We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Regina Giovanna
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Dania(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Baia di Puolo(Massa Lubrense)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
145
42
18
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
42
18
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon and olive grovesprivate beachmain buildingamalfi coastpeace and quiethotel shuttlebeautiful propertyguest houselounge chairshotel guestsbase to explorefree shuttlestaying at this hotelrooms are largeshuttle servicethe hotel offersstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We're getting married in Sorrento in 2011 and stayed here for a night as part of our wedding prep to see if it was suitable for our guests. In terms of value for money the Relais is excellent value, almost too good to be true. The issue is the location. We got a taxi here from another place in town we were checking out, but the driver dropped us at the main road. It's then a long walk down an unmade track to the hotel, with luggage a real pain. Coming back after a night in Sorrento and the taxi did drive all the way down so make sure you ask. They advertise a courtesy bus service but it runs only twice a day and not in the evenings....so....if you don't have a car and want to eat out in the evening it's a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and then wait for the bus to turn up..or pay €20 to €30 for a taxi 1 way. It's a fair way if you want to walk, can be done but there are no pavements for part of the road and traffic is busy.
Our room was at the top, there's no lifts so be prepared to walk with your luggage a few flights, reception didn't offer to help carry the suitcases. The room was really a suite, beautifully finished and lots of space but very dark due to the tiny windows which you couldn't even look out of, a real shame because the views are superb. We had maintenance guys turn up twice while we were there (just 1 night) to fix things. Seems that both the aircon and tv had been malfunctioning.
We had a chance to wander the grounds and walked down to the beach area but this was not as great as I'd imagined, lots of litter and debris; it's quite a wild spot though and could be great if they get it right.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a decent spread.
Checking out, the courtesy bus times did not fit our schedule so we asked if they could drop us to the top of the lane; was hoping they might take us in to Sorrento, but they went as far as the bus stop. Fair enough I suppose but there are many upmarket B&B and smaller hotels in the area which are family run and they will take you in and out of Sorrento whenever you ask.
If you're happy chilling out at the hotel and not sightseeing, or if you have a car, then this is a great place; otherwise it's just too inconvenient to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robocob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear Guest,

We refer to your remarks on Trip Advisor but unfortunately there is no solution to most of your comments.

The Relais Regina Giovanna is located only 3 Km. from the town centre but there is a bus stop near the hotel (only five minutes walk) and there are local buses (Line A) to the town centre every 20 minutes, even late at night.

Our taxi drivers know that they have to drop our guests outside the hotel reception, therefore we do not feel responsible if we do not call the taxi.

The hotel does not have a lift but the staff has always offered to help the guests with luggage.

The beach will official open at the beginning of June and by that time everything will be ready; if the guest wishes to have a walk down, we always point out that the beach will not be ready before the end of May.

We however wish to thank you for the preference given to Relais Regina Giovanna and hopefully you will return to Relais Regina Giovanna with your car.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I wrote this review back in October but never posted it. I wanted to let people know a little more about this hotel. The hotel was very nice and had a helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but would want to clarify a few things as I did not fully understand them before going. The main thing is the location of the hotel. It is actually in Capo not Sorrento. Many hotels are in between Capo and Sorrento. However, it is a 15-20 Euro taxi ride to/from town. The hotel says it has a shuttle, but when we were there it ran 4 times a day and the last pick up was at 3pm (15:00). So, not a good option to come back from dinner. A lot of posts talk about a city bus. There is a city bus that drops you a block away from the little road to the hotel. We had good luck one night and bad luck the other night catching the bus. If you do catch the bus, it is very convenient. Also, the hotel really is on a lemon grove. Our room was in a separate building from the main one and we walked 5-10 minutes to get to breakfast or to reception. Not a problem unless it is raining.
Now, this is hotel was very charming. My husband and I wanted a nice room without having to pay an arm and a leg. This was our first stop on our trip and we were planning to get nicer rooms as we went along. The room was great! It was very spacious, very clean and very Italian (we had a Deluxe Double). We like nice hotels and were a bit worried about our choice as we did not spend as much as normal, but we would not have changed our choice despite having issues with catching the bus. The best part was we had a true balcony with lounge chairs. We could watch the sunset and look over the lemon groves. One night we brought a bottle of wine back and sat outside and stared at the stars. You are just enough out of the city that you feel like you are secluded and in a relaxed place while being in Italy. It was wonderful!
Again, we would recommend this hotel to a friend. However, if you want to walk around and not worry about taxis, buses or shuttles this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Amazing hotel, with very beautiful rooms and the most fragranced garden you'll set your foot in, full of lemon and olive trees.
I highly recommend this hotel, provided you have a car, because it's off the hustle and bustle of Sorrento yet very near to it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at RG for a week and would do so again in an instant. The staff was wonderful. They were helpful, spoke English, and very personable. The hotel was located a little out of town, but they had a shuttle that took us into Sorrento and were good about adjusting their times a little. There was also a bus stop rather close. Our room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was nothing great but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spent 6 nights in this fabulous resort. First of all, it is a heaven of peace and quietness, yet close to busy Sorrento and if you do not have a car, a shuttle van will take you to town at scheduled times. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished and even if not all of them have a sea panorama, you will have an enchanting view on the olive- and lemon-tree fields like we did. High ceilings and large windows make the rooms airy and bright.
In less than a 10-minute walk, you will reach a little private pebble bay for a safe swim. And so we did !
At his point, I have to point out the friendliness of the entire staff with a special praise to Rosa, the (very pretty) Receptionist, looking after every detail for you and very helpful for any query you might have. The owner himself was also a great help in trying to trace for us an urgent envelope which was express-mailed to us from Switzerland but apparently got caught up somewhere in Sorrento. We eventually got it, just in time, also thanks to his efficient efforts.
Breakfast, and this will be highly appreciated by all late sleepers, is served until late morning and offers a wide range of tasty genuine products. We also had dinner there one evening. Although the menu choice is not wide, we had an excellent 3-course meal.
We mostly used this resort as a base for our daily excursions but I would not mind spending more time relaxing and lingering on-site for our next visit ! Therefore, a well-earned BRAVISSIMO for this beautiful spot where we shall go back !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca-MorgesVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews