We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant base in Naples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Decumani Hotel de Charme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Decumani Hotel de Charme
Ranked #22 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant base in Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel makes a fantastic base for a trip to Naples. Right in the wonderful historic centre, really close to the sights, Museum etc but with sound proof rooms. We slept briliiantly on a comfortable bed in a beautiful room. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the magnificant breakfast room with its stunning ceiling was a real treat. As others say, from the outside you wouldn't guess the elegance and luxury inside. A real gem.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the central courtyard and was amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    613
    119
    52
    21
See reviews for
338
867
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I absolutely loved the area the hotel is in - it's the quintessence of the old city of naples! Surroundings seem shabby, run down, until you take a peek inside and catch a glimpse of elegance and charm. The staff went out of their way to help us with any little request, from ordering in sandwiches when we were too tired to walk another step, to checking out all the options for a hop to ischia. Rooms very clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is amazing, but the quality of the breakfast itself needs tweaking. Easy to find the best pastries in the world anywhere in the area, though! A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmfNorthItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is truly a surprise find in the heart of old Naples. When you arrive you are in a very run down square and your heart sinks, inside it's a different world. Apparently, they are waiting for planning permission for a complete restauration. The reception staff are very helful and the rooms clean and well presented. Note, for those who like a firm bed, you're in luck. My only quible is the breakfast. Every morning they ran out of the basics such as fruit salad. I'm not a great fan of cheese and meats for breakfast but how many cakes can you eat before your body cries out fir ruffage. In fairness they tried to help but like a lot of properties in Italy, coping with the GFC, when the allocation runs out that's it. Inside you are treated to the charm of 300 year old splender. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property but get up early for the fruit salad!

Room Tip: Book a room not facing the little road as it gets very noisy with all night revelers and Vespas. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Perfect location for walking to everything. It isn't a particularly pretty area but the friendly, helpful staff and the charm of the hotel itself set the tone. It is real and we felt completely safe. Federica even walked us to our first restaurant, after recommending it, on her way home after her shift! Carlo was the perfect host checking us in and giving us directions, etc. We had booked for three nights and sadly our flight from the US got us into Rome too late to go on to Naples. We emailed them and they kindly canceled our first night for us and did not charge us!

Room Tip: Room choice is always personal. We like quiet, pretty and large enough to relax. View if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Don't be disheartened by the entrance of the hotel which looks like a back alley illegal gambling joint. But then, most of Naples is crumbling and grimy, a shock to the unprepared.
Inside, Decumani Hotel de Charme is lovely and welcoming, with huge quiet rooms and a gorgeous dining room where breakfast is served. The staff was outstanding and ready to help in any way possible. The hotel is within walking distance of most places a tourist would want to visit, but it is quite inaccesible. We got lost trying to get back to it several times, and taxi drivers never seemed to know where it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YaacovG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decumani Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decumani Hotel de Charme

Property: Decumani Hotel de Charme
Address: Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, 80134, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,579 - ₹ 64,803
Hotel Class:4 star — Decumani Hotel de Charme 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are glad to give you the warmest welcome as our guests into Palazzo Sisto Riario Sforza. Here, in the heart of Naples old town within inches of Santa Chiara Church with its Cloister, the Veiled Christ and Via San Gregorio Armeno was born, in 2008, our Hotel. The Decumani Hotel de Charme was originally built during the 17th century and belonged to Sisto Riario Sforza, the last Archbishop of Naples in the Bourbon Kingdom of the Two Sicilies of which Naples was the capital. In 2008 we embarked on a major refurbishment programme for the second floor, where the Hotel is placed. The hotel has now been fully restored and equipping with all the modern conveniences our guests expect. A wide lounge, decorated with golden stuccoes and mirrors, testifies the illustrious past of this residence. All of our 22 bedrooms are fully air-conditioned and feature the following: soundproof windows, flat screen Television with international channels, safe, minibar, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. The Decumani Hotel de Charme is located in the Decumani, in the heart of the old town originally a Greek "polis" and then a Roman "urbs", an area wich represents with its squares, streets and alleys, a unique historical, cultural and artistic heritage, as it is testified by the acknowledgment of Unesco, which in 1995 declared the historic centre of Naples " the biggest open-air museum in the world". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Decumani Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decumani Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing