We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, but not without it's issues.”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is well designed, lovely rooms, great location, nice staff. Great terrace on the roof, great downstairs lounge as well.

The few complaints we had and they are somewhat significant, is that there was a undesirable smell in 3 of the rooms. I stayed in one that had the smell, my parents, who changed rooms mid week, had the smell in both of their rooms. This is something that the staff do need to address.

The back rooms, although nicely decorated etc, are a bit dark, facing an inner courtyard that tends to be noisy. Also, the walls are VERY thin. I could hear flushing of toilets and staff moving about very early in the morning.

We took a poll to see which of us would stay here again. One would, One wouldn't, and one was undecided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenufa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear valued guest, thank you for your review! We appreciated your comments about the great location, great roof terrace, the lovely rooms and the nice staff.
We are sorry about the inconvenience of the undesirable smell in the rooms that you experienced during your stay. That was due to a new product that we were testing at the time for the cleaning of our wooden parquet floors in the rooms. We are obviously no longer using that product now so it was a little temporary issue.
We are please that you would return, who knows perhaps you may persuade even the undecided one. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 994 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I just left there a few days ago and can' t rave about it enough. Everything was outsanding including bountiful breakfasts, clean immaculate rooms, extremely helpful staff and superb location...just one minute ( not exaggerating ) from the main square. If that isn't enought, there are two other things. My husband has celiac disease and needs a gluten free breakfast. I notified them in advance and he had a basket of gluten free goodies on our table each morning. Last, but by no means least, we needed a doctor while we were there. Both of us got sick and needed antibiotics. I called the desk at 7:30 am and there was a physician who spoke English in our room at 8:15. She was great and four days later we are both feeling better. I have never written one of these reviews, but felt it important to do so this time. Enjoy Sorrento and the hotel plaza .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I stayed her for 4 nights for our honeymoon. He is incredibly picky about his hotels and he loved it here. The location of the hotel is stellar since it is steps away from the main square. The rooms are immaculate and minimalistically designed. In addition, the staff was genuinely nice and very professional. They happily helped us with mundane tourist questions and on multiple occasions, provided ice bags for my husband who sprained his hand. The hotel and staff helped us wrap up a wonderful honeymoon experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dittosparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just back from a lovely week at the Plaza. The staff are exceptionally helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in a fabulous location. The room was very clean and the bed very, very comfortable. The hotel is light and airy, very contemporary. The bar area is lovely. We would most certainly stay here again without hesitation. Carol and Martyn

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for the 5 days preceding my son's wedding and were joined by various friends and family members during that time. We found the outside bar area ideal for meeting and greeting and socialising, and for keeping out of the rain for the 2 days when it poured down. At times we seemed to take over the whole area, but the staff were all very accommodating and attentive and made us feel very much at home.

I did find our room quite small and dark, with no balcony or view other than a courtyard, and the towels were well worn, but these are small niggles. The bed was comfortable, it was immaculately clean and the whole hotel was very stylish.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food. The pool and snack bar on the roof was lovely.

The choice of hotel really worked for us, with its central location, close to the bus and train stations, and the main square and yet very quiet at night. I would like to thank the staff for their kind attention and efficient service and helping to make this a very special stay.

Peggy and Terry

Room Tip: Would recommend having a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,375 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,491 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 km away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: ₹ 7,359 - ₹ 23,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing