. We are much more glad, when your selections meet with our suggestions, and create a taste special for you. As Carminuccio a Mergellina team, we are also happy to make you have the atmosphere of our local-historic place.

Thank you very much for your review,

We hope to see and guest you again,

Best regards,
M.M.
Carminuccio a Mergellina Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellant traditional itialian food in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

a new restaurant only opened a few months ago, the propriotor is also a local tour guide. We had two excellant evenings, the first off menu but the second the owner suggested some local dishes. Both meals were great, service was very good and the atmosphere was equally very enjoyable. Most customers were local, always a good sign, the owner speaks very good english and passionate about his food. There were 4 of us and we all enjoyed our two evenings very much indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david_newsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIO M, Owner at Carminuccio a Mergellina, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Dear Our Guest,

Beside being a guide, owning Carminuccio a Mergellina as a restaurant is something special for me. And, I believe that, you are the ones who make us more special. It is a great experience to see you feel our passion and enjoy all we created.

Thank you very much for your review,

We hope to see and guest you again,

Best regards,

M.M.
Carminuccio a Mergellina Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carminuccio a Mergellina also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Carminuccio a Mergellina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing