We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel by any means”
Review of Hotel 'A Pazziella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 'A Pazziella
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day stay at this hotel. Where to begin? The hotel is not super easy to find but maybe most hotels in Capri are this way. We made the mistake of taking a taxi up to our hotel. Well, the taxi cannot take you to your hotel. It drops you off near a square near the hotel and it is very expensive. If you were to have many bags, this would be a problem. I guess there is a baggage service but I do not know how you would contact them. If you can, just use the funicular that is straight ahead when you get off of the ferry. But you have to get the tickets at the ticket sales place slightly to the right when you get off the ferry-2 different places. But the funicular drops you off even closer than where the taxis would. Anyway, after finding the correct portal to go through we found our hotel. A lovely young lady greeted us and we were shown to a small third floor room with a sea view. These rooms are very small for sure. Mind you this is a 4 star hotel. The two young ladies who alternate at the front desk very helpful. The manager asked us when we arrived if we found the hotel alright. I am not sure if he really wanted to hear our thoughts on that. It was not super easy to find for sure for a first time visitor. The rooms have these super bright lights in them which cannot be dimmed in the evening. We just unscrewed some of the bulbs ourselves to get the correct lighting. The breakfast was mediocre at best. And was located in a small cubby hole of the hotel. In the rooms, instead of having glass for glasses there are plastic cups for your drinks (they do have a minibar). There is free internet service which they gladly provide you with a laptop, if you need it. The nice young lady also was helpful to arrange transportation for us back to Positano where the previous hotel had screwed up. The final blow for us was on the day we were leaving. That morning it was raining like a monsoon. At least 2 inches of water pooling on the gound. We asked how are we going to get to the ferry without getting soaked? The response was "do you have to leave now?" They had no umbrellas of any kind. There is a luggage service but apparently you have to arrange for that either the day before of 2 hours ahead of time. They had no resolution at all except to give us garbage bags to cover our bags and ourselves. My husband asks is this anyway to leave a 4 star hotel. It is not inexpensive to stay here at all. We were disappointed, shocked and soaked to the bone by the time we got to the ferry. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I hope there are better ones in Capri although I must say this is not an inexpensive place to visit and Capri seems to be enjoying that reputation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2009

I stayed here with my family and we had a great time. The hotel is about 100 meters from the main square of Capri town, so it's a very short walk and yet quite enough to not be too loud.

The staff was completely fantastic. They were extremely helpful with reservations and other information or help, even proactive.

Pool is actually next door, but very easy to get to along a semi private path, so it's not like you are walking down the main street in your bathing suit.

Food was pretty good, but not great. The guy making it was not so great frankly, so that's a week point.

Views are more "peeks" than views. Pretty high costs to transport bags, so be ready for that, but everyone charges it. Wifi only works in lobby and is pretty slow, but it works if you absolutely need it.

So, its not perfect, but if you are finding reasonable costs, it's a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

A lovely, quiet hotel not far from the swanky centre of Capri. Great staff, nice rooms.

Pool is actually at a next door hotel, but is really nice, and not a problem.

Don't eat at the black and white restaurant down the street - it's a nightmare!

I proposed to my girlfriend here. She said yes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I want to start off by saying the hotel receptionist Lucia was so wonderful. She accomodated us in every way- we didnt have reservations and needed to stay 2 nights. They only had availability for one night, but Lucia found us a nearby hotel, transfered our bags and helped us find great places to eat. The rooms were spacious, the mattress was comfortable, but for the price, the room was just average. Breakfast was included and their garden seating gave a nice sense of privacy and serenity. Their pool was adjacent to the building.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlymin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We thought this hotel was perfect. It was suggested to us by an Italian friend and really enjoyed it. The location is great - walking distance of everything. The rooms were quite nice and ours had a great balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. The staff was very friendly and had many suggestions about location restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.1 km away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
262 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#14 of 40 in Capri
529 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#16 of 40 in Capri
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
744 reviews
0.2 km away
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Capri
#25 of 40 in Capri
557 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 'A Pazziella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 'A Pazziella

Address: Via Fuorlovado 36, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Capri
#24 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#27 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range: ₹ 8,131 - ₹ 23,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 'A Pazziella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel 'a Pazziella, a peaceful Mediterranean-style villa surrounded by a lush garden filled with geraniums, petunias and citrus trees. A tranquil oasis among the maze of narrow streets and alleys that characterize the island of Capri.Spacious, bright and welcoming, the twenty rooms have a terrace or balcony with a view ranging from the blue sea to the green headlands. The refined furnishings and Vietri ceramic floors hand-painted in the colors of navy blue and emerald green contribute to create the typical refined atmosphere of Capri.A simple elegance of yesteryear characterizes the common areas and the comfortable patio where guests can enjoy breakfast surrounded by the scent of lemon trees, grapefruit and oranges and the colors of bougainvillea and hibiscus, the typical vegetation of the island. Guests have access to complimentary Wi-Fi, guests can enjoy the swimming pool in agreement with the hotel adjacent located in a quiet lemon orchard, partner restaurant D'Amore within walking distance from the hotel and Shiatsu massages by appointment.A five minute walk from the famous square Piazzetta and the luxurious boutiques and clubs, Hotel 'a Pazziella is recommended for those who do not want to miss the fascinating mundane life of Capri but at the same time are willing to experience a relaxed stay, reading a book in a quiet corner of the large garden or admiring the Faraglioni from the nearby gardens of Augustus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 'A Pazziella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel a Paziella
a Paziella Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing