We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst service ever, terrible waiters” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Antica Pizzeria da Michele

L'Antica Pizzeria da Michele
Ranked #77 of 2,736 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Pendino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worst service ever, terrible waiters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I was excited when I first got there with my friend, there was so much hype over it after that crap Julia Roberts movie, waited 20 mins which wasn't a problem, seemed worth the wait, hot our table and wasn't served for over 20 mins, our Crome was not being a local. Italians who came in after us got served before us, if it wasn't for a lovely Italian guy next to us who TWICE complained that they hasn't served us we wouldn't have gotten our food, they gave us the wrong order. Not to bad considering they serve 2 kinda of pizza only. The food however was actually good, when we payed our bill the waiter expected a tip for his 'service' and was shocked when he got nothing, I won't tip for non existent service, go for te pizza but get it to go, the service will ruin your dinner with their attitude and service

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishsmartass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

11,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,860
    2,493
    1,162
    611
    578
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“expected much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I really don't get all this buzz around da michelle pizza, cuz it's just... just a pizza, not better than any other. We took double cheese and, honestly, the paste was burnt and the line in front of the entrance is not worthwhile at all.
Flat out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A one of a kind culinary and cultural experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

So, here is the deal. Antica Pizzeria da Michele is obviously very famous, and it is famous for one reason and one reason only -- its delicious, mouth-watering, traditional pizza. It is not famous for its interior design or its service, so don't go there expecting these aspects of the pizzeria to knock your socks off. You will more than likely have to wait in a long line (we waited almost an hour) outside of the restaurant before a table becomes available (don't forget to push your way through the crowd of people standing outside to get a number or you will never be seated!); the restaurant is rather small and it is pretty much always crowded, so you will more than likely be squished into a table wherever seats are available; the service will more than likely be brusque; but, if you love and can appreciate simple, exquisite food, then all of this will be more than worth it because the pizza is delicious and dining at Antica Pizzeria da Michele is not only a truly fabulous culinary, but also a remarkable cultural, experience.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there are only two types of pizza available at this pizzeria -- Margherita and Marinara (my personal opinion--go for the Margherita and let your taste buds revel in the fresh buffalo mozzarella!). The pizzas are generously sized (even the "regular" one), astoundingly cheap, and mouth-watering good. This is a succulent pizza pie at its best; an uncut pizza pie, to be eaten with a knife and fork, as the locals do, rather than picked up with your hands.

You will find a fairly even split of locals and tourists at the pizzeria, which is always a good sign. Given the unique features of this restaurant, it might not be the best place to go with children, especially small children. If you are looking for a fine dining experience with impeccable service, this pizzeria is not for you (in general, if you are looking for exceptional service, you could quite possibly be in the wrong country; you are probably in the wrong region; and you are certainly in the wrong city). But if you are an adult or young adult traveling in Naples, and if you want to experience Napoli for what it really is and love good, simple food with fresh ingredients, Antica Pizzeria da Michele is not to be missed. If you go there with an open mind, knowing what to expect and what not to expect, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
307 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Rude, rude, rude!!! Pizza not that good anyway. Cross it off your list!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I was extremely disappointed with the place. It is so famous and so lousy! After a waiting line of more than 50 minutes (I was told it would be max 20), I had to sit at the same table of strangers (the place is tiny and they want you to eat and leave asap) and was offered terrible service. They serve only beer, water or soda (in PLASTIC CUPS) and mocked me when I asked if they had any wine (in ITALY, where there is good wine everywhere). The waiter looked down on me when we asked for just one pizza to share (individual pizzas in Italy are huge for a little woman's stomach). The famous pizza is not even that good anyway. When I did not tip the waiter, he cursed in Italian (which I perfectly understand as I have fluent Italian).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best pizza and best pizza sauce ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Went with Mom on our "Invasion of Italy" tour in May 2011 - this was a must on our visit to Napoli. The place was easy to find, and even though there was a line for lunch of about 20 people outside, we got in within the half hour - which is pretty good by all standard.

Easy menu to choose from: we went for the margherita and Coca-Cola.

My goodness! The sauce on that pizza! Very simple and very basic but so flavourful; you could almost taste the Napoli coast sunshine! The crust was fluffy and nopt too thick - perfect pizza!

Will make a poitn of going again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tangomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Antica Pizzeria da Michele also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antica Pizzeria da Michele? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing