We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isolated for good and worse. Mostly worse.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Regina Giovanna
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Isolated for good and worse. Mostly worse.”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Even before we entered the room we understood we've made a mistake.
No cell phone signal in the rooms and around them ... combine it with the fact that there's no option to get internet connection in the rooms (Despite what they advertise on their site and on other traveling agencies!) - and you got yourself a Bad start ...

When we entered the room we were disappointed to see dust and hair on the floor among with some spiderwebs around the corners. It didn't get better the next days..

Breakfast - very poor and boring and for some reason they don't really want you to have forks ... Even the cafe is bad.

Location - if you don't have a car while staying there, do not book this hotel. Not only that the hotel is not a walking distance from the city, the rooms are at least 500 meters downhill the hotel gate.

The hotel declares they have shuttle service to the city - well... not really.
only 1 shuttle a day, not even to the center of Sorrento, coming back at 15:00...
The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable - but that's it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Public Relations Manager at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Unfortunately the area where the Relais Regina Giovanna is located has a very weak signal for cell phones; it does not state on our website that we have internet connection in the rooms; our website only states there is an internet point in the hotel lounge where guest can use our laptop to connect to internet free of charge.

The Relais Regina Giovanna has two buildings at about 150mt. and 250mt. from the hotel entrance.

This is the first complaint we received about the cleanliness of the rooms, obviously we will look into the matter.

The continental buffet breakfast is composed of a large variety of croissants, cake, cereals, yogurts, cooked meats, cheese, fruit juices, tinned fruit, tea, coffee, chocolate etc. so it is by no means poor.

The hotel shuttle runs four times a day at 09.00, 11.00, 12.45 and 14.45 from the hotel to the centre of town and four times a day at 09.15, 11.15, 13.00 and 15,00 from Sorrento centre to the hotel.

Best Regards,
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    40
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
110
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We're getting married in Sorrento in 2011 and stayed here for a night as part of our wedding prep to see if it was suitable for our guests. In terms of value for money the Relais is excellent value, almost too good to be true. The issue is the location. We got a taxi here from another place in town we were checking out, but the driver dropped us at the main road. It's then a long walk down an unmade track to the hotel, with luggage a real pain. Coming back after a night in Sorrento and the taxi did drive all the way down so make sure you ask. They advertise a courtesy bus service but it runs only twice a day and not in the evenings....so....if you don't have a car and want to eat out in the evening it's a 20 minute walk to the nearest bus stop and then wait for the bus to turn up..or pay €20 to €30 for a taxi 1 way. It's a fair way if you want to walk, can be done but there are no pavements for part of the road and traffic is busy.
Our room was at the top, there's no lifts so be prepared to walk with your luggage a few flights, reception didn't offer to help carry the suitcases. The room was really a suite, beautifully finished and lots of space but very dark due to the tiny windows which you couldn't even look out of, a real shame because the views are superb. We had maintenance guys turn up twice while we were there (just 1 night) to fix things. Seems that both the aircon and tv had been malfunctioning.
We had a chance to wander the grounds and walked down to the beach area but this was not as great as I'd imagined, lots of litter and debris; it's quite a wild spot though and could be great if they get it right.
Breakfast in the restaurant was a decent spread.
Checking out, the courtesy bus times did not fit our schedule so we asked if they could drop us to the top of the lane; was hoping they might take us in to Sorrento, but they went as far as the bus stop. Fair enough I suppose but there are many upmarket B&B and smaller hotels in the area which are family run and they will take you in and out of Sorrento whenever you ask.
If you're happy chilling out at the hotel and not sightseeing, or if you have a car, then this is a great place; otherwise it's just too inconvenient to get to.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robocob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore at Relais Regina Giovanna, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Dear Guest,

We refer to your remarks on Trip Advisor but unfortunately there is no solution to most of your comments.

The Relais Regina Giovanna is located only 3 Km. from the town centre but there is a bus stop near the hotel (only five minutes walk) and there are local buses (Line A) to the town centre every 20 minutes, even late at night.

Our taxi drivers know that they have to drop our guests outside the hotel reception, therefore we do not feel responsible if we do not call the taxi.

The hotel does not have a lift but the staff has always offered to help the guests with luggage.

The beach will official open at the beginning of June and by that time everything will be ready; if the guest wishes to have a walk down, we always point out that the beach will not be ready before the end of May.

We however wish to thank you for the preference given to Relais Regina Giovanna and hopefully you will return to Relais Regina Giovanna with your car.

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I wrote this review back in October but never posted it. I wanted to let people know a little more about this hotel. The hotel was very nice and had a helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but would want to clarify a few things as I did not fully understand them before going. The main thing is the location of the hotel. It is actually in Capo not Sorrento. Many hotels are in between Capo and Sorrento. However, it is a 15-20 Euro taxi ride to/from town. The hotel says it has a shuttle, but when we were there it ran 4 times a day and the last pick up was at 3pm (15:00). So, not a good option to come back from dinner. A lot of posts talk about a city bus. There is a city bus that drops you a block away from the little road to the hotel. We had good luck one night and bad luck the other night catching the bus. If you do catch the bus, it is very convenient. Also, the hotel really is on a lemon grove. Our room was in a separate building from the main one and we walked 5-10 minutes to get to breakfast or to reception. Not a problem unless it is raining.
Now, this is hotel was very charming. My husband and I wanted a nice room without having to pay an arm and a leg. This was our first stop on our trip and we were planning to get nicer rooms as we went along. The room was great! It was very spacious, very clean and very Italian (we had a Deluxe Double). We like nice hotels and were a bit worried about our choice as we did not spend as much as normal, but we would not have changed our choice despite having issues with catching the bus. The best part was we had a true balcony with lounge chairs. We could watch the sunset and look over the lemon groves. One night we brought a bottle of wine back and sat outside and stared at the stars. You are just enough out of the city that you feel like you are secluded and in a relaxed place while being in Italy. It was wonderful!
Again, we would recommend this hotel to a friend. However, if you want to walk around and not worry about taxis, buses or shuttles this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Amazing hotel, with very beautiful rooms and the most fragranced garden you'll set your foot in, full of lemon and olive trees.
I highly recommend this hotel, provided you have a car, because it's off the hustle and bustle of Sorrento yet very near to it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at RG for a week and would do so again in an instant. The staff was wonderful. They were helpful, spoke English, and very personable. The hotel was located a little out of town, but they had a shuttle that took us into Sorrento and were good about adjusting their times a little. There was also a bus stop rather close. Our room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was nothing great but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
3.3 km away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.7 km away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.7 km away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Regina Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Regina Giovanna

Property: Relais Regina Giovanna
Address: Via Calata Puolo 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,152 - ₹ 24,911
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Regina Giovanna 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 6 minutes walk from the beach. Offering a restaurant and a private beach area, Relais Regina Giovanna is located in Sorrento. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and a bidet. Extras include a desk and a safety deposit box. At Relais Regina Giovanna you will find a 24-hour front desk and a garden. Other facilities offered at the property include luggage storage. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Regina Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Regina Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing