We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - peace and quiet in a very busy city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel which is in Centro Storico and walking distance to many of the sights in the city including the port to get ferries to the Islands and down the coast. It has great, soundproofed rooms which was great as the city is very noisy and busy so it was good to escape to a calm place after a busy day out. We had e-mailed them in advance and asked for a terrace room which we got, at no extra charge. These are lovely rooms with a large terrace looking over the central courtyard. The courtyard is very pretty and ideal for drinks in the evening. There are lemon trees growing and nice, comfy places to lounge. Reception staff were really helpful and gave us maps, found us ferry times, advised us on restaurants, booked us cabs etc. I'm surprised other people said they were unfriendly as our experience was very different. Andrea and Stefan were particularly helpful. Some reviewers have said the area is dangerous - I didn't think so. A bit of common sense is needed (like in any major city) and we avoided walking around with lots of jewellary, big cameras hanging round our necks and bumbags. Do watch out for the mopeds though! They whip around! There is a lot of graffiti all over Naples but this kind of added to the charm of the place.
The rooms have aircon which was appreciated after a long, hot day out sightseeing. The beds are large, comfy and have very good quality linen. There are slippers and bathrobes which were handy and a minibar. There is room in the minibar for your own stuff so we would get a bottle of wine to drink on the terrace and keep it cool in there. The bathroom was clean with a fantastic shower and nice toiletries. The hairdryer was also good so I didn't need the one I'd taken. One criticism is that the wi-fi is not free, we paid E7 for it.
The restaurant was good for evening meals. You can eat outside in the courtyard. It is quite expensive though so we went out most nights. The beef fillet was lush! Breakfast was also good with lots of choice. Bread, pastries, preserves, fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. There is a leg of ham you can carve yourself, cheeses and a small selection of hot stuff like eggs, bacon, sausages and fried potatoes. The serving staff take your order for tea, coffee but you help yourself to everything else.
I'd certainly recommend this hotel and am happy to answer any questions. If you're staying for more than a couple of days, I'd also recommend a day trip to one of the islands like Capri or Procida as they are beautiful and easy to get to on the hydrofoil

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor with a terrace which gives you a large outside space to enjoy. We we...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFussyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,567)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 701 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having found Naples far exceeded our expectations, we were thrilled to find the Palazzo Caracciolo also outdid itself. Well-located for walking or cabs to Naples centro storico, this superbly restored building with its quiet inner courtyard and large, light rooms is an excellent value. Staff matched surroundings: they were friendly, helpful, and always available. As we would never drive in Naples, the ease with which cabs were procured and the reasonable fares for attractions within range of the hotel added to the our sense of well-being. Naples is an enchanting but frenetic city: a hotel that provides a neopolitan experience without the neopolitan frenzy is deeply appreciated. Do make sure you book with breakfast included: breakfast is absurdly overpriced otherwise (18 euros!). However, if you get an inclusive rate you will feel quite well-served.

Room Tip: If you can spring for a little extra for a balcony, the experience of sitting on your own terrace ov...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Really beautiful hotel, fantastically helpful staff and the perfect balance to the frenetic pace of Neapolitan life! Naples is a fantastic place to visit, for its proximity to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Sorrento and the rest of the Amalfi coast, but if you're cramming a lot in you want to be able to come back to somewhere relaxing and comfortable at the end of the day, and Palazzo Caracciolo was perfect. The actual hotel is stunning with it's open courtyards, lemon trees, lanterns in the evening and lovely touches like the artwork in reception and the rope effect metal work. Room was lovely and clean and comfortable, brilliant bathroom with a great shower - another essential after a day of sightseeing! Also, the staff were so helpful, explaining routes, giving us maps, suggesting places to eat and things to do in the city.

Room Tip: Our room faced into the courtyard which was perfect - the rooms with the balconies looked amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbarthOTR1000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2012

What a beautiful building! My room 131 faced the courtyard and had giant modern windows/doors opening to a spacious terrace with a table and two chairs. It overlooked a stunning courtyard.
The linens in my room were top notch. The bedding linens were so smooth I didn't want to get out of bed. There was a high quality bathrobe in the bathroom. Overall, I found my room spacious, clean and up to date. The ceilings were incredibly high. There were two complimentary bottles of water which is nice because most hotels will charge you! I found the service excellent.
If I ever found myself in Naples, Italy again, this would absolutely be my first choice for a hotel.

The hotel recommended a restaurant for pizza nearby. It's called Lombardi's and I have to say the pizza was out of this world! note: I eat a lot of pizza.

Transportation: Apparently the hotel has a pre-negotiated rate with a taxi service. Fare to the airport is 15 euro (I was charged 25 euro to get here; I didn't know about the rate) and 10 euro to get to the cruiseship terminal. I believe the train station is close (maybe walking distance).

Warnings: There are only stairs to the main entrance. I didn't see an elevator or ramp, but perhaps there is one somewhere?

Also, I arrived on a Sunday. Everything was closed except for some restaurants. The neighbourhood didn't seem like the nicest place to wander. Perhaps that may change today (Monday). There are so many warnings out there about pick-pockets and crime in Naples, so leave any valuables at home. I was told to carry my purse inside my sweater (if I was going to bring one with me). A group of kids (about 4) sort of swarmed me; they wanted to shake my hand, so I let them... while doing so I held on tight to my handbag with my free hand because there seemed to be a lot of commotion. I was told the pick pockets learn the trade a young age.

Room Tip: I loved my room 131 Ask for a room overlooking the NICE courtyard.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,468 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,112 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 185 in Naples
2,603 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: ₹ 8,721 - ₹ 18,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing